Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 21st February 2011, 20:37   #886
Senior - BHPian
 
VW2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: electricity
Posts: 2,538
Thanked: 1,982 Times
Default Re: PS3 - installed custom firmware, not working!

The only option i feel is to boot the system with a pandora battery and install the normal firmware. The sound of your problem seems to me like you have bricked the PSP. But there are options to unbrick the same but requires some online search.

The best way to get this done is to search PSPmod, psp-hacks sites to understand the steps to unbrick a PSP.

<Please give me a days time to check if something can be done. I have modded three PSP's so far. But i pick the hardware based on my requirement and reject some series of hardwares>

Last edited by VW2010 : 21st February 2011 at 21:16.
VW2010 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2011, 21:01   #887
BHPian
 
rg_chn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: K.S.A
Posts: 343
Thanked: 2 Times
Default Re: PS3 - installed custom firmware, not working!

I did look up, and the forums said i need to either change the motherboard, or do some soldering (forgot the exact details of what has to be removed and re-soldered).

They never mentioned anything about it getting bricked though. How do you connect a pandora battery? Isn't it powered through AC/DC?
rg_chn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2011, 21:30   #888
Senior - BHPian
 
mercedised's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Indore
Posts: 1,065
Thanked: 158 Times
Default Re: PS3 - installed custom firmware, not working!

@rg_chn: Are you talking about PS3 or PSP? If PSP than which model do you have? Is it PSP-2001? Yes, a bricked PSP can be fixed.
mercedised is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2011, 21:43   #889
Senior - BHPian
 
VW2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: electricity
Posts: 2,538
Thanked: 1,982 Times
Default Re: PS3 - installed custom firmware, not working!

Quote:
rg_chn: Are you talking about PS3 or PSP
Oops..My Bad..All my suggestions are for PSP and not PS3. Please forgive for my mistake.
VW2010 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2011, 23:24   #890
BANNED
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: chandigarh,melbourne
Posts: 598
Thanked: 235 Times
Default Re: PS3 - installed custom firmware, not working!

It seems you ve bricked your psp. Firstly what psp model do you have ? Once you ve figured that out source a pandora battery and reflash the firmware. Pandora custom battery should bring your psp to original factory settings.
bigron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2011, 23:40   #891
Distinguished - BHPian
 
JayD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cochin! At last
Posts: 3,195
Thanked: 1,996 Times
Default Re: The big fight: Xbox 360 or Playstation 3 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ruchirtnt View Post
hello folks,
i got the news that the PS3 could be cracked at a price of 4k to play pirated games which are pocket friendly, has anybody gone through this operation,
and is it safe enough since i have loosen my PS2 this way,
but cracking PS2 invloves modifying the hardware chip (So no more warranty) and as per the guy he told me that in PS3 only the software is modified hence warranty will still be there.

I believe you have to downgrade the firmware, and plug in a certain pendrive fo the hack to work. It costs 2k here, Has anyone done it yet??
JayD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2011, 23:54   #892
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 125
Thanked: 7 Times
Default Re: PS3 - installed custom firmware, not working!

^^Guys, please read the title before posting.. he is talking about ps3, not psp. :-)
Ford_madhan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2011, 01:10   #893
BHPian
 
rg_chn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: K.S.A
Posts: 343
Thanked: 2 Times
Default Re: PS3 - installed custom firmware, not working!

Guys!! it's a PS THREE!! Yes, i know how to unbrick a psp, been there done that, and its working fine now, somehow, i can't figure out what to do with the PS-3
rg_chn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2011, 08:16   #894
BANNED
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: chandigarh,melbourne
Posts: 598
Thanked: 235 Times
Default Re: PS3 - installed custom firmware, not working!

My bad. Anyways the OS of the ps3 rests on the hardisk itself so you can remove the hardisk and connect it to your pc and reformat it. One re attached the ps3 should ask you to format it again. There maybe some format (ntfs) error that the ps may give. Give it a short. If all else fails just pick up a new biggere hardisk. The ps will boot the last firmware you were on .You will lose all your saved data but atleast you ll have a working ps3.
bigron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2011, 09:38   #895
Senior - BHPian
 
pranavt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,628
Thanked: 272 Times
Default Re: PS3 - installed custom firmware, not working!

Put it in service mode. Reinstall firmware.
pranavt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2011, 11:11   #896
BHPian
 
rg_chn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: K.S.A
Posts: 343
Thanked: 2 Times
Default Re: PS3 - installed custom firmware, not working!

Thanks bigron and pranavt, will try this over the weekend and update the thread.

Pranav - How do i put it in service mode?
rg_chn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2011, 22:23   #897
BHPian
 
rg_chn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: K.S.A
Posts: 343
Thanked: 2 Times
Default Re: Sony PSP Thread!!!!

I do not understand why my thread on the PS 3 was merged with the PSP thread
rg_chn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2011, 02:02   #898
BHPian
 
rg_chn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: K.S.A
Posts: 343
Thanked: 2 Times
Default Re: The big fight: Xbox 360 or Playstation 3 ?

So, this is what i find after a bit of research
[TUTORIAL] How To Fix Bricked Waninkoko v1 Consoles, by [Lukin] | PsJailBreak
rg_chn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2011, 02:40   #899
Senior - BHPian
 
prince_pervez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Redwood shores, CA, USA
Posts: 4,205
Thanked: 29 Times
Default Re: The big fight: Xbox 360 or Playstation 3 ?

Day before yesterday I got a chance to play on my friends PS3 and my palms were aching. I asked my friends whether I was holding the control console correctly and he said yes. Or maybe the game was wierd. It was NFS some version.
I never had this experience with my brother's XBox 360. It was so easy to use and never had any palm aches. I wonder why ?
prince_pervez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2011, 09:34   #900
BANNED
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lucknow/Gurgaon
Posts: 1,022
Thanked: 91 Times
Default Re: The big fight: Xbox 360 or Playstation 3 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by prince_pervez View Post
Day before yesterday I got a chance to play on my friends PS3 and my palms were aching. I asked my friends whether I was holding the control console correctly and he said yes. Or maybe the game was wierd. It was NFS some version.
I never had this experience with my brother's XBox 360. It was so easy to use and never had any palm aches. I wonder why ?
is this so, could anyone else confirm this, i am on verge of buying a PS3 320 GB with move, and could consider xbox 360 kinetic as well
ruchirtnt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gaming Consoles - the best ? normally_crazy Shifting gears 36 20th October 2012 19:22
Xbox 360 Elite gone!! MY new Bluray toy!!! nitroxx Gadgets, Computers & Software 7 29th February 2008 06:12
Xbox 360 Game trade R32_GTR Shifting gears 4 12th December 2007 04:18
XBox 360 chaxy Gadgets, Computers & Software 7 26th November 2005 15:23
xbox 360 - spec details gkrishn Gadgets, Computers & Software 6 28th May 2005 01:24


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 10:09.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks