Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26th July 2010, 16:18   #1081
Senior - BHPian
 
nairrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Payyannur-Kannur district
Posts: 2,106
Thanked: 31 Times
Default

Noticed from their web, TAta Sky HD has got 2 channels listed in the HD i.e
Discovery channel and National geography channel and cost is Rs.30per month (HD Gold Pack), This is in addition to the regular package which one has already selected.
i.e if we select South saver pack at Rs.260/pm (this package is without any sports channel?) and for HD channel need to pay another Rs.30/-pm.
nairrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2010, 09:01   #1082
Senior - BHPian
 
SkyWalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,531
Thanked: 122 Times
Default

After staying with my cable-wallah and his set top box for a long time now, i finally moved to Airtel HD. Paid on the web and installation happed the next day. Quality is very good due to the HDMI i/p - even for SD channels. The box gives two options 720p or 1080i for HD transmission. I haven't really bothered NGC as it wasn't my cup of tea. If my daughter gets HD on any cartoon channels or i get it for sports channels i would gladly pay for HD channels.

Pros:
1. Apparently channel switch time - which was a problem in non HD version of airtel, is not as slow. Its not very fast either
2. Good picture quality, even for SD channels
3. Excellent support - very prompt and can use airtel phone to make easy toll-free calls (5 digit #)
4. Activating a channel (you aren't subscribed to) you want is a snap - a call to the IVR and viola! the new channel's up in 2-3 minutes.

Cons:
1. Universal remote offered is technically not a universal remote. It works only with TV and has limited functions. Still good as i keep the TV remote away and use it for special needs only. I am still to check if my "proper* UR works with the STB (didn't use to work with the cable guy's STB).
2. The sound is not split into the Home Theater receiver (even with an SPDIF) - i need to check with the call center, a bit too lazy about it now.

Last edited by SkyWalker : 27th July 2010 at 09:04.
SkyWalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2010, 13:00   #1083
BHPian
 
Jaguar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 561
Thanked: 141 Times
Default What to do with existing connection?

I am moving to a new apartment which has common dish for Airtel and TataSky and everyone has to choose b/w one of the two.
Now, I have this dishTV connection and I am not sure what to do with it. I checked with some TataSky and Airtel dealers but none of them do an exchange.
Jaguar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2010, 14:16   #1084
Senior - BHPian
 
khoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Dilli
Posts: 2,722
Thanked: 1,253 Times
Default

You could simply keep it for future use or give it to a relative or friend and they could use it either in or out of Bangalore. The connection would remain in your name and they would be pay for the usage.
khoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2010, 19:31   #1085
BHPian
 
2500cc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 663
Thanked: 230 Times
Default

Could someone please shed a light on how good the Sun DTH in terms of picture and Sound quality compared to other DTH services ? I'm considering SUN because it gives wide range of Telugu channels which no else gives.
2500cc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2010, 13:27   #1086
BHPian
 
kvish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 591
Thanked: 125 Times
Default

I have been using Airtel HD since last 2 months. The content in Nat Geo HD is not that great. Nat geo in standard definition has better programs. I think its better people wait before falling into the HD trap.
Hardly any HD movies either.
kvish is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2010, 11:45   #1087
Senior - BHPian
 
addyhemmige's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bangalore/Hassan
Posts: 1,549
Thanked: 465 Times
Default

Airtel DTH HD has been offering DD Sports HD from yesterday. Watched the Commonwealth Games Opening Ceremony in HD and loved it

Are other DTH providers also offering DD Sports in HD?

Last edited by addyhemmige : 4th October 2010 at 11:53.
addyhemmige is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2010, 12:02   #1088
BHPian
 
MutantX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Madras
Posts: 868
Thanked: 87 Times
Default

I can confirm that TATA sky is offering DD in HD. I too was seeing the commonwealth games opening ceremony in HD.
MutantX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2010, 13:13   #1089
BHPian
 
sbkumar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 349
Thanked: 90 Times
Default

I have a 40inches sony lcd and routing my airtel stb output through a yamaha receiver to the tv(both ends hdmi). the display at the tv startup says its 1080i. NGC HD quality is very hard to differentiate from some other normal channels. Has anyone else have this feeling? Is there something else I need to check/set to get a better quality?
sbkumar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2010, 14:42   #1090
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 268
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MutantX View Post
I can confirm that TATA sky is offering DD in HD. I too was seeing the commonwealth games opening ceremony in HD.
Yes, I have seen message in inbox. Tata Sky channel no. 402, DD sport HD. I am not sure about others!
omishra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2010, 15:11   #1091
Senior - BHPian
 
ghodlur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Thane
Posts: 5,002
Thanked: 2,008 Times
Smile

Recently Tata Sky has moved a couple of channels to the Music sections. The channels such as Zoom, E24, 9X are now in the music section. Dont know what prompted the change?

Any one notice this. Is this a means of making way for some channels.
ghodlur is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2010, 15:23   #1092
BHPian
 
sumathindra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 604
Thanked: 191 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghodlur View Post
Recently Tata Sky has moved a couple of channels to the Music sections. The channels such as Zoom, E24, 9X are now in the music section. Dont know what prompted the change?

Any one notice this. Is this a means of making way for some channels.
Yes i did notice this a couple of days back. I was tempted to call them and ask the reason. May be to make room for more channels or have a difference packaging strategy! Also would you know if the USB provision will be enabled sometime soon? I have been chasing them however they keep saying it will come!!
sumathindra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2010, 15:26   #1093
BHPian
 
sumathindra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 604
Thanked: 191 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by omishra View Post
Yes, I have seen message in inbox. Tata Sky channel no. 402, DD sport HD. I am not sure about others!
Just wondering if a regular tatasky+ subscriber can get access to this DD HD channel. I tried however i was not able to. wonder why?
sumathindra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2010, 15:32   #1094
Senior - BHPian
 
addyhemmige's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bangalore/Hassan
Posts: 1,549
Thanked: 465 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sumathindra View Post
Just wondering if a regular tatasky+ subscriber can get access to this DD HD channel. I tried however i was not able to. wonder why?
Nope. The HD channels are available only if you have the HD set top box.
addyhemmige is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2010, 09:33   #1095
Senior - BHPian
 
jeepster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: MH24 aka LATUR
Posts: 1,527
Thanked: 977 Times
Default

is tata sky HD available in non metro cities?

Tata Sky HD - High Definition Channels & HD Services.
Quote:
When will Tata Sky HD be available in other locations?

The HD digicomps will be made available shortly.
it also says that no exchange offer is available.

what should i do, buy SD or wait for HD?

note: it will be for my PC.
(dual 22" lcd + pixel-view playtv4 internal card.)
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/2112509-post36.html
jeepster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Your Favourite Host? (television presenters) Pferdestärke Shifting gears 102 28th December 2012 12:17
Has anyone tried Direct to Car (DTC) using DTH receivers ? StarVegabond In-Car Entertainment 13 9th December 2009 10:14
Civic Hybrid to be only available as a direct company import, not through showrooms. sidindica The Indian Car Scene 15 17th June 2009 13:42
40 inch LCD Television mobike008 Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 16th February 2007 05:03
Dish TV - DTH VMG Gadgets, Computers & Software 7 9th November 2005 15:26


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 12:59.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks