Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 27th March 2009, 18:59   #31
BHPian
 
ibm_jennifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 529
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Quote:
any free and quick way to blank out a portion (top/bottom few pixels) of a video?
Do you mean letter boxing?

Any good video editing software will do this by adding two overlay masks. Use this software to find the correct position of overlays: Video Resolution & Letterboxing 1.0.0. downloadsoftware4free.com. Download Free Software. Search shareware and freeware downloads.

Last edited by ibm_jennifer : 27th March 2009 at 19:09.
ibm_jennifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2009, 22:08   #32
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 3,079
Thanked: 251 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ibm_jennifer View Post
Do you mean letter boxing?
No, somehow I feel he does not mean letter boxing. He wants to 'delete' some content. Aspect ratio is not specified.
anupmathur is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2009, 23:04   #33
Senior - BHPian
 
vivekiny2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: cincinnati, jabalpur,chennai
Posts: 1,241
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anupmathur View Post
No, somehow I feel he does not mean letter boxing. He wants to 'delete' some content. Aspect ratio is not specified.
yup, i wanted to 'delete' unwanted portion.
vivekiny2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2009, 15:25   #34
BHPian
 
gopinathann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 766
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
No! as encoding or capturing is purely CPU intensive work. whereas graphics card are just for out put.
Thank you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vivekiny2k View Post
yup, i wanted to 'delete' unwanted portion.
You can use virtualdub freeware to delete unwanted. Mark the start & end position and use the del key. Then save the clip as new avi file.
gopinathann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2009, 12:22   #35
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 186
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shankyz View Post
I'm struck with a similar problem, except that my handycam doesn't have firewire port, it's an old Sony TRV46 , which records video in Hi8 format on analog mini tapes. I want to transfer the tapes to my PC and keep on external disk and DVDs.

The options are
1. Give the tapes with the handycam to a local studio, who will convert to CD @100/- per CD or DVD @350 per DVD. but I've no idea about how good/bad will be the Quality of the captured video by these people.

2. Get an Analog video capture device/card along with s/w but which one is good , how much will it cost etc are the unknown factors.

I need to convert ~10 to 15 tapes to DVD.

Can anyone give me inputs and throw some light for the above 2 options or any other 3rd option?

How good/bad is Pinnacle DVD Maker Plus - a device which connects to USB on PC and has analog video input ports and burns video directly to DVD? Anyone has any experience with this or any such similar product?

Thanks in advance
Another option, someone told me is to hook my analog camcorder to a digital camcorder (which has A/V in & A/V out), so my camcorder can play the video and the digital camcorder and xfer the same over firewire to my PC. The friend told me that this way Quality will be top notch. But ... most friends have camcorders with A/V out only...

So few queries again ...

1. Anyone ever tried this before ? Are the results good ?
2. What is the difference in quality while capturing using USB v/s Firewire?
3. Anyone used DVD Maker Plus or similar product for capturing analog video and burning it on DVD?
4. Pls suggest some good and economiv video capture cards (available in local market in India)

Any other alternative suggestion ?

Thanks in advance

Shanky
Shankyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2009, 13:12   #36
BHPian
 
akhilesh51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Jaipur, RAJ
Posts: 626
Thanked: 318 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (5)
Default

I have always loved to shoot candid moments on my video camera but guess it scared the crows out of me when it came to editing with more often than not, I ended up avoiding the job completely.

UNTIL, I bought mac and along came hubbly-bubbly Final Cut Pro suite as a gift from a certain family member and life has not been the same.
akhilesh51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2009, 20:38   #37
BHPian
 
meghan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Mountain View
Posts: 113
Thanked: 18 Times
Default

Oh! Just the topic I had been looking for.
Do any of you know how much a Firewire cable connecting the handycam to the laptop costs and can any wire work as good as official sony ones(if they exist)?
meghan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2009, 01:19   #38
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 653 Times
Default

Its a 4-4 firewire. Its about Rs.100.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shankyz View Post
Another option, someone told me is to hook my analog camcorder to a digital camcorder (which has A/V in & A/V out), so my camcorder can play the video and the digital camcorder and xfer the same over firewire to my PC. The friend told me that this way Quality will be top notch. But ... most friends have camcorders with A/V out only...

So few queries again ...

1. Anyone ever tried this before ? Are the results good ?
2. What is the difference in quality while capturing using USB v/s Firewire?
3. Anyone used DVD Maker Plus or similar product for capturing analog video and burning it on DVD?
4. Pls suggest some good and economiv video capture cards (available in local market in India)

Any other alternative suggestion ?

Thanks in advance

Shanky
Its possible. if the camera has AV input. Which is available in professional ones only.
Firewire captured video are smooth and AV are synchronised, WHere as USB has this problem most of the time.

If you want to do this for a long time buy a professional card from pinnacle. Studio 9.1 card (old model) and software is about Rs.3500/-.

Last edited by Rehaan : 29th April 2009 at 12:43. Reason: Posts merged.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2009, 13:10   #39
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 186
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
Its possible. if the camera has AV input. Which is available in professional ones only.
Firewire captured video are smooth and AV are synchronised, WHere as USB has this problem most of the time.

If you want to do this for a long time buy a professional card from pinnacle. Studio 9.1 card (old model) and software is about Rs.3500/-.
Thanks for your reply,

so "Studio 9.1 card (old model) and software" is as good or better than the firewire capture method ? 3500/- is ok with me if it offers decent quality capture, where can I get it from... hope it is available in Nehru place with bill & warranty.
Shankyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2009, 17:58   #40
Senior - BHPian
 
StarScream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Noida/Delhi
Posts: 1,243
Thanked: 627 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by meghan View Post
Oh! Just the topic I had been looking for.
Do any of you know how much a Firewire cable connecting the handycam to the laptop costs and can any wire work as good as official sony ones(if they exist)?
600 rupees for 4-4 cable of decent quality. I just bought one two weeks ago from Staples in the Great India Place mall in Noida. The brand is Bandridge. Very good quality and 1/3rd the cost of Sony.
Now maybe there isn't a Staples where you stay but try Home Town or any other electronics outlet from the Big Bazaar/Pantaloon family. They run Staples in India as well, I think.
StarScream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2009, 23:53   #41
BHPian
 
meghan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Mountain View
Posts: 113
Thanked: 18 Times
Default

Thanks for the info guys!

Will buy one soon now. Also I found the Ulead Video Studio software really good and user friendly! Has anyone used it?
meghan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2009, 12:34   #42
Sha
BHPian
 
Sha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Canberra
Posts: 539
Thanked: Once
Default

Guys I need to edit audio in videos files which software is best to use.
Sha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2009, 23:34   #43
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,229
Thanked: 21,882 Times
Default

What exactly are you trying to do with the audio Sha?

cya
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2009, 23:41   #44
Sha
BHPian
 
Sha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Canberra
Posts: 539
Thanked: Once
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
What exactly are you trying to do with the audio Sha?

cya
R
See I have many OTR Videos but background audio has many interesting talk which I guess is against the forum rule so I need to be edit background audio talk.

Last edited by Sha : 26th September 2009 at 23:46.
Sha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2009, 02:24   #45
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 653 Times
Default

you can use virtual dub for that.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Off-Road Videos / Links Thread - Post all 4x4 videos & links here! ramkya1 4x4 Excursions 193 26th February 2017 20:19
Which Anti-virus software do you use ? adityapd Gadgets, Computers & Software 725 6th April 2015 09:04
Software Dev. Engineer v/s Software Test Engineer DCEite Shifting gears 50 14th April 2008 13:10


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 19:20.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks