Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 3rd June 2008, 20:09   #436
BHPian
 
nitroxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: DXB
Posts: 817
Thanked: 26 Times
Default

GT5 is available for 1799/- officially at any store that sells PS3 games..DO you guys have a crosswords book store? or a shoppers stop? pick it up from there. Or a sony world for that matter.
nitroxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2008, 21:32   #437
Team-BHP Support
 
mobike008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 10,717
Thanked: 7,858 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitroxx View Post
GT5 is available for 1799/- officially at any store that sells PS3 games..DO you guys have a crosswords book store? or a shoppers stop? pick it up from there. Or a sony world for that matter.
Thanks Nitroxx, we have all three of them out here. Will pick up a copy this weekend
mobike008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2008, 16:02   #438
Team-BHP Support
 
mobike008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 10,717
Thanked: 7,858 Times
Default

I had another question. I am assuming you guys are recommending the GT5 prologue? Also, does this version feature the BBC test track?
mobike008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2008, 18:46   #439
BHPian
 
nitroxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: DXB
Posts: 817
Thanked: 26 Times
Default

BBC test track is out in the GT5 main copy coming in 2009
nitroxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2008, 10:37   #440
Team-BHP Support
 
mobike008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 10,717
Thanked: 7,858 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
Thanks Nitroxx, we have all three of them out here. Will pick up a copy this weekend
Update: I just could not wait till the weekend. I got my copy of GT5-Pro last evening.

I paid 1700 bucks ( Rs.100 discount) and straight away started playing. As initial credits are only 35K, i bought a Honda Integra R Type for 29K. After racing for an hour or so, now my credit stands at 40K and i completed the C1 race and my best lap time stands at 1:44secs and 2-lap is 3:06secs on the highspeed ring.

Needless to say, i am also totally in love with its amazing graphics and the entire game looks as if your watching the real thing. Thanks to Askhay and Nitroxx who stopped me from buying NFS-Prostreet and recommended this one.

I have some questions:

a) When i inserted the GT5 disc in PS3, it asked for updates and then wanted to install itself on the HD. Is that standard?

b) I have a 40" Samsung LCD ( R81) and i have connected my PS3 to LCD with a HDMI cable. How do i find out what resolution output iam getting?

And, oh boy the engine sound coming out of my ONKYO HT is mind-boggling!!!

I can't wait for the weekend so i can buy myself an F40
mobike008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2008, 10:39   #441
Team-BHP Support
 
mobike008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 10,717
Thanked: 7,858 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
Thanks Nitroxx, we have all three of them out here. Will pick up a copy this weekend
Update: I just could not wait till the weekend. I got my copy of GT5-Pro last evening.

I paid 1700 bucks ( Rs.100 discount) and straight away started playing. As initial credits are only 35K, i bought a Honda Integra R Type for 29K. After racing for an hour or so, now my credit stands at 40K and i completed the C1 race and my best lap time stands at 1:44secs and 2-lap is 3:06secs on the highspeed ring.

Needless to say, i am also totally in love with its amazing graphics and the entire game looks as if your watching the real thing. Thanks to Askhay and Nitroxx who stopped me from buying NFS-Prostreet and recommended this one.

I have some questions:

a) When i inserted the GT5 disc in PS3, it asked for updates and then wanted to install itself on the HD. Is that standard?

b) I have a 40" Samsung LCD ( R81) and i have connected my PS3 to LCD with a HDMI cable. How do i find out what resolution output iam getting?

c) As it got installed on the HD, how much space does it occupy?

d) Will the credits be the same when i stop playing and start again another day? I reckon i just have to save the game before i exit..right?

And, oh boy the engine sound coming out of my ONKYO HT is mind-boggling!!!

I can't wait for the weekend so i can buy myself an F40
mobike008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2008, 10:40   #442
Team-BHP Support
 
mobike008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 10,717
Thanked: 7,858 Times
Default

Mods, please delete post # 440 as it got repeated. Thanks
mobike008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2008, 10:41   #443
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,755
Thanked: 6,650 Times
Default

the r81 dosent support full hd if i am right so youll be getting 720p. itll take you longer than the weekend to buy the f40 bro. lol and also connect your ps3 to the internet to that gt5 can upgrade to spec ii.
Akshay1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2008, 10:57   #444
Team-BHP Support
 
mobike008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 10,717
Thanked: 7,858 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
the r81 dosent support full hd if i am right so youll be getting 720p. itll take you longer than the weekend to buy the f40 bro. lol and also connect your ps3 to the internet to that gt5 can upgrade to spec ii.
F40 is 450K and i think it is acheivable if i play for a day continously or so. Don't you think? Also, i don't want to connect to internet for PS3. I am happy playing offline and i usually i don't spend more than 2-3 hours a week gaming.

Any idea how to find what resolution i am getting, i mean is there a way it dislays on my LCD? if you know, answers to my others questions please.
mobike008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2008, 18:12   #445
BHPian
 
nitroxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: DXB
Posts: 817
Thanked: 26 Times
Default

Congratulations mobike 008! it takes 5 Gb on the drive for installation.
the reason for a bigger drive is coz games will keep pouring in.
Want a DIY on drive upgrade? here's my thread for my PS3. 300GB (YOU READ IT RIGHT)!
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/gadget...-pictures.html

Last edited by nitroxx : 6th June 2008 at 18:15.
nitroxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2008, 23:58   #446
Senior - BHPian
 
Shan2nu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hubli - Karnata
Posts: 5,525
Thanked: 86 Times
Default

Quote:
b) I have a 40" Samsung LCD ( R81) and i have connected my PS3 to LCD with a HDMI cable. How do i find out what resolution output iam getting?
Just click the display data button on the remote. Our Sony LCD usually shows 1080P the moment you connect the PS3. If your LCD is not 1920x1080 (full HD), you should be getting 1280x720 (720p) resolution.

Quote:
a) When i inserted the GT5 disc in PS3, it asked for updates and then wanted to install itself on the HD. Is that standard?
If you're not connected to the net, no prob. Check post #427. I've provided links to how you can download the update on your PC and transfer it onto your PS3. I got the latest update using this method, so it def works.

Shan2nu
Shan2nu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2008, 00:08   #447
BHPian
 
nitroxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: DXB
Posts: 817
Thanked: 26 Times
Default

Shan2nu..quick question.This is a firmware update? And any improvements on the XMB shell with this update in particular?
nitroxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2008, 00:40   #448
Senior - BHPian
 
Shan2nu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hubli - Karnata
Posts: 5,525
Thanked: 86 Times
Default

From what i've heard the 2.35 update only provides some stability wrt some game titles. I didn't see any visual changes in the functioning of my PS3.

For the GT5 update, i doubt there is an alternative. I updated my GT5 using the PS3 itself.

There is one way of unlocking all the cars though. You just need to find a "savedata" file that has all the cars unlocked and replace your savedata file with this. Only prob is getting such a savedata file.

But i'm not sure how this will impact your online rankings. Technically it shouldn't make a diff since the rankings are registered online and are controlled by your PSN account.

Shan2nu
Shan2nu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2008, 09:47   #449
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,755
Thanked: 6,650 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitroxx View Post
Shan2nu..quick question.This is a firmware update? And any improvements on the XMB shell with this update in particular?
unless you update you cant play online.. stupid sony.
Akshay1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2008, 12:44   #450
Team-BHP Support
 
mobike008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 10,717
Thanked: 7,858 Times
Default

Thanks for the reply Nitroxx and Shan2nu. I have a 80GB PS3 so i dont have to worry too much

Btw, can everyone list how many cars you guys bought on GT5? I own only 2 until now. . Which cars do you guys recommend buying? I am yet to explore the entire dealerships

Honda Integra
BMW Z3
mobike008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gaming Consoles - the best ? normally_crazy Shifting gears 36 20th October 2012 19:22
Xbox 360 Elite gone!! MY new Bluray toy!!! nitroxx Gadgets, Computers & Software 7 29th February 2008 06:12
Xbox 360 Game trade R32_GTR Shifting gears 4 12th December 2007 04:18
XBox 360 chaxy Gadgets, Computers & Software 7 26th November 2005 15:23
xbox 360 - spec details gkrishn Gadgets, Computers & Software 6 28th May 2005 01:24


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 20:58.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks