Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 27th May 2011, 10:04   #2041
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Delhi
Posts: 48
Thanked: 14 Times
Default re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
Failure rate of SSDs is quite high specially if data changes often.

Coding Horror: The Hot/Crazy Solid State Drive Scale
Agreed, but that was mostly true before the Sandforce controller came out. In general, SSDs do not have an exceptional rate of failure. Most SSDs in fact have a lower rate of failure than conventional 7.2k HDDs.

Disques durs & SSD - Les taux de pannes des composants - HardWare.fr

Quote:
Originally Posted by anekho View Post
Thanks for the reply. Net speed is definitely not the problem, I'm on a 25 MBPS connection!

I'd leave the laptop alone but even browsing is a pain. :( Also just bought it recently so don't feel like selling it off. Don't mind getting new parts though
I was doing some research and it seems that the N550 in spite of two cores performs worse at video playback than the N270 single core. I'd advise you to try an XP install. If the problem persists, you'd need a new netbook.
lordavenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2011, 12:30   #2042
BHPian
 
cooljai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: KL-30/KA-53
Posts: 91
Thanked: 17 Times
Default re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Hi Guys,
Had an ASUS M2NVm-HDMI motherboard which support DDR2 RAM and have an AMD AM2 Socket processor.
It went Kaput last week, and as its still under warranty have given that to ASUS through my dealer.
ASUS informed the dealer that there are no DDR2 boards available and they would replace my board with a Motherboard which supports DDR3, as the repair would take "some time".
Did not agree initially as I'll have to now buy DDR3 and my existing DDR2 would then be useless and insisted on repair.
After waiting for more than 10 days and with work getting affected without my primary PC, was OK for the offer.
However, now they say that the new motherboards are all AM3 and I'll now have to buy DDR3 RAM as well as a new processor which has an AM3 socket and have denied the offer.
Now they have sent an email to thier HO to check with all thier offices for a supporting motherboard, failing which they would issue a credit note.
I was using the DVI/HDMI ports on my previous motherboard and not sure if the same would be there on a new motheboard from say Gigabyte.
Does someone have any idea what percentage would they refund?
Can I insist that my existing motherboard be repaired?
What would you all suggest? What would be my best course of action?

Last edited by cooljai : 27th May 2011 at 12:33.
cooljai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2011, 12:52   #2043
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 19
Thanked: Once
Default re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

My PC Specs

AMD Phenom II X6 1090T
Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD7
G.Skill - F3-12800CL9-4GBRL x 2 (8GB)
Radeon HD 6850 - GDDR5 - 1GB
Dell ST2410
Western Digital Caviar Black SATA 6Gb/s 1TB (WD1002FAEX) x 1
Barracuda 7200.12 SATA 3Gb/s 1TB (ST31000528AS) x 1
Razer Lycossa Gaming Keyboard
Razer Death Adder 3500dpi Mouse
Razer Goliathus Speed Edition Mouse Pad
Cooler Master Hyper N620 CPU Cooler
Cooler Master HAF932 Cabinet
Cooler Master Silent Pro M 850W Power Supply
prashantrana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2011, 12:53   #2044
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Delhi
Posts: 236
Thanked: 129 Times
Default re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Take the new board and upgrade the platform. The increase in performance for everyday computing is marginal at best (I have a mix of AM2 and AM3 AMD CPUs running on a mic of AM2+ and AM3 boards) but the flexibility is better and you get fresh warranty. Finding RAM cheap should not be a problem, 2GB of DDR3 costs around 1100 nowadays. An AthlonII x2 should be enough for pretty much any everyday task.

Better to not trust Asus with repair. They botch up stuff pretty badly, a M3N78-EM was completely destroyed by a botched repair. When it went in the LAN was not working, when it came back pretty much nothing worked.

As I have said before on this thread, a DVI-HDMI cable is all you need to connect pretty much any display to pretty much any video card or motherboard.

As an option, you may be able to exchange the (new) board with an AM2 board with someone on a tech forum.

Last edited by cranky : 27th May 2011 at 12:54.
cranky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2011, 15:12   #2045
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,730
Thanked: 6,943 Times
Default re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Here's my latest Want One

Nofan Set A40

A completely passively-cooled PC case.

Two problems: it is only good for processors up to 100w (maybe less in our ambient temperatures) and eeeeek --- the price!
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2011, 16:58   #2046
Senior - BHPian
 
devarshi84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ahmedabad - Tor
Posts: 3,996
Thanked: 118 Times
Default re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

I have arrived to the conclusion of searching for a standalone mediacenter for now since I do not need emails and office to eat up space and RAM.

The search is on for a used AGP card with DVI.
My Sony HT demands high repairs to instead will be hooking the 5.1 to creative Audigy 2zs.

PS: WIll the Audigy2ZS be able to power HT speakers properly?
devarshi84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2011, 17:11   #2047
BHPian
 
anku94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 225
Thanked: 27 Times
Default re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
Here's my latest Want One

Nofan Set A40

A completely passively-cooled PC case.

Two problems: it is only good for processors up to 100w (maybe less in our ambient temperatures) and eeeeek --- the price!
What's with you and quiet computing? If your computer was any quieter (just guessing), it'd start reducing ambient noise.
anku94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2011, 17:35   #2048
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Delhi
Posts: 236
Thanked: 129 Times
Default re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by devarshi84 View Post
The search is on for a used AGP card with DVI.
Shouldn't be too tough to find. nVidia 6 series onwards had DVI output.

Remember that some older GPUs do not accelerate HD video properly.

You need an amplifier of some sort, can't connect the speakers of the HTiB directly to the sound card.

Quote:
Here's my latest
Pricey. Thad, given where you live a bit of noise wouldn't hurt. After all - you have to have either the ceiling fan or the AC switched on. I doubt you'd be able to hear a moderately loud PC above that? I remember buying an AC in Chennai because it was too hot in December.
cranky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2011, 21:29   #2049
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,730
Thanked: 6,943 Times
Red face re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by anku94 View Post
What's with you and quiet computing? If your computer was any quieter (just guessing), it'd start reducing ambient noise.
A noise black hole? Wonderful idea!
Quote:
Thad, given where you live a bit of noise wouldn't hurt. After all - you have to have either the ceiling fan or the AC switched on. I doubt you'd be able to hear a moderately loud PC above that? I remember buying an AC in Chennai because it was too hot in December.
Oh yes, you are both right! No, just now, I can't hear my PC, as the AC is on.

At 2.00am on a December morning, when I will not have fan or AC on though, It'd be lovely not to be able to hear the computer.

Why?

Oh heck, I don't know... why do people here do some of the stuff to cars, that they do? We all need a hobby!

Last edited by Thad E Ginathom : 27th May 2011 at 21:32.
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2011, 07:54   #2050
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NH209
Posts: 1,607
Thanked: 700 Times
Default re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by anekho View Post

It should work right? Would changing the graphic card help improve the 'smoothness' of playback? Or Overclocking? What else can be done to the netbook? Even considering changing the hard disk to a smaller faster unit as I don't need more than 80GB MAX!
I dont see any reason why a dual N270 should underperform the single core N270. Downgrading to xp can help. Sometimes the OEM windows 7 is loaded with wares that hampers performance, so a fresh installation of windows 7 is also suggested.

I had the aspire one(9 inch) and it ran 720p videos smoothly!
ramzsys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2011, 15:09   #2051
BHPian
 
mav2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 564
Thanked: 118 Times
Default re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Thad...I suggest you go water cooled...and use some quality Scythe GT fans all around.
mav2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2011, 16:28   #2052
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,730
Thanked: 6,943 Times
Default re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Thanks mav2000, but the investment in the Noctua CPU cooler was considerable, so I'm sticking with that for the foreseeable future. I'd like to swap the antec cabinet fans with Noctua, but I couldn't get them. The change to the Noctua, with 140mm fans running at 600-1000 rpm, instead of the stock AMD, sometimes whining at 4000-plus rpm, along with being able to switch both antec (3-speed) fans to low has achieved all reasonable expectations --- the rest is just messing around
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2011, 19:49   #2053
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 2,175
Thanked: 128 Times
Default re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

My current desktop PC spec (thanks a lot to aaggoswami, reignogchaos, and aroy):
Basic system built in June 2009 but components added over time

Core i7 920
ASUS Sabertooth X58
RAM: DDR3 1333 Mhz RAM (10 GB)
Cases etc: all coolermaster cm690 advanced, hyper n620 cooler, and silent pro 700W PSU.
Nvidia 9800GT (pretty long in the tooth now but good enough for me)
DVD Writers
HDD: internal (5): incl. 2 caviar black of 2 TB, 1 caviar black of 1 TB, two Seagate Greens of 2TB each. External backups on 1-3 TB internal hard disks of 1 TB (in a transcend enclosure) through esata. No SSDs but cool enough for now. Somehow, greater than 1 TB hard disks do not work well in a Transcend esata enclosure.
Display: Eizo Foris FS2331

Guess this will do fine till IvyBridge/x58 successors hit the market during 2012 (Sandybridge is great but would spend on what is there during 2012).

Last edited by vasudeva : 29th May 2011 at 19:52.
vasudeva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2011, 22:11   #2054
Distinguished - BHPian
 
RavenAvi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Flying Around
Posts: 5,218
Thanked: 26,855 Times
Default re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

My current PC -

LG Flatron E2240 LED, (connected through DVI-D cable)

Core i3 processor @ 2.93 GHz,

Seagate 1 TB x 2, (I use one exclusively for storage)

Zion RAM 4GB x 2,

iBall cabinet with 3 internal fans,

Gigabyte G-55 motherboard,

2 Sony DVD-RW drives,

Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit,

Altec Lansing MX5021 2.1 speaker system,

Canon LBP 2900B Laser printer,

and Logitech's MK 250 wireless KB & mouse bundle.
RavenAvi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2011, 10:07   #2055
BHPian
 
rki2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 664
Thanked: 138 Times
Default re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Hi to all. I have a PC which is an assembled one. The configuration is:-
P4 2.4ghz,
intel motherboard,
samsung 80GB HD,
756 MB Ram,
LG 15" Monitor(i am not sure about the size. Please excuse),
creative speakers(basic),
HP Inkjet printer 3745 series,
LG DVD Rom,
1.44 FDD,
Wipro UPS 500,
Logitech keyboard and mouse.

Can anyone please give a resale value quote for the same.

Last edited by rki2007 : 21st June 2011 at 10:10.
rki2007 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding sub+amp to this configuration -> feasable? DCEite In-Car Entertainment 10 28th October 2010 01:12
Configuration For Multitasking PC MADMAX111 Gadgets, Computers & Software 19 27th March 2008 10:28
ICE For My Pajero... is this Configuration Ok ?? Tool In-Car Entertainment 52 30th January 2008 12:33
A Vehicle Configuration Information System Venkatesh.C Technical Stuff 11 20th September 2007 13:52
Configuration for Tata Safari lastmanstanding In-Car Entertainment 13 17th June 2006 10:29


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 10:04.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks