Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 2nd February 2009, 14:05   #766
BHPian
 
mavrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 52
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

@ all : if i submit my 2 year old tata sky connection so what to do?what is the amount of refund i get back in return,if there is any provision for this.
mavrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2009, 18:00   #767
Senior - BHPian
 
mithun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cochin
Posts: 1,950
Thanked: 49 Times
Default

Is BIG TV having problems during rain ?

Last week, there was a small sprinkle and it was showing message that "Signal not available" and another time one weird error "Rain at the broadcasting station!" .
mithun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2009, 18:05   #768
Team-BHP Support
 
Eddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 7,378
Thanked: 4,637 Times
Default

DTH does suffer from disruption of signals during rains, but it is a problem only during heavy showers AFAIR.
Eddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2009, 18:19   #769
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 3,082
Thanked: 251 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddy View Post
DTH does suffer from disruption of signals during rains, but it is a problem only during heavy showers AFAIR.
It's not even so much the rain as thunderstorms.
But then, even the WorldSpace signals suffer during such squalls.
anupmathur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2009, 18:24   #770
Team-BHP Support
 
Eddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 7,378
Thanked: 4,637 Times
Default

I am not sure if I am correct, but I think the signal gets affected when a continous layer of water is formed between the satellite and the dish. Of course, it happens only during heavy rains.
But, the source of this is just a casual conversation so I might be wrong.
Eddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2009, 10:24   #771
oss
BHPian
 
oss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Chennai
Posts: 683
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

I am planning to get a Home theatre system. The question is do i get input from Sky+ in the 5.1 format (assuming the content has 5.1, say a movie being telecast through HBO)?
oss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2009, 10:52   #772
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,755
Thanked: 6,646 Times
Default

just read that dd will start hd broadcasts for next years commonwealth games. assuming that tata sky and big tv etc also start this will all the wiring have to be redone or do the present cat-5/cat-6 cables support hd?
Akshay1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2009, 12:03   #773
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 444 Times
Default Airtel Language Problem

Have been using Airtel for a month now. It has been a very good experience in all fronts except one. Some of the Kids' channels have a single audio track & that is Hindi. Tried calling up customer care, but they don't seem to have a clue. Just hit a wall there.
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2009, 12:04   #774
Team-BHP Support
 
Eddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 7,378
Thanked: 4,637 Times
Default

Are you sure that its not a Hindi channel originally ?
Eddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2009, 12:11   #775
Senior - BHPian
 
deepclutch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Muvattupuzha
Posts: 1,119
Thanked: 108 Times
Default

and It is almost a month with BIG TV DTH here.I had a sun dth connection ,which I gave to one of my relative's house.
The experience with BIG dth till ,it is very good.In kerala ,customer service(toll free) is working very well.ISP from Thodpuzha reaches within a day's limit to resolve the problems.
YES ,I had small problems.One with the model-1 STB(set top box) hyundai make freezes sometimes and it was replaced with model-2 which kind of works OK.the firmware seems to be buggy and this needs to be resolved.

Picture quality is better than sun direct ,tata sky etc.Their Cinema Halls ,32 of them ,plays same movies for a month or so.and there is the audio options(English ,Hindi) ,subtitles options works OK with few channels which got support.

totally ,good option.
problems:
1)STB firmware is not stable enough.
2)south channels are not given any preference
3)I miss few malayalam channels.

that's it.bigger dish compared to sun dth.
deepclutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2009, 12:45   #776
Senior - BHPian
 
kb100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangy Boy!
Posts: 1,554
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mavrick View Post
@ all : if i submit my 2 year old tata sky connection so what to do?what is the amount of refund i get back in return,if there is any provision for this.

There was no provision for this. IIRC the courts passed some kind of ruling making this mandatory - post which they might buy it back for Rs.100 (If you look at their TS+ exchange offers, this is what they give for your old STB - unfortunately court did not set any limits to what the amount of refund should be) - I am sure some conditions apply - you will have to check with their call center to get the correct picture.
kb100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2009, 12:52   #777
Senior - BHPian
 
amitoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 2,954
Thanked: 1,591 Times
Default

Guys, i have a TataSKY DTH connection. Now, very often there is this number in white in a blue rectangular box that pops up in the middle of the screen and refuses to go away. After some time it goes away on its own, only to come back a little later. Gets a bit annoying once you start to notice it.
I wanted to know if anyone else has faced this problem, before i call their customer support? Any idea how to get rid of it?
amitoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2009, 12:55   #778
Senior - BHPian
 
kb100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangy Boy!
Posts: 1,554
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

^^ I have this same issue Amitoj. Do let me know if you get a solution!
kb100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2009, 12:56   #779
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,890
Thanked: 2,465 Times
Default

Yes I too face this issue & I dont know how to get rid of it either. I am living with it as of now but would love to know if this can be taken care of
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2009, 13:22   #780
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,457
Thanked: 281 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amitoj View Post
Guys, i have a TataSKY DTH connection. Now, very often there is this number in white in a blue rectangular box that pops up in the middle of the screen and refuses to go away. After some time it goes away on its own, only to come back a little later. Gets a bit annoying once you start to notice it.
I wanted to know if anyone else has faced this problem, before i call their customer support? Any idea how to get rid of it?
I think this comes in all the DTHs. In Dish, the number you see is called
your VC Number (customer id).
I think this is for preventing piracy of the signals. i.e. if your cablewallah
is taking a DTH connection & then piping it to his cable customers, then
this number would be used to locate who was the dish subscriber whose
signals are being piped, so that the DTH operator can disconnect that
subscriber.
carboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Your Favourite Host? (television presenters) Pferdestärke Shifting gears 102 28th December 2012 12:17
Has anyone tried Direct to Car (DTC) using DTH receivers ? StarVegabond In-Car Entertainment 13 9th December 2009 10:14
Civic Hybrid to be only available as a direct company import, not through showrooms. sidindica The Indian Car Scene 15 17th June 2009 13:42
40 inch LCD Television mobike008 Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 16th February 2007 05:03
Dish TV - DTH VMG Gadgets, Computers & Software 7 9th November 2005 15:26


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 07:48.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks