Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11th March 2010, 14:16   #931
Senior - BHPian
 
kiku007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,606
Thanked: 1,211 Times
Thumbs up TataSky DTH Service Support

The TataSky DTH in parents home suddenly gave a message that they have not subscribed to the channels (Any of them) when actually they had subscribed and balance was there in the account.

Called up Cust. Service and they aplogised for the technical fault from their side and set it right.

Second day I got a call from the Cust care about the incident and if things are fine now. The call was to inform me that they would reverse the amount that had been deducted from the account when the service wasn't available to us. Good job! Even I forgot about this.
kiku007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2010, 15:12   #932
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 978
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sandeepmdas View Post
1080p is not used for broadcasting anywhere in the world, not even in the US.
That could be true for terrestrial broadcasts, may not be for satellite or IP TV.

Quote:
The difference between 1080p and 720p is noticeable only when you sit close to (less than 6.5 feet ) a 50" plasma TV.
Mine is 42" (only!) so I have to get even closer, like 5 feet

@ketan, you just need to click on "introducing Sun Direct HD" link towards bottom-right corner of the main page.
santosh.s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2010, 15:19   #933
Senior - BHPian
 
sandeepmdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Varkala
Posts: 1,119
Thanked: 605 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ketan View Post
^ I had a quick look at their website but couldnt find information about the HD channels or the DTH HD subscription!
Ketan, try this:
Sun Direct HD

You can choose between South Basic and Rest of India basic

Last edited by sandeepmdas : 11th March 2010 at 15:20.
sandeepmdas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2010, 15:45   #934
BHPian
 
Ketan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 827
Thanked: 160 Times
Default

^ Thanks,

So, its like Dish+STB+Installation+1Yr HDPack+1Yr Metro pack (you still have to go buy more channles) is availble for 9990/-.

I guess it will be a good idea to wait for other providers to come out with the HD content and that will bring this price down for sure.
Ketan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2010, 15:52   #935
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,350
Thanked: 31 Times
Default

SUN HD DTH is way too expensive given that they have only a few channels on HD. Its better to wait.

I got Tata Sky Plus and haven't regretted it. Customer service is good. Signal clarity is also good. The recording feature is excellent. Upto 90 hrs and I have a backlog of programs that I've recorded that I need to watch still!!! Its a good feature and once you use it you'll get hooked to it.
csentil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2010, 16:00   #936
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Vijayawada
Posts: 221
Thanked: 66 Times
Default

The STB provided by SUN Direct HD is of Samsung make. It is having a HDMI out and a composite out along with SPDIF port for 5.1 sound output via an amplifier/home theater and a USB port.
With the remote of STB, we can even control the TV's of different makes by configuring the code of the TV manufacturer.
vvrchandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2010, 16:42   #937
Senior - BHPian
 
srishiva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 3,545
Thanked: 766 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (4)
Default

Want to buy TATA Sky Plus, but am waiting to see if HD will be offered. Cant keep upgrading the set top box. Any info when others will start offering HD?
srishiva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2010, 14:44   #938
Team-BHP Support
 
bblost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 9,640
Thanked: 6,635 Times
Default

Big TV

Last week without any warning lost all the channels on Big TV.
Called up and was told that they no longer support the old plan I was subscribed to.
I also had Top Up plans with Elite, Regional and a-la-carte Colors.

Asked them to put me on a plan and they added me to the Silver pack.

Later I went thru all the plans on the website. Chose Diamond as it contained everything I needed.
Subscribed to it and asked for the Elite and Colors subscription be removed.
They were part of the Diamond pack.
Unable to do it last Friday due to some server issues.

Finally managed to get a customer service guy on Sunday.
As per them the IPL craze had kept the lines busy.

It took me over 20 mins of holding on before I got the customer rep guy.

Now there were a lot of issues with billing.
Since I was subscribed to the Regional pack prior to my enrolling in the Diamond pack. I was being charged for it.
As per them Diamond pack has 1 regional pack free.
But I was being charged for it.

The correct way to do it is remove subscriptio for regional pack and activate it in a future date.
THIS IS THE ONLY WAY TO GET IT FOR FREE.

Please be aware that you might be getting double charged.

Call up Big TV if you are a subscriber and check for what plans are active on your account.
If there is an overlap cancel them.
Verify if the Regional pack is FREE and if the subscription offer for you marks its as FREE.

regards,
bblost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2010, 13:09   #939
Senior - BHPian
 
lohithrao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kudla/Mangaluru
Posts: 3,125
Thanked: 162 Times
Default

Thinking of taking DTH as the cable quality is sad, which one you guys recommend "Airtel" has very bad review on mouthshut...
lohithrao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2010, 14:13   #940
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,136
Thanked: 3,733 Times
Default

I have been with TataSky almost since its inception. Very satisfied. In case of faults they have very good service - normally showup within an hour and a half!
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2010, 14:18   #941
Team-BHP Support
 
bblost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 9,640
Thanked: 6,635 Times
Default

If you understand how Reliance works, have a bit of patience, then you can try Big TV.

I have had only one issue with them
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/gadge...ml#post1783615

But that apart the quality etc on my NON HD ordinary 21" TV is good.
bblost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2010, 14:20   #942
BHPian
 
iamback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Punekar
Posts: 126
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Tatasky is the best. The new Tatasky now comes with mpeg4 quality. Do check before buying any other. Their service is just best.

When my set-top box remote was not working i called the customer care to change it. As my set-top box was in warranty they replaced it free and all this happened within an hour.
iamback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2010, 17:11   #943
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Vijayawada
Posts: 221
Thanked: 66 Times
Default

Airtel launched recording facility from mobile. Check www.airtel.in/digitaltv for more details..
vvrchandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2010, 01:14   #944
BHPian
 
Ketan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 827
Thanked: 160 Times
Default

Airtel is offering DTH for 999 for existing Airtel customers. Hows the offer! I was just thinking to get it while its available at lower rate and compare it with my TSky. However, another thought is to just wait for some more time and switch to something which provides HD / better STB with didtial a/v output.
Ketan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2010, 22:03   #945
BHPian
 
mukeshgoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 735
Thanked: 369 Times
Default

Saw this ad in Y'day's Times of India.

Article Window

Sun-HD has an offer. They are giving a discount of Rs.2,490/- for your old Set-Top Box. So effective price of their HD-DTH with 1 year subscription comes to Rs.7,500/-.

They need the Set Top Box and the smart card.

Now, about my case, I am desperate to have HD-DTH since I bought 46" Full HD LCD TV. I have 2 set top box of Dish-TV lying useless as I shifted to Tata-Sky one year back.

Is it a good buy at Rs.7,500/-.

Also, is it safe to give Set Top Box and smart card to Sun-DTH as that was issued in my name by Dish TV ?
Attached Thumbnails
Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH UHD (4K) now available-sunhd.png  

mukeshgoel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Your Favourite Host? (television presenters) Pferdestärke Shifting gears 102 28th December 2012 12:17
Has anyone tried Direct to Car (DTC) using DTH receivers ? StarVegabond In-Car Entertainment 13 9th December 2009 10:14
Civic Hybrid to be only available as a direct company import, not through showrooms. sidindica The Indian Car Scene 15 17th June 2009 13:42
40 inch LCD Television mobike008 Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 16th February 2007 05:03
Dish TV - DTH VMG Gadgets, Computers & Software 7 9th November 2005 15:26


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 21:41.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks