Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 15th June 2010, 20:34   #961
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 541
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

Nice, just what I was waiting for, to throw away my cable connection.
The LCD and Home Theater will thank me now
jigbarai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2010, 20:46   #962
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 951
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

The new HD settop box is not a DVR..i.e, recording/pause etc not avlbl. Seems TATA SKY+ features will not be avlbl as of now since the HD setop box is the normal one.
sanjayc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2010, 20:47   #963
SDP
Team-BHP Support
 
SDP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,660
Thanked: 7,508 Times
Default

Good news. But I am slightly concerned about the pace at which content providers (channels) are moving to HD.
SDP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2010, 21:01   #964
BHPian
 
Newpunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 640
Thanked: 40 Times
Default

This is great news. Sadly I am stuck with DishTV. I wish DishTV introduced HD service too. Maybe i will send them a mail .
Newpunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2010, 22:17   #965
Senior - BHPian
 
McLaren Rulez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mysore
Posts: 2,366
Thanked: 457 Times
Default

So existing Tata Sky subscribers get the new set top box free? And how much is that HD gold pack per month?
McLaren Rulez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2010, 22:45   #966
Senior - BHPian
 
sammyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Gurgaon/Doon
Posts: 1,710
Thanked: 289 Times
Default

^^ I think the Tata Sky HD receiver is for 2599 and the Gold pack is free for a year for existing TS subscribers. Could be wrong though. Strange thing is they havent sent an SMS or shared it on the TS news.
sammyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2010, 09:40   #967
Senior - BHPian
 
ghodlur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Thane
Posts: 4,924
Thanked: 1,911 Times
Smile

Read in todays paper about the offer, rechecked in tata sky website and was there. The ad says 15 mts of HD cable will be given free along with free installation. I think I am going to call them for an offer.
ghodlur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2010, 09:55   #968
BHPian
 
vc.vinay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Delhi
Posts: 33
Thanked: 30 Times
Default

There are only two channels which are HD, i dont think it is the right time for an upgrade
vc.vinay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2010, 10:00   #969
BHPian
 
sam003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 527
Thanked: 58 Times
Default

no exchange for existing customers, then what we will do with existing SB?
sam003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2010, 10:12   #970
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 433 Times
Default

But it has only 2 channels at present, discovery & NGC.
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2010, 10:15   #971
Senior - BHPian
 
addyhemmige's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bangalore/Hassan
Posts: 1,549
Thanked: 465 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Newpunter View Post
This is great news. Sadly I am stuck with DishTV. I wish DishTV introduced HD service too. Maybe i will send them a mail .
Your wish has been heard. Check out today's TOI. Dish TV announces HD.

Existing Tata Sky subscribers do not get the HD set topbox free. They only get the HD gold pack free for a year provided they buy the new STB. They can use the old STB or surrender it.
addyhemmige is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2010, 10:21   #972
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Chennai
Posts: 316
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sam003 View Post
no exchange for existing customers, then what we will do with existing SB?
Maybe use it in the multi room setup ?
bharanidharang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2010, 10:33   #973
Senior - BHPian
 
ghodlur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Thane
Posts: 4,924
Thanked: 1,911 Times
Angry

I spoke to the Tata sky help line and was told that at present the customer care does not have information of any offers for the existing customers. The HD STB will be lauched tomorrow officially in only three cities Mumbai, Delhi & Chennai . I dont think there is anything for existing customers as seen in FAQ pages on tatsky web site.
DTH India - Tata Sky Cost
ghodlur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2010, 14:15   #974
Senior - BHPian
 
Ajaybiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,354
Thanked: 140 Times
Default

Last when i called them they said when we launch HD will offer you free installation with exchange of your old STB, i have 2 connections and going to upgrade both as i am fed up with SD broadcast now.
Ajaybiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2010, 14:39   #975
Senior - BHPian
 
srishiva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 3,462
Thanked: 687 Times
Default

They have this in their FAQ

"The current digicomp is an HD digicomp without the pause, record & rewind features. The HD service on a Tata Sky+ will follow later."

Dont know how much later.
srishiva is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Your Favourite Host? (television presenters) Pferdestärke Shifting gears 102 28th December 2012 12:17
Has anyone tried Direct to Car (DTC) using DTH receivers ? StarVegabond In-Car Entertainment 13 9th December 2009 10:14
Civic Hybrid to be only available as a direct company import, not through showrooms. sidindica The Indian Car Scene 15 17th June 2009 13:42
40 inch LCD Television mobike008 Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 16th February 2007 05:03
Dish TV - DTH VMG Gadgets, Computers & Software 7 9th November 2005 15:26


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 20:46.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks