Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 7th March 2011, 21:03   #1261
BHPian
 
ritayan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Back in Delhi
Posts: 226
Thanked: 27 Times
Default Re: Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH HD announced

Does any STB support NTSC. A friend got his Sony KDL 52 W from US and cant get Tata Sky HD + to work. Any pointers on how to resolve the same.
ritayan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2011, 21:21   #1262
BHPian
 
Neilguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 172
Thanked: 51 Times
Default Re: Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH HD announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by ritayan View Post
Does any STB support NTSC. A friend got his Sony KDL 52 W from US and cant get Tata Sky HD + to work. Any pointers on how to resolve the same.
Use hdmi output to connect to the tv. Pal/NTSC problem arises only for analog outputs, not for digital outputs like VGA or hdmi.
Neilguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2011, 21:37   #1263
BHPian
 
ritayan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Back in Delhi
Posts: 226
Thanked: 27 Times
Default Re: Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH HD announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neilguy View Post
Use hdmi output to connect to the tv. Pal/NTSC problem arises only for analog outputs, not for digital outputs like VGA or hdmi.
No it does not work. He tried with the HDMI. The Tata Sky guy could not do anything.
ritayan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2011, 12:18   #1264
BHPian
 
vinay.pillai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Little Rock, US
Posts: 229
Thanked: 13 Times
Default Re: Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH HD announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashish22 View Post
@vinay.pillai...Yes the video feed in Active sports is pretty average. I'm using Tata sky HD and the quality is superb in live HD telecast of the matches. But when i switch to active sports all the videos and camera modes are pretty average in terms of resolution and quality.
Thanks @ashish22, So it is not a unique problem for my TATA SKy box. Thanks once again for confirming it.
vinay.pillai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2011, 13:56   #1265
BHPian
 
rishie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 125
Thanked: 30 Times
Default Re: Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH HD announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by sgiitk View Post
Good info JMaruru. I may have to dump TataSky and move privided Dish HD is available in Kanpur.

Tata are only interested in the Metros, so after being with them from the time they started in Kanpur I may have to switch.
Better sticking to tatasky unless you don't have a home theater audio system, DishTV is just upscaled audio from stereo, and not true 5.1 audio.

I agree picture quality is really good, but audio also makes sense while watching anything in HD.

I have a sundirect hd connection (got for 2950/- = 2 months free subscription).
Its a true 5.1 dolby output over spdif, and 1080i picture, and I would say its amazing to watch movies now, discovery hd, and nat geo hd in 1080i + 5.1 audio...

I know that sun direct customer service is not good, but compared the package + quality, it can be ignored.
rishie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2011, 14:08   #1266
BHPian
 
yajaman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: bangalore
Posts: 366
Thanked: 119 Times
Default Re: Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH HD announced

Had logged in to the Tatasky website to pay my bill and noticed they have updated the site with TataSKY + HD. It gives the detail, the new box supports 7.1 while the other HD box has only 5.1. Not a prb for me as my 6 year old Onkyo supports 5.1. The question is when is Tatasky coming out with Movies Now HD to make full use of these features.
yajaman99 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2011, 14:30   #1267
BHPian
 
patron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 188
Thanked: 103 Times
Default Re: Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH HD announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by ritayan View Post
Does any STB support NTSC. A friend got his Sony KDL 52 W from US and cant get Tata Sky HD + to work. Any pointers on how to resolve the same.
You will need a PAL/NTSC converter. Something like this:

Amazon.com: Atlona CDM-660 Multi-System PAL/NTSC Video Converter: Electronics
patron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2011, 14:39   #1268
BHPian
 
KALINGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: PUNE
Posts: 693
Thanked: 254 Times
Default Re: Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH HD announced

Recently i have upgraded to TATA SKY HD.
Everything is fine except some unresolved query. The installation guy was very very less knowledge about audio settings.

1) Can this box support 5.1 Dolby sound?
2) Can i connect this with my old SONY 5.1 HT?
KALINGA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2011, 15:36   #1269
BHPian
 
sumathindra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 601
Thanked: 190 Times
Default Re: Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH HD announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ajaybiz View Post
Call up the Tata sky toll free number and place your order there only through IVR, keep your credit cards OTP ready with you, HD+ is with recorder inbuilt 500 GB hdd for over 600 hrs of HD recording and HD is just DTH no recording.
I have opted for yearly package at 6K per year along with 150Rs per month for my 2nd connection, with this package i'll be getting all the channels along with HD and new launches.
How is the quality of non HD channels on the tatasky HD+? I am sure due to the HDMI interface there can be some improvement. Can you please let me know as this is going to be a decider for me to upgrade to HD+ from my existing TS+.
sumathindra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2011, 16:05   #1270
BHPian
 
yajaman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: bangalore
Posts: 366
Thanked: 119 Times
Default Re: Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH HD announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by KALINGA View Post
Recently i have upgraded to TATA SKY HD.
Everything is fine except some unresolved query. The installation guy was very very less knowledge about audio settings.

1) Can this box support 5.1 Dolby sound?
2) Can i connect this with my old SONY 5.1 HT?
@Kalinga - the HD box does support 5.1 via the spdif output.So you can connect this to your Sony 5.1 HT. The 5.1 is only available on channels with HD logo. So i am eagerly waiting for Movies Now HD.
yajaman99 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2011, 16:57   #1271
BHPian
 
patron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 188
Thanked: 103 Times
Default Re: Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH HD announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by KALINGA View Post
Recently i have upgraded to TATA SKY HD.
Everything is fine except some unresolved query. The installation guy was very very less knowledge about audio settings.

1) Can this box support 5.1 Dolby sound?
2) Can i connect this with my old SONY 5.1 HT?
Yes to both. I connected the HD box to my HT receiver and now watch the world cup matches with Dolby.
patron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2011, 15:02   #1272
Senior - BHPian
 
h@r$h@l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: GJ1
Posts: 1,427
Thanked: 678 Times
Default Re: Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH HD announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by yajaman99 View Post
@Kalinga - the HD box does support 5.1 via the spdif output.So you can connect this to your Sony 5.1 HT. The 5.1 is only available on channels with HD logo. So i am eagerly waiting for Movies Now HD.
Hi,

i have been trying to work around this issue since last 3 days. I have a Philips 42" HD LCD. It has a audio out.

I have a OEM HT system which i got from HK. It has a 2.1 input and a 5.1 input. the 5.1 input has 6 input cable connectors. and the 2.1 has 2. (RED N WHITE). Now how do i connect this thing to play the audio from the LCD to the HT?

also, how do we use the spdif output? i mean, what sort of cable goes from where to where? I am really sorry for this confusing Questions. i am totally unaware of this setup.

Can someone please guide me how to setup for 5.1 (via SPDIF, using regular RCA cable)

Last edited by h@r$h@l : 9th March 2011 at 15:14.
h@r$h@l is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2011, 16:16   #1273
BHPian
 
yajaman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: bangalore
Posts: 366
Thanked: 119 Times
Default Re: Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH HD announced

@Harshal - The SPDIF is a compressed audio stream , it will have the 5.1/7.1 channels passed over a single cable (coaxial (rca) or fibre). You would need a HT which has the SPDIF input and can decode the signal. From the details you have provided your current HT does not seem to support this.
To get sound from your TV to the HT, your TV would have an a/v output port.
Connect the audio out of the TV to the HT 2.1 or just connect the STB audio output to the HT.
Hope this helps.
yajaman99 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2011, 12:25   #1274
Senior - BHPian
 
Hatari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Calcutta
Posts: 1,568
Thanked: 364 Times
Default Re: Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH HD announced

Anyone know actual broadcast quality of the cricket matches?
I dont think it is in full HD
Hatari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2011, 14:21   #1275
Senior - BHPian
 
Ajaybiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,354
Thanked: 140 Times
Default Re: Direct-To-Home television in India. Update DTH HD announced

Till now no one is having Full HD broadcasting equipment, its meant only for video games, blue rays, media players not for broadcast, it may come but not at least in near future.
Ajaybiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Your Favourite Host? (television presenters) Pferdestärke Shifting gears 102 28th December 2012 12:17
Has anyone tried Direct to Car (DTC) using DTH receivers ? StarVegabond In-Car Entertainment 13 9th December 2009 10:14
Civic Hybrid to be only available as a direct company import, not through showrooms. sidindica The Indian Car Scene 15 17th June 2009 13:42
40 inch LCD Television mobike008 Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 16th February 2007 05:03
Dish TV - DTH VMG Gadgets, Computers & Software 7 9th November 2005 15:26


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 16:10.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks