Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 6th September 2008, 11:52   #451
rkg
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: bangalore
Posts: 1,036
Thanked: 533 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hrman View Post
I heard they do not have any Zee Channel in the 2190 offer. Is this true? ANd can ppl from the south opt for a Zee package in addition? IM not sure.
ZEE, Zee Cinema, Zee trendz, Zee Cafe are there


Installation took 2 hours

Last edited by rkg : 6th September 2008 at 11:54.
rkg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2008, 13:16   #452
BHPian
 
abbey4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 437
Thanked: 101 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IronWolf View Post
I think for a first year Rs 2190 inclusive of Everything. @ 182.50 p/m for MPEG4 quality for 150+ channels its a very very good deal.
.
Guys Is it 2490 or 2190. The site has 2490 option and not 2190 so I am really confused
abbey4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2008, 15:16   #453
rkg
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: bangalore
Posts: 1,036
Thanked: 533 Times
Default It is only for four southern states

Quote:
Originally Posted by abbey4u View Post
Guys Is it 2490 or 2190. The site has 2490 option and not 2190 so I am really confused
Rs 2190 offer is only for four south indian states. For North one has to choose between 2490 to 4990/-
rkg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 12:31   #454
Senior - BHPian
 
mjothi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,252
Thanked: 216 Times
Default

Finally I got the BigTV yesterday. Called up customer care and literally waited for 40min before I got any response. Guy took all my details and kept on asking if I bought "today only". Says I will get installed in next 72 hours. I dont take it. Anyway, will keep following. Lets see.

I liked the browse mode - Thats shows 3 x 4 matrix of channels on screen and 1 Audio. Cool feature.
mjothi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 12:44   #455
Distinguished - BHPian
 
condor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Speed-brkr City
Posts: 10,315
Thanked: 3,657 Times
Default

@mjothi, pls dont forget to buy some patience along with the set-top box !

They are over-loaded with the installations. Ours took a week. But activation was immediately on installation. (was told by other sources that activation may take additional time).
condor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 13:38   #456
Senior - BHPian
 
anujmishra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,270
Thanked: 333 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjothi View Post
Finally I got the BigTV yesterday. Called up customer care and literally waited for 40min before I got any response. Guy took all my details and kept on asking if I bought "today only". Says I will get installed in next 72 hours. I dont take it. Anyway, will keep following. Lets see.

I liked the browse mode - Thats shows 3 x 4 matrix of channels on screen and 1 Audio. Cool feature.
Congrats Mahesh! Yes now days installation is problem as more and more people buying BIG TV and Reliance have limited staff for installation. It takes around 2 - 3 hours for installation. When I bought, it was just on next day of launch and got installed within 2 days.

Quote:
Originally Posted by condor View Post
@mjothi, pls dont forget to buy some patience along with the set-top box !

They are over-loaded with the installations. Ours took a week. But activation was immediately on installation. (was told by other sources that activation may take additional time).
Activation would be done immediately. It would not take time unless some technical problem. They just need to send a SMS to BIG TV number for activation.
anujmishra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 13:43   #457
Senior - BHPian
 
mjothi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,252
Thanked: 216 Times
Default

Yes, the sales guy himself mentioned that you should KEEP ON calling this customer care, or else you will never get installed.

Also, he hinted that there is going to be a better or more attractive plan after 90 days. Not sure if he was just doing sales talk. Not to forget, he also mentioned that "anything" can happen with Reliance. I checked if he meant its close of business, he says yes

Anyway, I dont think that will be happening. May be the plan may get costlier. Lets see.
mjothi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 14:11   #458
BHPian
 
wanderlustindia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 584
Thanked: 30 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjothi View Post
Yes, the sales guy himself mentioned that you should KEEP ON calling this customer care, or else you will never get installed.

Also, he hinted that there is going to be a better or more attractive plan after 90 days. Not sure if he was just doing sales talk. Not to forget, he also mentioned that "anything" can happen with Reliance. I checked if he meant its close of business, he says yes

Anyway, I dont think that will be happening. May be the plan may get costlier. Lets see.
Perhaps, the sales guy was hinting about the offering of LCD sets along with the BIG TV connection. A lot of talk is going around with regards to this.
wanderlustindia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 14:33   #459
BHPian
 
sj_koova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 578
Thanked: 105 Times
Default

I heard they plan to have HD transmission early next year.
They already have 4 channels lined up with HD. Seems to be waiting for more
However the existing set top box will have to replaced with new HD stuff and the cost could be aprox Rs500. The dish can remain as it is.
I am seriously considering one.
sj_koova is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 14:44   #460
Senior - BHPian
 
mjothi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,252
Thanked: 216 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wanderlustindia View Post
Perhaps, the sales guy was hinting about the offering of LCD sets along with the BIG TV connection. A lot of talk is going around with regards to this.
Oh my god Am I going to miss some nice offer
mjothi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2008, 10:00   #461
Senior - BHPian
 
mjothi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,252
Thanked: 216 Times
Default

Today morning I called the customer car and you know, I was so lucky to get it answered in first ring
Anyway, he said I was suppose to get a Work order number which their guys will call and let me know. But so far, no one called. He took it as a complaint and again got all the details. Hope I will have a call today. Lets see.
mjothi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2008, 13:28   #462
Senior - BHPian
 
kutlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 1,127
Thanked: 193 Times
Default A BIG tv review

I am a victim of reliance mobile and disconnected my reliance mobile and landline. Years later, i booked the BIG tv (alhough i know about their customer service) thinking that the launch offer is good and i can watch channels for one year without any need for renewal and any call to the so called customer service. I went to the nearest reliance shop and gave my details since they didn;t have stock. they told that they will call me once they have stock and they will get stock in a week’s time.

After a week and no calls, visited the shop again. the lousy employee said that i should have got a call by now and even he was surprised. but i wasn’t since i wasn’t expecting them to call me. anyway paid 2199 bucks and left with a useless STB and the kit. I was informed that i should contact reliance customer care and give my smart card no and place an installation request.

Tried to contact them and after long wait of 17 minutes (thanks to speaker phone), some one attended my call. and alas, their ’system’ was not working and took the details in a paper and they told me that they will update the ’system’ when it is up (i never beleived this story). I phone after couple of hours (i think any pc or even a mainframe requries much less time to power up) and waiting for 27 minutes on the phone, i gave the sim card number and there was no detail in the so called ’system’. I told the 2 hour old story and gave my details again. Then their system was not accepting my PIN which is a valid pin number and i get all mails and couriers delivered at my door step withi this pin number. i gave a nearest PIN number.



OK and they told i will get installed in 3 days. Never beleived it and again made couple of calls (slight improvement i had to wait much less now) and got confirmed that i will get it installed. Called them one day later and informed me that my address details are corrupt. But the phone numbers are correct. someone could have phoned me up and confirmed my address. Interstingly, their system is again not working and taken down my details in a toilet paper. Now i think i have to make another 100 calls to get the damn thing installed. Almost 70% of the time, their system is not working. So fingers crossed.


Any help is appreciated.
kutlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2008, 14:23   #463
BANNED
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bangalore / Madras
Posts: 1,980
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjothi View Post
I liked the browse mode - Thats shows 3 x 4 matrix of channels on screen and 1 Audio. Cool feature.
The browse mode is standard on all DTH services - it is really cool. Believe me, you will get used to DTH features so quickly that when you watch cable somewhere, you will curse it.
hrag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2008, 14:28   #464
Senior - BHPian
 
mjothi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,252
Thanked: 216 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hrag View Post
The browse mode is standard on all DTH services - it is really cool. Believe me, you will get used to DTH features so quickly that when you watch cable somewhere, you will curse it.
But I heard that the Tata SKY do not have this option. Is it not true?

Quote:
I am a victim of reliance mobile and disconnected my reliance mobile and landline.
Quote:
Tried to contact them and after long wait of 17 minutes (thanks to speaker phone), some one attended my call. and alas, their ’system’ was not working and took the details in a paper and they told me that they will update the ’system’ when it is up (i never beleived this story). I phone after couple of hours (i think any pc or even a mainframe requries much less time to power up) and waiting for 27 minutes on the phone, i gave the sim card number and there was no detail in the so called ’system’. I told the 2 hour old story and gave my details again.
You are lucky I had to wait for more than a hour on first day (made like 3 - 4 calls and disconnecting).
Yes, I had similar issues in terms of getting the data. So, far in this 2 days of calling, I have given my number, details, address plenty of times. So far nothing happened.
As condor mentioned, seems you need to buy patience too. Not little,. but BIG.

Last edited by mjothi : 10th September 2008 at 14:34.
mjothi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2008, 14:30   #465
Senior - BHPian
 
kutlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 1,127
Thanked: 193 Times
Default

Latest upate. They have cancelled my connection. and i asked how can you cancell a non exisitng connection. this really sucks.
kutlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Your Favourite Host? (television presenters) Pferdestärke Shifting gears 102 28th December 2012 12:17
Has anyone tried Direct to Car (DTC) using DTH receivers ? StarVegabond In-Car Entertainment 13 9th December 2009 10:14
Civic Hybrid to be only available as a direct company import, not through showrooms. sidindica The Indian Car Scene 15 17th June 2009 13:42
40 inch LCD Television mobike008 Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 16th February 2007 05:03
Dish TV - DTH VMG Gadgets, Computers & Software 7 9th November 2005 15:26


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 14:43.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks