Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


View Poll Results: Internet Browsers - what do you use?
Internet Explorer 110 16.03%
Netscape 4 0.58%
Mozilla Firefox 353 51.46%
Opera 61 8.89%
Apple Safari 22 3.21%
The new kid on the block, Chrome from Google 119 17.35%
Any other?? Please specify 17 2.48%
Voters: 686. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 2nd April 2008, 17:19   #166
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,406 Times
Default

I use FF for everything even banking sites.
Kotak Mutual fund Portfolio tracker wants IE, but the user agent switcher does the job for me.
Only website which actually needed IE was the HSBC, so I stopped banking with HSBC and cancelled their credit cards. Going to IE was not the option as most of the time I am on linux
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2008, 17:29   #167
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: India
Posts: 1,745
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
Only website which actually needed IE was the HSBC, so I stopped banking with HSBC and cancelled their credit cards. Going to IE was not the option as most of the time I am on linux
now that's dedication!!!!!

never visited HSBC india myself, but HSBC UK was fine with firefox/flock
rippergeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2008, 17:43   #168
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,406 Times
Default

No dedication, majboori. My work is mostly on linux, and earlier I used to have linux at home too, so booting into windows meant stopping work etc.,
So using HSBC became a hassle
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2008, 09:55   #169
BHPian
 
kochicar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Kochi
Posts: 38
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Just switched from firefox to Safari in Windows. It rocks in speed. Anyone can get the speed advantage if they are on slow connection. Much faster than FF. I am yet to see if it works with all the bank sites.
kochicar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2008, 10:42   #170
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,628
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

There cannot be any choice when it comes to browsers, Mozilla Firefox is the safest. I have modified it to be used for/with broadband( mozilla, by default comes as/tuned dial up friendly).
its very easy way.
Security loop holes are there in Firefox also, but a lot less in number than Internet Explorer 6. IE7 is quite safe, but is slower than IE6.
We have a lot of friends who use Firefox. My friend got infected and he was having phising through the internet, which was later recognized through CLI commands and KIS 7 ( Kaspersky Internet Security 7 ).
Its not failure free, but much, much safer than IE6.
The changes/modification I have done resutled in faster mozilla. This is what I love about mozilla, its very easy to customize and there are a lot of options avaliable.

I also use IE6 that is standard with XP, and this is typed in IE!.
Basically I am having 150kbps connection from reliance, so its not broadband ( TRAI says that for a connection to called Broadband, it must have the least speed of 256kbps ).
This connection will slow down after 9am till 10pm. So for this period, its IE, and for the rest, its Firefox.

Vote goes to Firefox.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2008, 10:43   #171
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,628
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kochicar View Post
Just switched from firefox to Safari in Windows. It rocks in speed. Anyone can get the speed advantage if they are on slow connection. Much faster than FF. I am yet to see if it works with all the bank sites.

you could have made changes to increase the speed of FF.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2008, 10:52   #172
BHPian
 
nkapoor777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 572
Thanked: 80 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaggoswami View Post
The changes/modification I have done resutled in faster mozilla. This is what I love about mozilla, its very easy to customize and there are a lot of options avaliable.
can you please list down a few tricks for non-techie guys like me?



PS: I am using Windows XP SP-1 on a P-III machine (256 MB RAM) at home. I know thats stone age but it is still going strong even after 7 years. Plan to replace it in a few months.

Last edited by nkapoor777 : 19th May 2008 at 10:53.
nkapoor777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2008, 10:57   #173
Senior - BHPian
 
alpha1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: P00NA
Posts: 1,613
Thanked: 949 Times
Default

No one here uses Opera?
!!
alpha1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2008, 14:47   #174
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,628
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nkapoor777 View Post
can you please list down a few tricks for non-techie guys like me?



PS: I am using Windows XP SP-1 on a P-III machine (256 MB RAM) at home. I know thats stone age but it is still going strong even after 7 years. Plan to replace it in a few months.

Yes can you pm me your email address so that I can attach the entire file?
Ok I am being lazy, here are the steps:
1)Type "about:config" in URL bar.

2) In Filter, type "network.http".

3) Double click "network.http.pipelining" to set it true.

4) Double click "network.http.pipelining.maxrequests" to bring up the "Enter Integer value" Dialog box. Enter a higher number than default 4. 20 is preferrable.

5) Double Click "network.http.proxy.pipelining" to set it true.

6) Right click anywhere in teh page. Select New > Integer. Enter "nglayout.initialpaint.delay" and press OK. Finally set the integer to 0 (Zero) and click OK again.









If still you have queries, then pm me. I have this typed in word file. I dont know how to upload word file. If you want that, pm me your email address.
Attached Thumbnails
Internet Browsers-step-1.jpg  

Internet Browsers-step-2.jpg  

Internet Browsers-6.jpg  

aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2008, 16:52   #175
BHPian
 
nkapoor777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 572
Thanked: 80 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaggoswami View Post
Yes can you pm me your email address so that I can attach the entire file?
Ok I am being lazy, here are the steps:
1)Type "about:config" in URL bar.

2) In Filter, type "network.http".

3) Double click "network.http.pipelining" to set it true.

4) Double click "network.http.pipelining.maxrequests" to bring up the "Enter Integer value" Dialog box. Enter a higher number than default 4. 20 is preferrable.

5) Double Click "network.http.proxy.pipelining" to set it true.

6) Right click anywhere in teh page. Select New > Integer. Enter "nglayout.initialpaint.delay" and press OK. Finally set the integer to 0 (Zero) and click OK again.

If still you have queries, then pm me. I have this typed in word file. I dont know how to upload word file. If you want that, pm me your email address.
Thanks aaggoswami! I have PM'ed you my email id. I'll try and set it up once I reach home.
nkapoor777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2008, 22:58   #176
BHPian
 
mezereo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 125
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Mozilla Firefox it is.
mezereo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2008, 12:56   #177
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: India
Posts: 360
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Yesterday I got rid of older version of Firefox (2.something), and installed the 3.0 RC1.

So far it has been utterly stable, slightly lesser memory usage, and handles large/complex pages even better than before. All positive!

However, since this is not the final release, not all extensions work. Currently only flashblock and adblockplus are working (amongst which I had installed). I miss TabMixPlus.

As long as people are not too bothered by the off chance of their favorite extensions not working yet, I'd say install this thing. It is a definite upgrade (unlike MS products...). Of course, the 3.0 stable will probably be here in 45-60 days.
SuperSyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2008, 14:38   #178
BHPian
 
Proxima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Chennai
Posts: 801
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Just got hooked onto Firefox after being a IE guy for more than I can remember.

The Adblock and the FoxClocks add-ons are awesome.
Proxima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2008, 14:42   #179
BHPian
 
splitsecond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: calicut
Posts: 83
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nkapoor777 View Post
PS: I am using Windows XP SP-1 on a P-III machine (256 MB RAM) at home. I know thats stone age but it is still going strong even after 7 years. Plan to replace it in a few months.
For this config opera will be a better option than firefox
splitsecond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2008, 14:44   #180
BHPian
 
Srini76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chennai, India
Posts: 115
Thanked: 70 Times
Default Environment settings in MOZILLA

Hi ,

Our tech guy here is writing applications on .NET technology and is unable to replicate the same behavior if IE in Mozilla. is there a script or is any person aware of any specific changes to be made. The Areas we are having trouble is specially with Menus which just dont seem to align but do so on IE.

Thanks and regards
Srini76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Have any of you tried mobile internet? GTO Gadgets, Computers & Software 60 18th April 2012 08:48
How fast is your internet connection? dan400 Shifting gears 1 12th August 2004 17:16
Parenting in the internet age S350L-E240 Shifting gears 3 10th June 2004 03:08
IE n Internet Jaggu Shifting gears 3 26th May 2004 12:52


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 08:07.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks