Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11th October 2005, 20:52   #31
BHPian
 
EVO6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 488
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

I use MICROWORLD's eSCAN Corporate Edition...
Its the best AV software I have used till date.. Takes care of all kinds of infection and best of all its an Indian company.. They have realtime support... Had Norton 2003 Prof. before this but there were always problems with some worms and spyware..
But not none... zlichhhhhhh ..
Visit www.mwti.net for more details..
Cheers

Last edited by EVO6 : 11th October 2005 at 20:53.
EVO6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2005, 21:16   #32
Senior - BHPian
 
binz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,299
Thanked: 410 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deepakhon
I use Solaris and Linux
Aint linux an os.....enlighten me please
binz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2005, 21:27   #33
Senior - BHPian
 
binz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,299
Thanked: 410 Times
Default

here are the ones i use:
lavasoft ad aware.....(god knows which version)
Spybot Search & Destroy 1.4
avast home edition
norton internet security-2005
some others which come with the chip and digit mags

All of the above are always upto date.

regards,
binz
binz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2005, 22:14   #34
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,233
Thanked: 3,642 Times
Default

Linux and Solaris are both OSes but partly due to their low acceptance and design they are virtually virus free. I use Linux 7.3 and though i got no GUI I am virus free.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2005, 16:36   #35
Senior - BHPian
 
adya33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 1,839
Thanked: 91 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by revtech
guys i need help
i use microsoft anti spyware.is there anyway to block certain sites as they just keep poping up.

Rev
NOPE
you need to do scan of your computer which will give you list of spywares available on your PC
it is better to scan with two to three different anti-spywares mainly due to lack of centralised spyware list
I would suggest other two's
www.lavasoft.com Ad aware &
http://www.safer-networking.org/en/download/ Spybot

both are good

as for me I use Avast! Home edition
free for personal use.
Light weight & does its work very well

Quote:
I use Linux 7.3 and though i got no GUI I am virus free.
you are kidding right?
Linux 7.3?
adya33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2005, 16:53   #36
BANNED
 
hellspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: noida
Posts: 1,686
Thanked: 6 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (10)
Default

i use norton antivirus 2005.for spyware i use microsoft antispyware,adaware se,spybot and registry mechanic.all r regularly updated.
hellspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2005, 17:07   #37
Senior - BHPian
 
revtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,987
Thanked: 35 Times
Default

hey hellspawn
is there anyway to block certain sites using microsft antispyware.if there is please tell me.


rev
revtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2005, 17:40   #38
Senior - BHPian
 
binz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,299
Thanked: 410 Times
Default

revtech,exactly what type of sites do you want to block(annoying sites or ads).depending on that,first get a popupblocker,then delete all temp files,cookies and history,increase security levels and if possible use another web browser.
hope that helps:-)

binz
binz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2005, 17:46   #39
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,407 Times
Default

LOL deepakhon, yours the best answer. Do i know you from BLUG or similar forum(linux-india etc.,).
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2005, 22:13   #40
Senior - BHPian
 
revtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,987
Thanked: 35 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by binz
revtech,exactly what type of sites do you want to block(annoying sites or ads).depending on that,first get a popupblocker,then delete all temp files,cookies and history,increase security levels and if possible use another web browser.
hope that helps:-)

binz

both irritating sites as well as ads.this happens only when i use internet explorer.normally i use firefox but sometimes when i use IE the irritatiing things keep popping up.so how do i stop that.


Rev
revtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2005, 22:56   #41
Senior - BHPian
 
karthik247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: BLR, HYD
Posts: 2,708
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

I use Norton on my computer and F-Secure on the mobile
karthik247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2005, 23:28   #42
Senior - BHPian
 
DCEite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NCR
Posts: 3,015
Thanked: 441 Times
Default

I "have" to use the one provided with Sify broadbant client.. its called mcafee secure synergy..
DCEite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2005, 00:51   #43
Senior - BHPian
 
binz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,299
Thanked: 410 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by revtech
both irritating sites as well as ads.this happens only when i use internet explorer.normally i use firefox but sometimes when i use IE the irritatiing things keep popping up.so how do i stop that.


Rev
hey i just read your post and looked on download.com.I found stoppop.net(http://www.download.com/StopPop-net/...ml?tag=lst-0-4).Its a really neat software and it seems to be pretty good(just downloaded it!!)I think it has a 14 day trial which i ilegally extended.Its not a toolbar and you dont really know it exists.It works only with IE and only when you are surfing,screenshot below:



This seems like the best option as of now,BUT you can also do the following:
1-DOwnload the latest version of IE V6.0(i think).
2-If you are using XP get service pack 2 which has a firewall and popupblocker.
3-Reinstall your os

binz
binz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2005, 00:59   #44
Senior - BHPian
 
binz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,299
Thanked: 410 Times
Default

Oh yeah.........did I mention,you can block certain sites!!!

binz
binz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2005, 01:08   #45
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: pune
Posts: 2,088
Thanked: 48 Times
Default

I use McAfee and MS Antispyware. So far so good. Avast is good enough for home PC. Make sure you enable Firewall on Windows XP.

@revtech, I was going to suggest you to use FireFox, but then you are already doing it.
RX135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which software to use for editing videos ? Deeps Gadgets, Computers & Software 52 24th July 2017 00:21
Software Dev. Engineer v/s Software Test Engineer DCEite Shifting gears 50 14th April 2008 13:10
Anti honda?? Anti suzi?? Anti fiat?? Anti ford etc etc?? Vent out ur opinions here!!! mclaren1885 Shifting gears 3 29th June 2006 14:23
Virus Attack on 3rd Feb 2006!! speedsatya Shifting gears 32 11th February 2006 01:24
Spybot virus Deeps Shifting gears 4 9th October 2004 23:03


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 03:45.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks