Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


View Poll Results: Internet Browsers - what do you use?
Internet Explorer 110 16.03%
Netscape 4 0.58%
Mozilla Firefox 353 51.46%
Opera 61 8.89%
Apple Safari 22 3.21%
The new kid on the block, Chrome from Google 119 17.35%
Any other?? Please specify 17 2.48%
Voters: 686. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10th September 2008, 19:16   #316
BHPian
 
prabuddhadg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 731
Thanked: 45 Times
Default

You read the EULA?! Wow!
prabuddhadg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2008, 20:18   #317
BHPian
 
jassi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 980
Thanked: 11 Times
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by prabuddhadg View Post
You read the EULA?! Wow!
no I didn't read it - i learnt about it on google search
it says any data you send using chrome is google's property
"You retain copyright and any other rights you already hold in Content which you submit, post or display on or through, the Services. By submitting, posting or displaying the content you give Google a perpetual, irrevocable, worldwide, royalty-free, and non-exclusive license to reproduce, adapt, modify, translate, publish, publicly perform, publicly display and distribute any Content which you submit, post or display on or through, the Services. This license is for the sole purpose of enabling Google to display, distribute and promote the Services and may be revoked for certain Services as defined in the Additional Terms of those Services."

It seems they have changed it since but here is the google search
chrome eula - Google Search
jassi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2008, 23:24   #318
BHPian
 
sharathjeppu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 157
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by msdivy View Post
Multi-process application is a lazy approach for solving a crash. But the point is why must an application crash?
PS: My colleague reads RSS feeds in Firefox. He opens all the links in tabs - thats at least 30 tabs. In Chrome that would mean different 30 process !!

GDS is very very primitive. All it has is one box to enter the search query. There are other options which offer more precison search.
Google Desktop Search was really good in version 1.0. They really messed up something with 2.0. It used to eat away the processor and make the system extremely slow. I have never tried it after that.
sharathjeppu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2008, 23:30   #319
BHPian
 
sharathjeppu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 157
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
..........

The emails which outlook advance search couldnt find comes up with google desktop, only when its archived one needs to do a bit a head scratching to fish it out.
Try xobni for organizing your outlook mails. It's a brilliant concept :-)
The only catch is that you require atleast 1 GB of RAM to get to to work well without slowing down your PC.
sharathjeppu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2008, 23:52   #320
Senior - BHPian
 
msdivy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,426
Thanked: 770 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by prabuddhadg View Post
I am no techie, but to search for files in my computer, I find Google Desktop search much more capable that the regular Windows search. Windows often fails where Google immediately shows results.
Software tries to meet people's requirements. If GDS meets your requirement, then nothing like it. I use Copernic Desktop Search (CDS), and it meets most of my requirements ! Link: Copernic - Software to search, find, and manage information
Earlier I used to use GDS and then switched to CDS. I must say, my searches are faster with CDS.
I agree, Windows Search sucks more than GDS.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
Cant it be a site issue that the browser crashes, most often i felt it is. I have come across certain sites which tend to crash both IE and FF and am forced to quit.
I still don't get it why a site must crash a browser. Its like opening a pdf and Acrobat crashes !!
msdivy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2008, 00:18   #321
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,851
Thanked: 15,406 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jassi View Post
no I didn't read it - i learnt about it on google search
it says any data you send using chrome is google's property
"You retain copyright and any other rights you already hold in Content which you submit, post or display on or through, the Services. By submitting, posting or displaying the content you give Google a perpetual, irrevocable, worldwide, royalty-free, and non-exclusive license to reproduce, adapt, modify, translate, publish, publicly perform, publicly display and distribute any Content which you submit, post or display on or through, the Services. This license is for the sole purpose of enabling Google to display, distribute and promote the Services and may be revoked for certain Services as defined in the Additional Terms of those Services."

It seems they have changed it since but here is the google search
chrome eula - Google Search
they changed the EULA.
Google admitted that they normally copy paste EULAs, therefore this goof up happened.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2008, 12:43   #322
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,491
Thanked: 6,768 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sharathjeppu View Post
Try xobni for organizing your outlook mails. It's a brilliant concept :-)
The only catch is that you require atleast 1 GB of RAM to get to to work well without slowing down your PC.
Unfortunately its a work machine and company is not generous to give me 1 GB ram so i have to be contented with Google Desktop :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by msdivy View Post
I still don't get it why a site must crash a browser. Its like opening a pdf and Acrobat crashes !!
I think thats why they are called as buggy usually some flash hungry, over loaded sites and sometimes it gets compounded with slow internet connection. I used to have an issue with citibank india site when i was connected through a slow internet connection and especially during salary days when traffic was more, not there now. i think they have done something about this issue.
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2008, 16:40   #323
Team-BHP Support
 
Zappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 5,631
Thanked: 1,975 Times
Default

As of now a big grouse against Chrome is that for framed sites it looks impossible to refresh only one particular frame without touching others. All other browsers let you do so but not Chrome. In chrome you just need to refresh the whole page which at times gives a wrong result, particularly when frame based navigation has been happening on the page.
Zappo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2008, 21:22   #324
BHPian
 
greatpower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 119
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nishantgandhi View Post
P.S. On another note, did anyone face a spyware called "Antivirus XP 2008" after installing Chrome? My system got infected with this spyware the day after I installed Chrome. And during that time, I DID not install any other software or download any other files as well. Firewall and Antivrus (AVG) were turned on as well. So I suspect this came as some excess baggage with Chrome.
Did you install the Chrome from any other site than googleblog? I hope you have not used one of those 'offline' installers.
XP Antivirus2008 is a notorious spyware and is extremely difficult to remove. If will tell you that your computer is infected and you will need to buy the full version to remove it. Do not pay anything.

To remove it you should login in safe mode and try to run antispyware. I was infected with this and had to remove it manually - nothing was able to remove it.
greatpower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2008, 21:49   #325
Senior - BHPian
 
nishantgandhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,219
Thanked: 150 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greatpower View Post
Did you install the Chrome from any other site than googleblog? I hope you have not used one of those 'offline' installers.
XP Antivirus2008 is a notorious spyware and is extremely difficult to remove. If will tell you that your computer is infected and you will need to buy the full version to remove it. Do not pay anything.

To remove it you should login in safe mode and try to run antispyware. I was infected with this and had to remove it manually - nothing was able to remove it.
No man, installed it from Google's site itself. Dont how how the spyware crept in. Have tried and successfully removed it but unluckily, system has slowed down and have tried everything to correct it, but in vain
nishantgandhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2008, 01:30   #326
BHPian
 
deep_bang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore / Boise
Posts: 568
Thanked: 253 Times
Default

Using Chrome for the past 1 week.
It seems real fast - faster than firefox and IE. Till now very good experience. The only problem i see is that it just does not "remember" the usernames and other text that you type in text fields.

Other than that, the tab concept is good, the incognito mode is also a good idea.

Firefox seemed to have some problem with images in t-bhp(especially the threads with a lot of images on them). Chrome works pretty good there.
deep_bang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2008, 11:45   #327
BHPian
 
jassi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 980
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deep_bang View Post
Using Chrome for the past 1 week.
It seems real fast - faster than firefox and IE. Till now very good experience. The only problem i see is that it just does not "remember" the usernames and other text that you type in text fields.

Other than that, the tab concept is good, the incognito mode is also a good idea.

Firefox seemed to have some problem with images in t-bhp(especially the threads with a lot of images on them). Chrome works pretty good there.
do you also have multiple chrome processes running in your task manager, for each tab you open within chrome. I currently have 3 tabs open and 5 chrome processes running
jassi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2008, 11:47   #328
Senior - BHPian
 
mjothi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,252
Thanked: 216 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jassi View Post
do you also have multiple chrome processes running in your task manager, for each tab you open within chrome. I currently have 3 tabs open and 5 chrome processes running
Yes, I do. Since its multi process, I guess it shows as such.

I tried killing one and all chrome was closed Not sure if I closed the parent.
mjothi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2008, 13:22   #329
Senior - BHPian
 
nishantgandhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,219
Thanked: 150 Times
Default Problem with FF

I recently downloaded and started using Chrome. Was happy till I started facing a weird problem in HSBC Online banking (posted earlier here). Also, I suspect some Spyware (AntiVirus XP 2008) made its way into my system. After that, things have gone totally haywire for me.

I uninstalled Chrome and went back to FF3. However, it had become noticeably slower and many pages simply do not load up! I downgraded to FF2 but the problem persisted. Even commonly used sites like Gmail, Yahoo, TBHP refuse to load. I just keep getting "Page Load Error". I double checked my internet connection and its fine.

Now I reinstalled Chrome and thought of uninstalling FF, so that I can observe the changes in the system. Funnily enough, my Add/Remove Programs shows Mozilla Firefox was last accessed on Aug 23, 2008! And to think that my PC stays on 24x7, with atleast Gmail, YahooMail and TBHP always open on FF.

How could that be possible?

Also, I fond my broadband connection somewhat restricted in terms of download speed over the last 3-4 days. While earlier I used to get 18-19 kbps, I am getting close to 5-6 kbps only now. How can I rectify the above mentioned problems?

It seems I have lost my Windows install CD so a repair also does not look possible.
nishantgandhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2008, 20:40   #330
BHPian
 
deep_bang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore / Boise
Posts: 568
Thanked: 253 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jassi View Post
do you also have multiple chrome processes running in your task manager, for each tab you open within chrome. I currently have 3 tabs open and 5 chrome processes running
I have 2 tabs and 4 Chrome processes. You can right click on the blue top bar and select task manager (This is the google task manager). This gives a detailed view of what each of the 4 processes are for.
deep_bang is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Have any of you tried mobile internet? GTO Gadgets, Computers & Software 60 18th April 2012 08:48
How fast is your internet connection? dan400 Shifting gears 1 12th August 2004 17:16
Parenting in the internet age S350L-E240 Shifting gears 3 10th June 2004 03:08
IE n Internet Jaggu Shifting gears 3 26th May 2004 12:52


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 02:07.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks