Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


View Poll Results: Internet Browsers - what do you use?
Internet Explorer 110 16.03%
Netscape 4 0.58%
Mozilla Firefox 353 51.46%
Opera 61 8.89%
Apple Safari 22 3.21%
The new kid on the block, Chrome from Google 119 17.35%
Any other?? Please specify 17 2.48%
Voters: 686. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26th November 2008, 18:25   #391
Senior - BHPian
 
mjothi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,252
Thanked: 216 Times
Default

Guys, I am unable to open the Yahoo! Mail in enhanced version in both FireFox & IE. Why so? It says my version of browser is not supported for that. I have been using it for a while now and just this week I started getting this message.

FF - 3.0.4
IE - 8 beta.
mjothi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2008, 20:12   #392
BHPian
 
sridhar24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 951
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjothi View Post
Guys, I am unable to open the Yahoo! Mail in enhanced version in both FireFox & IE. Why so? It says my version of browser is not supported for that. I have been using it for a while now and just this week I started getting this message.

FF - 3.0.4
IE - 8 beta.

I use the same versions of FF and IE and don't find any issues opening yahoo mail in both, its only in Opera browser that it doesn't load yahoo mail.
sridhar24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2008, 22:54   #393
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,628
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjothi View Post
Guys, I am unable to open the Yahoo! Mail in enhanced version in both FireFox & IE. Why so? It says my version of browser is not supported for that. I have been using it for a while now and just this week I started getting this message.

FF - 3.0.4
IE - 8 beta.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sridhar24 View Post
I use the same versions of FF and IE and don't find any issues opening yahoo mail in both, its only in Opera browser that it doesn't load yahoo mail.
Since more than one month, I am not able to open Yahoo in Firefox and able to open it only in IE8 and presently IE6 ( one more format ).

Yahoo mail wont open in 1) FF 3.0.4 and 2) Google Chrome.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2008, 19:06   #394
Senior - BHPian
 
trrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Alleppey, Kerala
Posts: 2,113
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Hi,

I just checked now.

My FF 3.0.4 opens Yahoo mail in classic and enhanced versions.
trrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2008, 19:20   #395
Senior - BHPian
 
mjothi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,252
Thanked: 216 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trrk View Post
Hi,

I just checked now.

My FF 3.0.4 opens Yahoo mail in classic and enhanced versions.
Yes. Now it works. For some reason it was not during the last weeks. Anyway, now things are ok
mjothi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2008, 02:55   #396
BHPian
 
deep_bang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore / Boise
Posts: 568
Thanked: 253 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaggoswami View Post
Yahoo mail wont open in 1) FF 3.0.4 and 2) Google Chrome.
I regularly check yahoo mail (enhanced version) on Google Chrome.
deep_bang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2008, 07:35   #397
Senior - BHPian
 
deepclutch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Muvattupuzha
Posts: 1,119
Thanked: 108 Times
Default

I use epiphany(webkit version also).it is just a awesome browser with simplicity.and I was using links(lynx too!) when having a dial-up connection back in 2002 . .

and I use GNU/Linux only.no window$.
deepclutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2008, 07:39   #398
BHPian
 
Fillmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 271
Thanked: 127 Times
Default

Yahoo mail is getting buggier by the day.

For the past 6-8 months I am unable to open yahoo mail when directly connected to the internet. However when I access it using a US Proxy server it works.

Numerous complaints logged seem to be falling on deaf ears.
Fillmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2008, 11:28   #399
Senior - BHPian
 
alpha1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: P00NA
Posts: 1,613
Thanked: 949 Times
Default

Same here.
I am sometimes unable to open yahoo mail.

The page loads, but I am not able to log-in.
alpha1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2008, 22:44   #400
BANNED
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bengalooru
Posts: 1,471
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

All IE users, BEWARE: Don't surf till the folks at Redmond comes up with some patch. Lest, some knave will "take control of you PC"

BBC NEWS | Technology | Serious security flaw found in IE
diabloo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2008, 23:02   #401
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default

Patch is already out and would have been on your PC if Auto Update is ON and PC has been connected to net for 7 - 8 hours.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2008, 09:05   #402
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dubai
Posts: 3,854
Thanked: 123 Times
Default

Yup, the patch is out; my system got updated last night, that is late evening IST.
HappyWheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2008, 11:47   #403
BHPian
 
mathewpn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 43
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Tried FireFox 3.1 beta2 for 1 week. and it just rocks !!
mathewpn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2008, 19:14   #404
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,610
Thanked: 6,696 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
Patch is already out and would have been on your PC if Auto Update is ON and PC has been connected to net for 7 - 8 hours.
Seven to eight hours? What for? to download the patch?

Oh... this is MS.... so I suppose that is possible...
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2008, 19:21   #405
Senior - BHPian
 
vikram_d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,380
Thanked: 936 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
Seven to eight hours? What for? to download the patch?

Oh... this is MS.... so I suppose that is possible...
You are the most anti-MS person. Aren't you?
vikram_d is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Have any of you tried mobile internet? GTO Gadgets, Computers & Software 60 18th April 2012 08:48
How fast is your internet connection? dan400 Shifting gears 1 12th August 2004 17:16
Parenting in the internet age S350L-E240 Shifting gears 3 10th June 2004 03:08
IE n Internet Jaggu Shifting gears 3 26th May 2004 12:52


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 12:40.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks