Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 20th August 2013, 15:27   #2656
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,311
Thanked: 22,353 Times
Default Re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Well, I decided to indulge

2x128 GB Samsung 840 Pro SSDs in RAID 0 coming up! Hopefully I'll get the time to install them soon.

The Computer & Configuration Thread-ssd-img_20130814_195611.jpg

cya
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2013, 15:48   #2657
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,455
Thanked: 3,579 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
I bailed out of the MS plane at XP, no nothing about the subsequent versions, and have zero enthusiasm to change that <Blush>, but I think 7 is not too foreign. My wife will probably get to grips with it long before I do.
IMO, Win7 is the best OS from MS since WinXP. A very stable platform.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
Well, I decided to indulge
Building a high availability data center at home?
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2013, 17:06   #2658
BHPian
 
babhishek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: KOLKATA
Posts: 315
Thanked: 14 Times
Default Re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

What were the damages for the 2 ssd's?
babhishek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2013, 17:33   #2659
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,311
Thanked: 22,353 Times
Default Re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by IronH4WK View Post
Building a high availability data center at home?
Yeah, my Crucial M4s in RAID 0 just weren't fast enough

(Actually i got scared and switched out of RAID 0 with the M4s a few months back - but then that extra 1.5 seconds whilst opening Photoshop really started to get on my nerves!! )

Quote:
Originally Posted by babhishek View Post
What were the damages for the 2 ssd's?
$130 each on Amazon. Had someone bring them down from the USA.

cya
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2013, 09:20   #2660
BHPian
 
Chipz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Trivandrum, Thrissur
Posts: 159
Thanked: 5 Times
Default Re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

hi, One of my friend wanted to assemble a system. He was studying animation. Can anyone direct me to a good gigabyte motherboard and processor. He has a total budget of about 35 k for the whole system.

I had previously brought gigabyte ma785us2h motherboard, by bhpian's recommendation about 3 years ago, and it is just piece of mind for me. so once again I am here for your recommendation. Thanks for any help.
Chipz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2013, 22:49   #2661
BHPian
 
rsjaurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Batala
Posts: 775
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Guys I bought a microtek ups 2 years ago and about couple of weeks ago it started giving no back up at all.
When I took it to computer hardware shop that guy told me that as the batteries are swollen ups itself has gone kaput and I need to repair it along with installing brand new batteries. And if I do not repair it then it will swell the new batteries and swollen batteries carry no warranty. Is it true?

Last edited by rsjaurr : 23rd August 2013 at 22:50.
rsjaurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2013, 10:48   #2662
BHPian
 
Chipz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Trivandrum, Thrissur
Posts: 159
Thanked: 5 Times
Default Re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by rsjaurr View Post
Guys I bought a microtek ups 2 years ago and about couple of weeks ago it started giving no back up at all.
When I took it to computer hardware shop that guy told me that as the batteries are swollen ups itself has gone kaput and I need to repair it along with installing brand new batteries. And if I do not repair it then it will swell the new batteries and swollen batteries carry no warranty. Is it true?

Yes, battery swell due to high charging voltage. First rectify the charger, then only change new battery, or else it will also bulge.
Chipz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2013, 13:55   #2663
BHPian
 
rsjaurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Batala
Posts: 775
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chipz View Post

Yes, battery swell due to high charging voltage. First rectify the charger, then only change new battery, or else it will also bulge.
So do you think buying new ups makes more sense than getting it repaired coz new batteries would cost 1500 and repair anything close to 500. Even worse repair may not be successful.

OTOH new ups would only cost me between 1800-2150 ( microtek to APC).
rsjaurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2013, 18:29   #2664
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Delhi
Posts: 2,121
Thanked: 992 Times
Default Re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by rsjaurr View Post
So do you think buying new ups makes more sense than getting it repaired coz new batteries would cost 1500 and repair anything close to 500. Even worse repair may not be successful.

OTOH new ups would only cost me between 1800-2150 ( microtek to APC).
As per your breakup the UPS costs between 300 and 650, so there is no value in repairing it.
Aroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2013, 20:40   #2665
BHPian
 
k_nitin_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dubai,Hyderabad
Posts: 470
Thanked: 74 Times
Default Re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
Our ten-year-old Compaq laptop is getting less and less reliable. My preferred make would be Lenovo, and I'd be looking for a model that comes with Windows 7. Will Office 2000 run on W7?
Lenovo has the Ideapad series, which is popular for low costs in some parts of the world, but in India, Sony's Vaio is just as economical. If you have a large enough budget, the Toshiba Satellite U925T Ultrabook convertible is definitely something to look at - it has a slide-and-tilt screen to turn it from a tablet to a laptop and back. The Lenovo Ideapad Yoga is a different approach to tablet-laptop convertibles where you flip the screen over 360 degrees - yes, that means the keyboard will be facing outward but it is automatically turned off when you turn it past 180 degrees.

Windows 8 is standard on all new computers, with Windows 8.1 expected in the not too distant future (it would be a free upgrade for existing Windows 8 users). You would most likely need a new copy of MS Office, but you can get a starter edition of MS Word and MS Excel on some computers. In MS Word starter edition, you don't have the ability to create comments and use track changes, whereas in MS Excel starter edition, some of the advanced features have been removed.
k_nitin_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2013, 20:48   #2666
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,787
Thanked: 7,108 Times
Default Re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Thank you. I like the sound of the 'yoga' for loungin on the sofa, but as my posture is bad enough at the desk it is probably a bad idea --- and it is supposed to be for Mrs G anyway!

I'm still favouring Lenovo, but, anyway, the purchase is postponed. Postponed for how long? One day soon, that old Compaq is not going to boot even! Might be tomorrow...

Lenovo's various ranges are baffling, but it is the Thinkpad that is the sturdy one, I think? The one that still has a bit of the old IBM feel about it?
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2013, 18:40   #2667
BHPian
 
Chipz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Trivandrum, Thrissur
Posts: 159
Thanked: 5 Times
Default Re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Has anyone tried ECS motherboards. They come in micro atx form. I heard some good review online and offline. One of my friend brought ECS H61H2-M17 (for 2800/-), and is happy with the performance, but it is for intel. I am an AMD fan, so wanted a MB for AMD.

Can anyone Suggest me a good ecs mb and amd processor. Thanks
Chipz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2013, 09:44   #2668
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 88
Thanked: 3 Times
Default Re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Friends,

I have a requirement for a PC/Workstation setup with atleast 32 GB RAM. What are my options and speculated budget?

I would really appreciate feedback, comments and recommendations.

Thanks,
skartik2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2013, 11:33   #2669
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Delhi
Posts: 2,121
Thanked: 992 Times
Default Re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by skartik2 View Post
Friends,

I have a requirement for a PC/Workstation setup with atleast 32 GB RAM. What are my options and speculated budget?

I would really appreciate feedback, comments and recommendations.

Thanks,
I have a high end (then) system
. Tyan MB, with 16 ECC RAM Slots : 35K
. 8GB RAM in 4 slots (12 slots free) : 8K
. 2 x Xeon 4 core processors : 50K
. 1 x ATI Radeon 6800 Graphics card with 1GB RAM : 15K
. 2 x 24" (1920 x 1200) LG Monitors, 1 x 1280 x 1024 BenQ monitor) : 60K
. 6 HDD, 1 DVD writer : ~ 30K
. 1 x 4 drive hot plug cage for HDD : 10k
. High end Cabinet with 1000W PS : 12K

You have to decide how long you want to keep the system. My one is more than 4 years old and still rocks.

If you going to do GIS and other graphics oriented work with reasonable amount of computations then a single CPU with high end graphics card will do, else a two CPU machine is better.

Please note
. You will need a good server grade cabinet with 1000W PS. The cabinet should have at least 5 fans MB controlled. Most of the problems with high end computers is with the PS.
. For high end computing you are better off with Xeon, and with 6 & 8 core processors you will have plenty of horse power if you are into high performance computing - CFD, Simulation etc.

Study these for further details
http://www.intel.in/content/www/in/e...ison-tool.html
http://www.tyan.com/tech/product_mat...herboards.html
http://www.intel.in/content/www/in/e...is-p4000m.html
Aroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2013, 23:26   #2670
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 88
Thanked: 3 Times
Default Re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aroy View Post
I have a high end (then) system
. Tyan MB, with 16 ECC RAM Slots : 35K
. 8GB RAM in 4 slots (12 slots free) : 8K
. 2 x Xeon 4 core processors : 50K
. 1 x ATI Radeon 6800 Graphics card with 1GB RAM : 15K
. 2 x 24" (1920 x 1200) LG Monitors, 1 x 1280 x 1024 BenQ monitor) : 60K
. 6 HDD, 1 DVD writer : ~ 30K
. 1 x 4 drive hot plug cage for HDD : 10k
. High end Cabinet with 1000W PS : 12K

You have to decide how long you want to keep the system. My one is more than 4 years old and still rocks.

If you going to do GIS and other graphics oriented work with reasonable amount of computations then a single CPU with high end graphics card will do, else a two CPU machine is better.

Please note
. You will need a good server grade cabinet with 1000W PS. The cabinet should have at least 5 fans MB controlled. Most of the problems with high end computers is with the PS.
. For high end computing you are better off with Xeon, and with 6 & 8 core processors you will have plenty of horse power if you are into high performance computing - CFD, Simulation etc.

Study these for further details
http://www.intel.in/content/www/in/e...ison-tool.html
http://www.tyan.com/tech/product_mat...herboards.html
http://www.intel.in/content/www/in/e...is-p4000m.html
Thanks ARoy.

That is a great system you have there.

The CAD softwares are cpu license based and so I cannot use more than 1 core in a quad-core cpu. Also, I do not have any data if ECC based RAM will provide me with any benefits. Would you know anything about that.

How is service for Tyan? I am in Gujarat and have not heard or seen any service centers for Tyan. I will go through the other links now.
skartik2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding sub+amp to this configuration -> feasable? DCEite In-Car Entertainment 10 28th October 2010 01:12
Configuration For Multitasking PC MADMAX111 Gadgets, Computers & Software 19 27th March 2008 10:28
ICE For My Pajero... is this Configuration Ok ?? Tool In-Car Entertainment 52 30th January 2008 12:33
A Vehicle Configuration Information System Venkatesh.C Technical Stuff 11 20th September 2007 13:52
Configuration for Tata Safari lastmanstanding In-Car Entertainment 13 17th June 2006 10:29


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 14:14.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks