Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 19th March 2013, 10:15   #1951
BHPian
 
ms001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: bangalore
Posts: 917
Thanked: 60 Times
Default Re: Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH HD announced

Hello!

I have been using TSHD+ for about a year
1.)ESPN HD picture quality is good , but last weekend all HD channels were acting up a bit for some time.It sorted itself soon enough

2.)All channels are 1080i

3.)service is stable except for rain/cloud outage

4.)recorder is a must have feature if you are planning to but a new box.It gives the convinnce of watching 1 channel and recording the other .Or recodring 2 at the same time . and also if you are away from home you can record via app/web remotely.


Tatasky is more expensive than most service providers and does not have all HD channels . i have heard good reviews of videocon they have most HD channels ,service is good , and they are more economical as well.
ms001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2013, 12:31   #1952
BHPian
 
Maky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 734
Thanked: 317 Times
Default Re: Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH HD announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by yajaman99 View Post
@Maky, I have been using TS HD since it started. The STB is connected to a 40” LCD.
All the Asli HD channels are meant to be 1080i and not 1080p.
The HD Picture Quality is great, I happened to watch some of the F1 on ESPN HD this weekend and it was sharp and clear.
I have noticed off late the HD channels do get some disruption. The same channel in SD is available while HD has got an error screen. This is my experience and others can confirm if they too are seeing this behavior.

Another point of consideration might be the price which I think is the highest in the market right now.

With the above said I am happy with my TSHD service.
Thanks Yajaman!
Quote:
Originally Posted by ms001 View Post
Hello!

I have been using TSHD+ for about a year
1.)ESPN HD picture quality is good , but last weekend all HD channels were acting up a bit for some time.It sorted itself soon enough

2.)All channels are 1080i

3.)service is stable except for rain/cloud outage

4.)recorder is a must have feature if you are planning to but a new box.It gives the convinnce of watching 1 channel and recording the other .Or recodring 2 at the same time . and also if you are away from home you can record via app/web remotely.


Tatasky is more expensive than most service providers and does not have all HD channels . i have heard good reviews of videocon they have most HD channels ,service is good , and they are more economical as well.
Thanks for the feedback I'll look into Videocon as well. A follow up question to point #3
So, I should expect a lot of downtime during the rainy season ms001?
Maky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2013, 12:47   #1953
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 193
Thanked: 15 Times
Default Re: Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH HD announced

^^ I was using Airtel for a year and then moved to Videocon since Airtel no longer has ESPN & STAR CRICKET.

If Airtel's video quality is 100, Videocon comes close to 95. Basically not a huge difference. The cost difference though, is huge.

Audio quality is also decent, especially if we are using S/PDIF out. I will whole heartedly recommend Videocon HD.
Ferrari1976 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2013, 13:58   #1954
BHPian
 
ms001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: bangalore
Posts: 917
Thanked: 60 Times
Default Re: Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH HD announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maky View Post
So, I should expect a lot of downtime during the rainy season ms001?
Outage happens only when there is very heavy rain or thick cloud cover.It will be the same with any operator .But i feel HD channels are the most affected by rain . In Bangalore outage due to rain may last up-to 10-15 mins max again depending upon the conditions .
ms001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2013, 16:24   #1955
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 441 Times
Default Re: Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH HD announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by S_U_N View Post
Are you guys referring to HBO Hits and HBO Defined?
They are coming for free (15 days) on DishTV. I watched it for an hour or so.

However, the quality is as good as any other channel - nothing missing there.

Note: These are SD as far as I know.
Are you getting full screen ?
The audio is very very poor, like watching those VHS tapes. A lot of noise.

These channels are available in HD also but not in Airtel though.
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2013, 11:53   #1956
BHPian
 
dre@ms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Singara Chennai
Posts: 504
Thanked: 129 Times
Default Re: Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH HD announced

My Sun Direct has lost the signal from last wednesday. Have raised a complaint and still now no resolution at all. Their customer service sucks. Is it better to wait or switch to a better service?

Can some one tell me if I can switch, which one to choose. I will go for HD and the south Tamil packs. Which service has more Tamil\HD channels. Most importantly, better customer service is required.

Also can someone share the higher ups number for sun direct.
dre@ms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2013, 01:50   #1957
BHPian
 
dre@ms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Singara Chennai
Posts: 504
Thanked: 129 Times
Default Re: Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH HD announced

I got a quote of 2290 from Airtel on their HD STB with south value sports pack. Website says the same pack is 2690. Seems to be a good deal ?
dre@ms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2013, 15:02   #1958
BHPian
 
indian21r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 731
Thanked: 262 Times
Default Re: Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH HD announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maky View Post
Thanks for the feedback I'll look into Videocon as well. A follow up question to point #3
So, I should expect a lot of downtime during the rainy season ms001?
We have been using D2h HD DVR for almost 2 years now. DVR is really slow to operate. I have not seen other services. If you go for only the HD box it is really good. Almost all the HD channels are available. Pretty vfm compared to competition. Very Very rare outages.
indian21r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2013, 15:40   #1959
BHPian
 
Maky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 734
Thanked: 317 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by indian21r View Post

We have been using D2h HD DVR for almost 2 years now. DVR is really slow to operate. I have not seen other services. If you go for only the HD box it is really good. Almost all the HD channels are available. Pretty vfm compared to competition. Very Very rare outages.
Thanks for the reply.
I don't quite understand though. What do you mean slow to operate?
Maky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2013, 22:20   #1960
Senior - BHPian
 
S_U_N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Pune
Posts: 1,781
Thanked: 378 Times
Default Re: Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH HD announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
Are you getting full screen ?
The audio is very very poor, like watching those VHS tapes. A lot of noise.

These channels are available in HD also but not in Airtel though.
I cannot check now, since the free preview is over, but I think it was full screen.

Now, DishTV is saying that the tariff will be revised from 4th April.

So, 2013 is going to be an expensive financial year. Idea cellular is hiking the rates of monthly post paid fixed charges. Plus Local Body Tax in Maharashtra is going to be implemented from 1 April.
S_U_N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2013, 22:32   #1961
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 291
Thanked: 73 Times
Default Re: Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH HD announced

Is there ANY way to wirelessly connect the STB to the TV? My TV-out wall socket is in one bedroom and I want to place the TV in the other bedroom but there is no TV-out wall socket there. I want to avoid pulling the long cable across the house to achieve this.

Prajwal
prajwalkashyap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2013, 22:39   #1962
Senior - BHPian
 
Warwithwheels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: India
Posts: 1,251
Thanked: 1,013 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by prajwalkashyap View Post
Is there ANY way to wirelessly connect the STB to the TV? My TV-out wall socket is in one bedroom and I want to place the TV in the other bedroom but there is no TV-out wall socket there. I want to avoid pulling the long cable across the house to achieve this.

Prajwal
Take a look at this:

http://www.ebay.in/itm/2-4GHz-Wirele...-/280546903605
Warwithwheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2013, 22:53   #1963
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 291
Thanked: 73 Times
Default Re: Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH HD announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by Warwithwheels View Post
Awesome! Thanks mate!

I hope this won't interfere with the 2.4GHz of the WLan router.

Prajwal
prajwalkashyap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2013, 17:46   #1964
BHPian
 
dre@ms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Singara Chennai
Posts: 504
Thanked: 129 Times
Default Re: Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH HD announced

After much of a struggle, paid for the Airtel HD DTH connection yesterday. Some one from Airtel called me up today and informed that there is a technical issue and my connection can be activated only by Friday, when I shouted and asked for a refund, he hung up.
Gave a call again and after 30 minutes of shuffling here and there, got hold of a guy and he was saying the connection would get activated in one hour.
Sure Airtel customer care has jerks working.
I have been wthout a cable service for a week now.
Normally how long will it take the connection to get activated ?
dre@ms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2013, 20:22   #1965
Senior - BHPian
 
khoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Dilli
Posts: 2,722
Thanked: 1,251 Times
Default Re: Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH HD announced

You can get 5.8 Ghz also http://www.latentech.com/productdeta...FYUa6wodkwIAWg

Whichever you get, do post a review if you do use it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by prajwalkashyap View Post
Awesome! Thanks mate!

I hope this won't interfere with the 2.4GHz of the WLan router.

Prajwal
khoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Your Favourite Host? (television presenters) Pferdestärke Shifting gears 102 28th December 2012 12:17
Has anyone tried Direct to Car (DTC) using DTH receivers ? StarVegabond In-Car Entertainment 13 9th December 2009 10:14
Civic Hybrid to be only available as a direct company import, not through showrooms. sidindica The Indian Car Scene 15 17th June 2009 13:42
40 inch LCD Television mobike008 Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 16th February 2007 05:03
Dish TV - DTH VMG Gadgets, Computers & Software 7 9th November 2005 15:26


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 02:03.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks