Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 21st September 2011, 18:46   #2086
BHPian
 
prateekm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mumbai & BLR
Posts: 755
Thanked: 307 Times
Default Re: hp ze5385us

Quote:
Originally Posted by animdas View Post
My HP Laptop (ze 5385us) is 8 years old now- although past 1 year it was in hibernation- after I had replaced it with a


...


What do you guys suggest?
8 year old means DDR1 RAM's I guess. That would be very expensive and even hard to get for laptops. Better get a new one.
prateekm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2011, 19:33   #2087
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 74
Thanked: 3 Times
Default Re: hp ze5385us

Quote:
Originally Posted by prateekm View Post
8 year old means DDR1 RAM's I guess. That would be very expensive and even hard to get for laptops. Better get a new one.
It says "512MB DDR SDRAM". Does it mean DDR1?

What is the type of memory available now- DDR2? What if I put DDR2 memory? Will it not be compatible to rest of the ... err.... bus etc?

Last edited by animdas : 21st September 2011 at 19:43. Reason: Other options
animdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2011, 20:19   #2088
BHPian
 
prateekm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mumbai & BLR
Posts: 755
Thanked: 307 Times
Default Re: hp ze5385us

Quote:
Originally Posted by animdas View Post
It says "512MB DDR SDRAM". Does it mean DDR1?

What is the type of memory available now- DDR2? What if I put DDR2 memory? Will it not be compatible to rest of the ... err.... bus etc?
Yes, it will be DDR1. The laptop won't be compatible with DDR2 memory. Now, in the market, DDR3 RAM is what all PC's/laptops are equipped with. And as a matter of fact, DDR3 RAM is cheaper than both, DDR1 and DDR2, at least for PC's.
prateekm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2011, 20:23   #2089
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

DDR1 RAM would be too expensive.

Instead purchase an SSD for 5k and use that instead of HDD. E.g.:

Kingston SV100S2-64G 64GB SSD

Or you can even remove the HDD and use a 32 GB XD Card in USB to boot and use that laptop.

That would cost 2.5k:

Flipkart.com: Transcend Memory Card 32 GB MicroSD 32GB Class 4: Memory Card
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2011, 20:49   #2090
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,600
Thanked: 6,686 Times
Default re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

My 7-yr-old Compaq laptop (Just rejuvenated with a new power section and power adapter for about Rs4,000) had its ram upgraded last year from its original 256K (can you believe?) to its maximum-supported 1Gb. It was done by a local shop with name-less memory, and it changed the machine from something where you waited for every keystroke into something quite usable. Can't remember the spec, but it would have been DDR-PREHISTORIC and it wasn't expensive.
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2011, 20:58   #2091
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 74
Thanked: 3 Times
Default re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
DDR1 RAM would be too expensive.

Instead purchase an SSD for 5k and use that instead of HDD.....

Or you can even remove the HDD and use a 32 GB XD Card in USB to boot and use that laptop.
....
Remove HDD altogether? But what about RAM? I still have to use/replace DDR1 RAM only?

Quote:
Originally Posted by prateekm View Post
Yes, it will be DDR1. The laptop won't be compatible with DDR2 memory. Now, in the market, DDR3 RAM is what all PC's/laptops are equipped with. And as a matter of fact, DDR3 RAM is cheaper than both, DDR1 and DDR2, at least for PC's.
Oops

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
My 7-yr-old Compaq laptop (Just rejuvenated with a new power section and power adapter ......
Its very encouraging! Who did it for you? Local shop?
animdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2011, 23:33   #2092
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by animdas View Post
Remove HDD altogether? But what about RAM? I still have to use/replace DDR1 RAM only?
If system runs short of RAM, it uses HDD as RAM (virtual memory).

Thats why if you use a fast HDD (Like SSD or XD Card via USB) you will get better performance. Of course not as good as adding more RAM, but close.

And you have to replace HDD anyways, so you can get SSD by spending 2k more.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2011, 23:38   #2093
Senior - BHPian
 
kaushik_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,061
Thanked: 147 Times
Default re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by creative420 View Post
Hey guys. I'm planning to buy my brother a good 22-24" monitor. He's a graphic designer and his current monitor is no good (some AOC 18"). What do you guys suggest? Something which'll be awesome for the graphic designers? Display true colours etc.
You've not mentioned the budget. If your brother is on a budget then go for the Dell U2311H. Should cost you around 13.5k (price keeps on changing). I'm using this monitor for my photography related works and I don't think there is anything else at this price point which can beat this monitor.
If the budget is more than you've so many other options.
kaushik_s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2011, 03:27   #2094
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 413
Thanked: 161 Times
Default re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaushik_s View Post
You've not mentioned the budget. If your brother is on a budget then go for the Dell U2311H. Should cost you around 13.5k (price keeps on changing). I'm using this monitor for my photography related works and I don't think there is anything else at this price point which can beat this monitor.
If the budget is more than you've so many other options.
You're talking about the UltraSharp range only right? I'm getting him a Dell Monitor only, but Ultrasharp. Monies I could spend is about 15K. Thanks!
creative420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2011, 10:16   #2095
Senior - BHPian
 
SunnyBoi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mysore / B'lore
Posts: 1,445
Thanked: 2,156 Times
Default re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by creative420 View Post
Hey guys. I'm planning to buy my brother a good 22-24" monitor. He's a graphic designer and his current monitor is no good (some AOC 18"). What do you guys suggest? Something which'll be awesome for the graphic designers? Display true colours etc.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaushik_s View Post
You've not mentioned the budget. If your brother is on a budget then go for the Dell U2311H. Should cost you around 13.5k (price keeps on changing). I'm using this monitor for my photography related works and I don't think there is anything else at this price point which can beat this monitor.
If the budget is more than you've so many other options.
Agree, I'm a Dell U2311 user, very happy with the color reproduction of the monitor.
SunnyBoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2011, 10:49   #2096
BHPian
 
yogi1771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 631
Thanked: 14 Times
Default re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Guys any idea how the ASUS PA238Q monitor is,specs look good though a bit costly than the Dell U2311h.
ASUSTeK Computer Inc. - Display- ASUS PA238Q
yogi1771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2011, 13:34   #2097
Senior - BHPian
 
kaushik_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,061
Thanked: 147 Times
Default re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by creative420 View Post
You're talking about the UltraSharp range only right? I'm getting him a Dell Monitor only, but Ultrasharp. Monies I could spend is about 15K. Thanks!
Yes, it's an Ultrasharp model. This is an IPS panel and probably the only IPS panel (it's e-IPS) to be available at that price range at this size. The price might vary from 13.5-14k(including tax and with warranty).
They also have another IPS panel at 22inch which is called 2211H and which is very similar in performance compared to 2311H, but the price difference is not much(2k approx) and for that difference I would choose 2311H anyday.
BTW, there is another new model of this panel, i.e. U2312HM. This is an LED backlit panel (edge-lit). Not sure about the price point of this panel but I guess it might be priced same or even cheaper.

Quote:
Originally Posted by yogi1771 View Post
Guys any idea how the ASUS PA238Q monitor is,specs look good though a bit costly than the Dell U2311h.
ASUSTeK Computer Inc. - Display- ASUS PA238Q
On an outset it looks nice. How much is this panel is priced at? Gotta check for some reviews of this panel too.

Last edited by kaushik_s : 22nd September 2011 at 13:37.
kaushik_s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2011, 14:09   #2098
BHPian
 
2500cc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 660
Thanked: 228 Times
Default re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
If system runs short of RAM, it uses HDD as RAM (virtual memory).

Thats why if you use a fast HDD (Like SSD or XD Card via USB) you will get better performance. Of course not as good as adding more RAM, but close.

And you have to replace HDD anyways, so you can get SSD by spending 2k more.
OS always uses the HDD for paging purpose and not as a virtual memory.

The applications in the foreground/which are being currently processed by the CPU are kept on RAM for the faster access by the CPU. Once the processing is completed or when the application becomes idle, it is paged out to the pagefile (a portion of HDD, C:\pagefile.sys).

Virtual memory is a logical representation of the memory table structure and no where related to any physical components (HDD, RAM).

Sorry for going OT.

Cheers,
Rajesh

Last edited by 2500cc : 22nd September 2011 at 14:11.
2500cc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2011, 14:40   #2099
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Where does this pagefile reside, In HDD right?

If a system has 256MB RAM and HDD has 2 GB free space, OS can combine these two and present 2.25 GB as RAM to Apps.

And if HDD is SSD, this pagefile becomes fast too.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2011, 14:54   #2100
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,513 Times
Default re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

^ i think you're right. however, prolonged usage can cause severe disk thrashing and eventually end in hard drive failure; not sure about the SSDs though.
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding sub+amp to this configuration -> feasable? DCEite In-Car Entertainment 10 28th October 2010 01:12
Configuration For Multitasking PC MADMAX111 Gadgets, Computers & Software 19 27th March 2008 10:28
ICE For My Pajero... is this Configuration Ok ?? Tool In-Car Entertainment 52 30th January 2008 12:33
A Vehicle Configuration Information System Venkatesh.C Technical Stuff 11 20th September 2007 13:52
Configuration for Tata Safari lastmanstanding In-Car Entertainment 13 17th June 2006 10:29


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 00:42.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks