Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 5th January 2007, 22:36   #166
ECM
BHPian
 
ECM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 221
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazykul View Post
hey, Am little late here givin my comments but i am fully satisfied with the services of DTH. i have a Dish TV connection for quite a long time and am fully satisfied with it.
Some advantages i feel are
1) Hve complete control over my connection unlike the cable provided by cable providers. Main issue
2) Picture and sound clarity cannot be compared with normal cable.
3) Regarding more than one TV in a house i believe they will give packages where you can have more that one STBs for a nominal price, instead of buying independent STBs and Card. I think Tata Sky has that facility but Dish TV hasn't tilll yet.
Pay just 100 Rs.(each)for next 4 connections for Dish TV in same home.For 5th regular package is applicable.

Last edited by ECM : 5th January 2007 at 22:47. Reason: added (each)
ECM is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 6th January 2007, 21:10   #167
Newbie
 
krazykul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 18
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

ECM, Thanks a lot for the info - I saw the flyer just yesterday after making the post for 100 Rs.(each) for next 4 connections. vbmenu_register("postmenu_349106", true);
krazykul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2007, 14:07   #168
BHPian
 
namit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 381
Thanked: 44 Times
Default will normal cable TV become extinct.

Hi !!

Tata Sky has a 6 months free subscription offer till 10th of Jan so want to know if normal cable TV will go extinct and opting for CAS or DTH technology is mandatory ?

Thanks !!
namit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2007, 15:26   #169
aZa
Senior - BHPian
 
aZa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Noida / Delhi
Posts: 1,601
Thanked: 9 Times
Default

Tatasky Update :

Two days back while i was surfing T-BHP, my mom came and told me that she was getting a MSG on TV saying "No signal from Dish" so i checked the STB in my room and i was getting the same msg. So i immediately called up the tatasky helpline number and to my surprise the number 1904------ number was like busy for 2hrs or more. Eventually i gave up and went out for dinner. When i got back then i found the STB's working properly with 60-80% Signal.


Not getting through the helpline number was a real put off. Probably it was because of high number of new customers due to the CAS implementation in Delhi. Anyone else facing such a problem?
aZa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2007, 19:06   #170
ECM
BHPian
 
ECM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 221
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Aza,we get DTH via geostationary satellites and once in 2 months they DRIFT from their normal route hence earth station uses booster rockets in such a way that they again comeback to their normal path,this is not a problem in your set but it is a normal phenomenon.Rest assure pal.
ECM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2007, 22:34   #171
BHPian
 
namit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 381
Thanked: 44 Times
Default

Hi !!

can someone please answer this for me -

Hi !!

Tata Sky has a 6 months free subscription offer till 10th of Jan so want to know if normal cable TV will go extinct and opting for CAS or DTH technology is mandatory ?

Thanks !!
namit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2007, 00:30   #172
aZa
Senior - BHPian
 
aZa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Noida / Delhi
Posts: 1,601
Thanked: 9 Times
Default

Hey thanx ECM, i've explained it to my mom also now since she is the power user of DTH!

@Namit : No Cable TV as we know will exist but you wont get any PAY CHANNELS if you dont have the Set Top BOX (STB). So if you dont purchase the STB (DTH or CAS) then you will still get channels but only FTA channels.
aZa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2007, 14:59   #173
BHPian
 
namit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 381
Thanked: 44 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aZa View Post
Hey thanx ECM, i've explained it to my mom also now since she is the power user of DTH!

@Namit : No Cable TV as we know will exist but you wont get any PAY CHANNELS if you dont have the Set Top BOX (STB). So if you dont purchase the STB (DTH or CAS) then you will still get channels but only FTA channels.
-----------------------------

Thanks AZA !!

But do you think that its the right time to go for it or should i wait for others like Airtel and REliance to come into competition.

Moreover do you think it woulkd be better to have DTH connection from cable operator bcoz that ways we can save on this initial investment of 7500/- for 2 connections with STB each ?

Please advice guys ... as Tata sky offer is valid only till tomorrow.

Thanks again !!
namit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2007, 15:15   #174
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,550
Thanked: 403 Times
Default

@namit : CAS means Conditional Access Service, which means your present cable wala who is happily giving you all of 120 channels for a meagere 100/- per month is going to scramble all the pay channels so that you cannot directly receive it on your TV. the other free channels however will continue to be receivable on your TV directly. If you want to watch pay channels like HBO, ESPN etc., you will need to buy a Set Top Box, nothing but a decoder to decode the scrambled channels. this stb is controlled by the main operator in his control room.
DTH means Direct to Home. that is without a cable. you receive the channels directly through a dish, bye bye cable wala. Even in DTH, DD has a setup that is FTA. Dishtv & Tata sky are the only DTH operators as of now. You can either get a STB from your cable wala or get a DTH from either of these companies. The costs involved for both are the same. the advantages in DTH are immense.

Last edited by esteem_lover : 9th January 2007 at 15:18.
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2007, 17:53   #175
BHPian
 
namit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 381
Thanked: 44 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
@namit : CAS means Conditional Access Service, which means your present cable wala who is happily giving you all of 120 channels for a meagere 100/- per month is going to scramble all the pay channels so that you cannot directly receive it on your TV. the other free channels however will continue to be receivable on your TV directly. If you want to watch pay channels like HBO, ESPN etc., you will need to buy a Set Top Box, nothing but a decoder to decode the scrambled channels. this stb is controlled by the main operator in his control room.
DTH means Direct to Home. that is without a cable. you receive the channels directly through a dish, bye bye cable wala. Even in DTH, DD has a setup that is FTA. Dishtv & Tata sky are the only DTH operators as of now. You can either get a STB from your cable wala or get a DTH from either of these companies. The costs involved for both are the same. the advantages in DTH are immense.
----------------

Thanks Esteem lover !!

You explained it all.

Thanks again for all your effort and time.
namit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2007, 18:20   #176
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,550
Thanked: 403 Times
Default

You're welcome. been through the CAS maladie for the last 3 years here in chennai.
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2007, 19:24   #177
Senior - BHPian
 
danlalan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: mumbai,JUHU
Posts: 1,500
Thanked: 48 Times
Default

Just bought my set-top box from my cable wala...3800/- for a year(incl set-top box)
The best part is tht there are a lot of sports channels...THEY'VE EVEN GOT A MOTORS TV....
by the way if your watching tv and playing your ps 2..then be sure to get the splitter...your a/v wires from the ps2/dvd/set-top box connect here first then to your tv..
danlalan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2007, 23:00   #178
BHPian
 
wolfinstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 994
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

I got my Set-top box from the cableman, 2 box @ Rs 250 Each, Refundable Security, Rs.45 rent per month per box + Channel Charge+FTA Charge+Tax..All this plus 5 Years warranty on the box, Will write a small review tommorow..! I've seen both TATA Sky and Set-top Box and its not very different, TATA does have better Features though, but rest assured the CAS quality is not so very different..!
The DTH Technology is very advanced but its at a premium right now, I feel it should have been competitive with the CAS charges..!

Last edited by wolfinstein : 9th January 2007 at 23:03.
wolfinstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2007, 19:13   #179
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 36,374
Thanked: 28,370 Times
Default

Okay guys, heres the update on my Tata-Sky.

1. Sat and configured the LCD all over again.
2. Rewired the Tata Sky box.
3. Tata-Sky guy came to configure some settings and to reposition the dish.

End result is that some channels are better. But few (i.e. all ZEE channels) are horrible and impossible to watch without straining the eyes.

Signal strength is 70%.

Quote:
Make sure you connect your DVD player to same AV input used by your STB.
Connected the DVD player to same AV, and it looks fabulous!

Quote:
This is a known problem with LCDs in case of Analog input when the scene has horizontal movement with vertical fixtures like buildings etc.,
Do the white/red/yellow wires mean its an analog?

Any more solutions?
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2007, 20:29   #180
Team-BHP Support
 
Vid6639's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 11,079
Thanked: 9,215 Times
Default

White/red/yellow are RCA audio and video. they are analog inputs. the STB just decodes the signal and sends the unencrypted signal to the TV via those.

Your signal strength of 70% isn't that great. Generally 80% or more. How about the error rate. how much is that. Even that should be around 80%.

Also you can try getting the STB changed if nothing works to the HUMAX one which people say is a little better.
Vid6639 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mysore-HD Kote-Mananthavady - Any update? rex_varghese Route / Travel Queries 11 25th February 2014 08:21
Porsche India's *direct* dealers & pricing structure announced GTO Indian Car Dealerships 8 22nd January 2014 12:12
Has anyone tried Direct to Car (DTC) using DTH receivers ? StarVegabond DIY - Do it yourself 13 9th December 2009 10:14
Sun Direct launches India's first HD service.... gkrishn Gadgets, Computers & Software 26 15th April 2009 21:03


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 06:09.

Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks