Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 16th June 2014, 14:43   #2341
Senior - BHPian
 
audioholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BengaLuru
Posts: 3,022
Thanked: 4,209 Times
Default Re: Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH HD announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by saikatmandal04 View Post
Somehow the sound quality did not appeal me much in TataSky, It starts off with multi channel sound but soon fade out slowly into stereo mode and then again after a short while you can feel the sound change. There used to be short bursts of this phenomenon happening, especially in NatGEO and Discovery channels. It was clearly evident when the channel used to switch to its programme just after a commercial break. It used to be Dolby - Stero - Dolby. Not sure if this is continuing now though.

Someone else experienced this ?
Commercials other than programme previews are never Dolby encoded. I would be surprised if the commercials were even stereo, except for a few. Hence the Dolby sound is available only during the programme or movie. In discovery the programmes are indeed 5.1ch but the surround content is very less compared to a movie.
audioholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2014, 15:06   #2342
BHPian
 
saikatmandal04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 63
Thanked: 23 Times
Default Re: Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH HD announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by audioholic View Post
Commercials other than programme previews are never Dolby encoded. I would be surprised if the commercials were even stereo, except for a few. Hence the Dolby sound is available only during the programme or movie. In discovery the programmes are indeed 5.1ch but the surround content is very less compared to a movie.
True. I am not talking of the commercials. what I meant was "It is more evident just after the commercial break". Alleast that is how it used to be some 6 months back.
saikatmandal04 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2014, 08:48   #2343
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 245
Thanked: 213 Times
Default Re: Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH HD announced

It's been a year since I shifted to Airtel. Had paid some 11k or 12k a year ago for two TV boxes, with HD and their yearly Mega pack.
Now, I was planning to renew my subcription. The same Mega package costs 6540 (First TV) whereas the same thing with a new connection and a box costs 5600 (First TV)

I was missing a few channel in the Mega Pack like CNN, Discovery Turbo, MGM and Star World Premier. I won't be opting for Mega this time.
Can anyone tell me what the difference is between Ultra HD and Magnum HD. Ultra HD is 7260 and Magnum HD is 6500 for the first TV. Second TV will be an addition 2700 for each package.
Why is it priced like this? As far as I know Magnum>Ultra>Mega, although the prices don't reflect the same.
Even the AirTel chap couldn't tell me what the difference is between Ultra & Magnum

Last edited by promit : 17th June 2014 at 08:51.
promit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2014, 22:11   #2344
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 939
Thanked: 288 Times
Default

I am finally ending it with the cable wala. I have been going through this thread like for ever, but none of the HD boxes seems to be good enough each has an issue. I am for sure in a pickle. Guys which one is the best HD with all HD channels, good service, i don't watch regional, need all the English movies and other English channels, nat geo, d.turbo, news and main hindi channels. Help me out here.
zulfi hansi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2014, 09:47   #2345
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: |
Posts: 581
Thanked: 213 Times
Default Re: Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH HD announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by audioholic View Post
Made a quick switch from Airtel to Tatasky
Question - what you do with old box. i am trying to switch from dish TV to Tata sky & has no clues what to do with dish TV box. It seems Dish TV;s policy is clear - money gone means gone. there are no refunds for anything.

I am using a SD set top box, it;s a lousy box with booting time of some 2-3 min. more over a slight drizzle and it;s gasping for breath. channel packages are poorly planned IMO. i am having super gold pack and they want me to spend another 100 rs as ala karte for watching history & discovery turbo . More over they keep on modifying their packs without any info and icing on the cake is that you can change pack only within 7 days of last recharge .

i found tata sky to be far better . Has one running in my native for 5-6 years now . yes, it;s bit costly but keeps running in smaller rains and SD picture quality is any day better than lousy dish TV & customer service is far more friendly than dish TV.
.sushilkumar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2014, 22:48   #2346
BHPian
 
JMaruru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 518
Thanked: 97 Times
Question Re: Reliance Digital TV?

What is with 'Reliance Digital TV'? Are they going bankrupt?
I am getting the message 'This DTH operator has outstanding and liable to be disconnected' on few of the regional channels.
JMaruru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2014, 23:37   #2347
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 218
Thanked: 19 Times
Default Re: Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH HD announced

Hi friends,
It looks like videocon d2h made lots of reconfigurations on packages and prices.
Now, only the highest pack has HD option (platinum HD/South Platinum HD).
I was on South Gold HD (399/-) and still running on that.
Now Times Now is removed from my above pack and its a 12/- PM addition now.

Also there is no HD add on option.

Now,it looks like they will eventually force old users to move to new plans, as there is no long term recharge option on my existing plan.

I think its time to explore other options now. Or is everyone on similar pricing strategy?
Is there any better options for 412/- per month? (normal channles +HD combination)
mykal shoemaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2014, 23:50   #2348
Senior - BHPian
 
audioholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BengaLuru
Posts: 3,022
Thanked: 4,209 Times
Default Re: Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH HD announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by mykal shoemaker View Post
.

Now,it looks like they will eventually force old users to move to new plans, as there is no long term recharge option on my existing plan.

I think its time to explore other options now. Or is everyone on similar pricing strategy?
Is there any better options for 412/- per month? (normal channles +HD combination)
Exactly why I switched. Airtel started becoming more and more expensive. Currently I pay close to 400 a month. This covers all popular channels and their HD counterparts. Since we don't watch Hindi, those channels other than news isn't opted for.

I am currently on Tata sky with a 260 base package + HD access fee.

What I liked was in this package, Star sports 1,2 are HD while 3,4 are SD. However we don't get 1,2 in SD. Pretty logical and practical. Apart from HBO defined, I get all English movies and their HD versions. Even if I want, I can stretch the subscription as and when needed and yet the cost will be less than 500 usually.

With Airtel, the last month subscription was Rs 515, with a lot less channels on offer. I used to pay extra for NDTV and CNN IBN since they weren't part of the package.
audioholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2014, 02:19   #2349
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 218
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMaruru View Post
What is with 'Reliance Digital TV'? Are they going bankrupt?
I am getting the message 'This DTH operator has outstanding and liable to be disconnected' on few of the regional channels.
There is huge outstanding pending from reliance to sun network channels.
There was even some news last year that reliance is selling the major stakes in their DTH to sun group.
mykal shoemaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2014, 02:23   #2350
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 218
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by audioholic View Post

Exactly why I switched. Airtel started becoming more and more expensive. Currently I pay close to 400 a month. This covers all popular channels and their HD counterparts. Since we don't watch Hindi, those channels other than news isn't opted for.

I am currently on Tata sky with a 260 base package + HD access fee.

What I liked was in this package, Star sports 1,2 are HD while 3,4 are SD. However we don't get 1,2 in SD. Pretty logical and practical. Apart from HBO defined, I get all English movies and their HD versions. Even if I want, I can stretch the subscription as and when needed and yet the cost will be less than 500 usually.

With Airtel, the last month subscription was Rs 515, with a lot less channels on offer. I used to pay extra for NDTV and CNN IBN since they weren't part of the package.
Thank you audioholic. Yes. I am looking for base channels + HD package kind of options than paying for the highest package option.
mykal shoemaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2014, 11:48   #2351
Team-BHP Support
 
Gannu_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Madras
Posts: 4,724
Thanked: 9,215 Times
Default Re: Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH HD announced

We’ve relocated to a new place and wifey insisted on getting a DTH connection since my in-laws/parents would be frequenting us often. Went ahead with Tata Sky HD after some research and made the payment online for Rs. 2250 using the CC. 10 minutes later the local installation guy rings! Asked him to come tomorrow around noon and promptly received an SMS confirming the details. Everything went at a blistering pace!

I haven’t used an STB connection before (bought the TV back in 2010 only for playing games and watching movies). If my understanding is correct, we need to pay an extra fee (monthly/half-yearly/annually) for viewing HD channels other than the usual subscription fee. If we do not pay this fee, we cannot view the HD channels but SD channels are fine. Is this correct?

Can some kind soul post an image of the rear of the STB of a Tata Sky HD DTH service? Need to check what are the ports available. I have a HT system that accepts both the digital sound inputs - optical and coaxial; the optical one is already fed from the TV’s output. If there is a coaxial out, I’m saved!
Gannu_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2014, 14:25   #2352
Senior - BHPian
 
khoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Dilli
Posts: 2,722
Thanked: 1,250 Times
Default Re: Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH HD announced

If it helps the TataSKy HD+ box as an HDMI output as well as the coaxial (RWY) sockets.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gannu_1 View Post
Can some kind soul post an image of the rear of the STB of a Tata Sky HD DTH service? Need to check what are the ports available. I have a HT system that accepts both the digital sound inputs - optical and coaxial; the optical one is already fed from the TV’s output. If there is a coaxial out, I’m saved!
khoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2014, 18:39   #2353
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 553
Thanked: 150 Times
Default Re: Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH HD announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by khoj View Post
If it helps the TataSKy HD+ box as an HDMI output as well as the coaxial (RWY) sockets.
I think he is asking specifically for audio only ports. HDMI would be both for this set top box and RWY you mentioned is composite AV, I think.

Gannu, your TV might have HDMI ARC. Couldn't you use that to connect it with HT?
shipnil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2014, 11:48   #2354
Team-BHP Support
 
Gannu_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Madras
Posts: 4,724
Thanked: 9,215 Times
Default Re: Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH HD announced

Got the Tata Sky HD installed yesterday. I am impressed! HD channels look swell and the GUI of the STB has a nice fade effect. We have an age old Asianet SD STB connection at my hometown driving a 46 incher. Perhaps, my parents could be convinced to switch to the HD DTH service once they see this in person.

Quote:
Originally Posted by khoj View Post
If it helps the TataSKy HD+ box as an HDMI output as well as the coaxial (RWY) sockets.
Thank you! The STB we received lacks the component video out (not that I need them) and the coaxial digital out. There's an HDMI out, composite video out (Y), stereo audio out (R, W). That's all.

I forgot to click a snap yesterday. Will do that and post it here later.

Quote:
Originally Posted by shipnil View Post
Gannu, your TV might have HDMI ARC. Couldn't you use that to connect it with HT?
Thanks shipnil but this is a 4 year old TV (Samsung LA40C630). Lacks ARC. But that’s okay since the TV does the audio passthrough for DTS/Dolby D via the optical out, if the source is connected via HDMI. I used to drive my consoles that way.

Yet to unpack the audio systems. Will probably do it this weekend and post back the results.

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 4th December 2014 at 11:52.
Gannu_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2014, 08:58   #2355
BHPian
 
JMaruru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 518
Thanked: 97 Times
Question Re: DTH with better upscaling of SD channels?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mykal shoemaker View Post
There is huge outstanding pending from reliance to sun network channels.
There was even some news last year that reliance is selling the major stakes in their DTH to sun group.
I am fed up of Reliance DTH and considering other DTH service providers.
I am looking at these features.

- Better upscale of SD channels considering most of the popular channels beam SD signals?
- Better south based packs
- Signal strength during rains

Please advise.
JMaruru is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Your Favourite Host? (television presenters) Pferdestärke Shifting gears 102 28th December 2012 12:17
Has anyone tried Direct to Car (DTC) using DTH receivers ? StarVegabond In-Car Entertainment 13 9th December 2009 10:14
Civic Hybrid to be only available as a direct company import, not through showrooms. sidindica The Indian Car Scene 15 17th June 2009 13:42
40 inch LCD Television mobike008 Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 16th February 2007 05:03
Dish TV - DTH VMG Gadgets, Computers & Software 7 9th November 2005 15:26


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 23:31.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks