Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10th May 2010, 17:30   #526
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,850
Thanked: 15,406 Times
Default

Reinstall windows on the same path. It should fix the issue of missing files.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2010, 08:05   #527
BHPian
 
tortoiseNhare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Guwahati
Posts: 524
Thanked: 39 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
Reinstall windows on the same path. It should fix the issue of missing files.
Q1. With this PC only the rescue dvds came which will take the pc back to its original state according to the manual. Originally it was one large Windows partition. Does that mean all other partitions that I had created later will not exist if I use those disks to restore Windows?

Q2. I have copy of XP professional (meant for some other OEM). Can that be used the way you had suggested?
tortoiseNhare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2010, 10:12   #528
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,850
Thanked: 15,406 Times
Default

I am not sure what the rescue DVDs will do.
But using a windows XP OEM disk you should be able to select "repair windows" or something like that and fix things.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2010, 10:17   #529
Team-BHP Support
 
benbsb29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 7,971
Thanked: 3,387 Times
Default

TNH, you could get some hints to similar issues through Google.
Here is one : Windows XP logon screen does not appear and the computer continuously restarts

Also, this link should be helpful -> XP Continuously Restarts
benbsb29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2010, 12:31   #530
Senior - BHPian
 
S_U_N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Pune
Posts: 1,778
Thanked: 375 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tortoiseNhare View Post
Q1. With this PC only the rescue dvds came which will take the pc back to its original state according to the manual. Originally it was one large Windows partition. Does that mean all other partitions that I had created later will not exist if I use those disks to restore Windows?

Q2. I have copy of XP professional (meant for some other OEM). Can that be used the way you had suggested?
It is likely that the rescue disk will load the factory default image of the OS. In that process it might wipe off all your partitions.
Take a backup on another drive before you proceed further.
You could boot from a Ubuntu Live CD and then move your important data to an external USB disk.
S_U_N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2010, 13:03   #531
Senior - BHPian
 
S_U_N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Pune
Posts: 1,778
Thanked: 375 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tortoiseNhare View Post
I then edited the registry manually deleting all entries containing the string "Rahul".
I am not sure if you deleted more than what you should have.

Here are some instructions on how to get rid of this malware without affecting your Windows stability.
Lord rahul cool [Solved]

Do you have system restore points defined? If yes, go back to a previous point.
How to start the System Restore tool by using the safe mode option with the Command prompt in Windows XP
You might go back in the infected state, but at least your Windows OS will be back to 'normal'. Then remove the malware as instructed in the first link.
S_U_N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2010, 14:22   #532
BHPian
 
tortoiseNhare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Guwahati
Posts: 524
Thanked: 39 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S_U_N View Post
I am not sure if you deleted more than what you should have.
I think I have done precisely that. I am accessing all the required data on the disk easily from the Ubuntu installation. So, no big worry till now, except that the scanner is not detected by Ubuntu.

The original state of the Windows installation, with scores of shareware, was horrible. To bring it to a state of my liking is quite an effort. If all else fails then the PC will get Windows 7 acquired from an unmentionable source.
tortoiseNhare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2010, 14:44   #533
Senior - BHPian
 
DRIV3R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: India
Posts: 1,639
Thanked: 1,015 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tortoiseNhare View Post
Q1. With this PC only the rescue dvds came which will take the pc back to its original state according to the manual. Originally it was one large Windows partition. Does that mean all other partitions that I had created later will not exist if I use those disks to restore Windows?
Definitely, Yes.

Quote:
Q2. I have copy of XP professional (meant for some other OEM). Can that be used the way you had suggested?
This method doesn't work with Vista and 7. You just get an unactivated installation. Even if you use the disc which was supplied with another machine (identical to yours) from the same vendor. Don't know about XP.
DRIV3R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2010, 02:56   #534
BHPian
 
iamback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Punekar
Posts: 126
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

I have Norton 360 3.0 version. Especially i love norton any suggestions/comments on norton ????
iamback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2010, 10:49   #535
BHPian
 
Gandhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 980
Thanked: 199 Times
Default

Which anti-virus software do I use? I don't. I run Mac and Linux only . Be free surf freely.
Gandhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2010, 13:21   #536
Senior - BHPian
 
mithun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cochin
Posts: 1,941
Thanked: 49 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gandhi View Post
Which anti-virus software do I use? I don't. I run Mac and Linux only . Be free surf freely.
But there are Mac viruses also !
mithun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2010, 12:10   #537
Senior - BHPian
 
S_U_N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Pune
Posts: 1,778
Thanked: 375 Times
Default

Just for the benfit of all, Kaspersky Internet Security 2010 is available @ Lamington Road starting Rs. 650 (+/- 100) for 3 computers.
The same AV is available around Rs 2000 outside India.
S_U_N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2010, 14:19   #538
Team-BHP Support
 
benbsb29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 7,971
Thanked: 3,387 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S_U_N View Post
Just for the benfit of all, Kaspersky Internet Security 2010 is available @ Lamington Road starting Rs. 650 (+/- 100) for 3 computers.
The same AV is available around Rs 2000 outside India.
The same is also available at most computer shops around the city for a similar price.

A cousin of mine bought a 3 licence version from Bangalore for use in a PC in the UAE. IIRC, it didnt activate the antivirus. Will need to check with him what happened finally.
benbsb29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2010, 15:05   #539
Senior - BHPian
 
aargee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KATN
Posts: 4,647
Thanked: 1,953 Times
Default

Just wondering why should someone pay for antivirus while there're good ones available for free like AVG/Avira? What's the purpose? Can someone help me understand as what're the benefits to buy over free?
aargee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2010, 15:09   #540
BHPian
 
hemanthisgreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 587
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by benbsb29 View Post
A cousin of mine bought a 3 licence version from Bangalore for use in a PC in the UAE. IIRC, it didnt activate the antivirus. Will need to check with him what happened finally.
Just wondering if we activate a Laptop with Kaspersky license in India itself and then take it abroad, will it work and update without problems. I too use kaspersky.
hemanthisgreat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which software to use for editing videos ? Deeps Gadgets, Computers & Software 52 24th July 2017 00:21
Software Dev. Engineer v/s Software Test Engineer DCEite Shifting gears 50 14th April 2008 13:10
Anti honda?? Anti suzi?? Anti fiat?? Anti ford etc etc?? Vent out ur opinions here!!! mclaren1885 Shifting gears 3 29th June 2006 14:23
Virus Attack on 3rd Feb 2006!! speedsatya Shifting gears 32 11th February 2006 01:24
Spybot virus Deeps Shifting gears 4 9th October 2004 23:03


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 03:34.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks