Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26th November 2006, 11:44   #256
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Nikhilb2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 4,661
Thanked: 3,121 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by speedzak

Please dont turn this into another AMD-Intel boxing ring. There're plenty of others already dedicated to that on the internet.
I am not.... I am not a fanboy. I bought an AMD 64 2 years back when AMD was the king of the hill....

But right now, AMD is no match for C2D. The performance of the Intels are superb.

@Mugen --- Upto you dude..... go ahead and buy an AMD if you want. It wont be bad or anything but you can definitely get a better setup for that money.

Check out the reviews of C2D on the net. Anandtech, tomshardware, xbit labs...... they will prove what I am saying.

The whole L1 cache and L2 cache doesnt mean a damn thing.

Where was 200mph when Intel had 2MB L2 cache on the Prescotts ?? They were getting thrashed by AMD 64s at that time. L2 cache doesnt do much to the performance if the basic architecture is screwed up.

AMD 64 isnt as bad now as what Prescott was, but why settle for less ??
Nikhilb2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2006, 13:09   #257
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: new delhi
Posts: 167
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Model Brand AMD Series Athlon 64 X2 Model ADA3800CUBOX CPU Socket Type CPU Socket Type Socket AM2 Tech Spec Core Windsor Multi-Core Dual-Core Name Athlon 64 X2 3800+ Operating Frequency 2.0GHz HT 2000MHz L1 Cache 128KB+128KB L2 Cache 2 x 512KB Process Type 90 nm Vista Ready Yes 64 bit Support Yes Hyper-Transport Support Yes Virtualization Technology Support Yes Multimedia Instruction MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3, 3DNOW! Professional Voltage 1.30 V/1.35 V Cooling Device Heatsink and Fan included


Model Brand Intel Series Core 2 Duo Model BX80557E6300 CPU Socket Type CPU Socket Type LGA 775 Tech Spec Core Conroe Multi-Core Dual-Core Name Core 2 Duo E6300 Operating Frequency 1.86GHz FSB 1066MHz L1 Cache 32KB+32KB L2 Cache 2M sharing Process Type 65 nm Vista Ready Yes 64 bit Support Yes Hyper-Threading Support No Virtualization Technology Support Yes Multimedia Instruction MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSE4, EM64T Voltage 0.850V-1.3525V Cooling Device Heatsink and Fan included

dude the two compared AMD is a eually good product, i dont want to run into arguments and neither am i sales man of amd . nor a AMD fan boy. i have both intel and amd at my place. infact even at the office i have a amd n intel though that amd was a athlon xp which sucked bug time and that time intel was a better product but now somewere in the middle amd has become good and one has to agree.. neither of the two companies are perfect and its just that some things are better here and some are better there.

the amd 3800+ on a am2 socket will give him a cheap and good buy , both the pcs do well , and the difference is very less , negligible at some places intel would out perform and at some amd would but for the use its been asked for guessed the amd was a good buy as it was cheaper and good for a non hardcore gamer as he mentioned.

the amd setup will be like a VFM option as mugen had asked for, had he been a hardcore gamer i would have asked him to for a e6300 over clock it to 2.4 ghz or something and his life would have been gamin !!!! but it does not seem so that he will be doing this and it will be a pc for more day to day activies and the usual NFS gamin or a quake 4 or something. which i feel the AMD handles well enough. i never said anything about in my post as to AMD kicksass of INTEL or amd runs better... but just countered your statement which seemed like i had compared a civic to a optra , were as it should be like a corolla and civic comparison. were intel being the civic.

anyways happy pc buyin..
200mph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2006, 20:44   #258
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gujarat 03
Posts: 1,302
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

All Right Guys,

Thanks for your inputs.
I will compare the prizes and will have a look at forums given by nikhil then i will buy that.

Thanks,
Mugen_Power.
Mugen_Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2006, 22:54   #259
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Nikhilb2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 4,661
Thanked: 3,121 Times
Default

Dont have a look at the forums.

Have a look at the reviews section where hardware is reviewed by professionals. It is hard to argue with pure numbers and stats
Nikhilb2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2006, 11:35   #260
Senior - BHPian
 
black12rr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ridin earth now
Posts: 1,259
Thanked: 271 Times
Default

I am looking for MSI P75X Platinum Power Up Edition - mother board ,
Does any one know how much is this in bangalore ? ppl from others cities please quote the price if u have come across this board .
black12rr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2006, 03:48   #261
BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North America
Posts: 960
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Do any of you guy have the energy efficient AMD series which run at 65 and 35 watts. Those are super cool chips but are more expensive than the 89W ones.
sujaylahiri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2006, 21:20   #262
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gujarat 03
Posts: 1,302
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Need final advise about my desktop setup.

Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 - 9200rs.
Asus 946 - 5300
Kingston 512x2 - 5800
Nvidia 7300gt 256 Mb - 6200
Sony Dvd Writer - 2400
Samsung 17" LCD for 11300 or Asus 17'' LCD for 13200 ??
200GB Seagate
iBall 450 volts/watts Cabinet
Logitech G7 - 5700.

It comes to approx 45K and already crossed budget.

Mugen.
Mugen_Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2006, 23:21   #263
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 - 9200rs. (ok)
Asus 946 - 5300(ok)
Kingston 512x2 - 5800 (ok)
Nvidia 7300gt 256 Mb - 6200 (never waste of money, go for atleast 7600 gt comes for 9500)
Sony Dvd Writer - 2400 (avalable for 2000)
Samsung 17" LCD for 11300 or Asus 17'' LCD for 13200 ?? (go for samsung)
200GB Seagate (ok)
iBall 450 volts/watts Cabinet (go for this cabinet avalable for 2k, good roomy interior and 2 two fans and go for cooler master 380 watts psu for 1k to keep the system stable)
Cooler Master RC-330 Elite 330

Logitech G7 - 5700. (it is good to have it but this money can be used at other place like graphic card)


final could be like this

Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 - (9200)
Asus 946 - (5300)
Kingston 512 x 2 - (5800)
7600 gt ( 9500)
Sony Dvd Writer -(2000)
Samsung 17" LCD (11300)
200GB Seagate (3300)
cabinet and psu (3000)
Logitech simple usb mouse - (700)

net comes to 50k looks like a good config.....
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2006, 23:36   #264
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Nikhilb2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 4,661
Thanked: 3,121 Times
Default

Please please please dont skimp on the PSU.

Even if it goes above you budget, it is money well spent. I wont keep saying this, but I will feel really bad if your comp goes kaput because of "high quality" iball/Mercury Power supplies.

Please go for a minimum of Powersafe 500 watts..... Dont skimp on power supply. Yu are buying such a nice computer.....dont skimp on PSU.

And G7 isnt necessary. G5 is corded and much cheaper. And unless you are a pro gamer, you dont need such expensive mice.

If you like playing Quake, CS, then I suggest an MX 518 for abt 2-3K....superb mouse and extremely good value for money.

Also, try to buy the Genius Ergo 525 laser mouse. DONT GO FOR THE IBALL PRECISE LASER MOUSE.
Nikhilb2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2006, 23:45   #265
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: new delhi
Posts: 167
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

here this will help u on prices


Computer Price List - Hardware Peripherals

Last edited by 200mph : 30th November 2006 at 23:51.
200mph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2006, 23:49   #266
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikhilb2008 View Post
Please go for a minimum of Powersafe 500 watts..... Dont skimp on power supply. Yu are buying such a nice computer.....dont skimp on PSU.

agreed 100% go for a good power supply not those frontech , techcom and iball......go for good brands like antec , cooler master

and 380 watts is more than enough for a single cpu single hdd and single gfx card setup....
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2006, 23:58   #267
BHPian
 
mohit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Toronto / Kurukshetra
Posts: 640
Thanked: 119 Times
Default

Quote:
Please go for a minimum of Powersafe 500 watts
I ran a Powersafe 400W PSU for a couple of years and it was very stable... but the downside was that it was very noisy. The fans would drive me crazy and I had to disconnect my case fan to make things a little more bearable. If LBM says that he can get a CoolerMaster PSU for 1K, I say go for it.. The powersafe PSU was something like 1.5K.

I am now running an Antec PSU in an Antec case and am very happy. The case is double the weight of my earlier one and the PSU is unbelievably quite!
mohit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2006, 00:07   #268
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

right now I am running all this stuff

amd 3800 X2 dual core
8800 nvidia display card
4 HDD in RAID 0
3 case fans
liteon DVD
external usb modem
etc....

on a antec 450 watts with no problem.....

if one has a doubt in one mind one can use a power calculater in the link provided here...

eXtreme Power Supply Calculator - What Power Supply Do I Need

Last edited by low_bass_makker : 1st December 2006 at 00:13.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2006, 00:34   #269
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gujarat 03
Posts: 1,302
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Thanks,

i will add another hdd later so antec 380 watts psu will be fine enough ?

200mph, thanks for the prizes but i am not able to get e6300 @ 8300 . rest prizes are fine.

Asus 946 is fine ? i cant find link for the details of this mobo. can any one plz ?

Thanks,
Mugen.
Mugen_Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2006, 00:51   #270
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: new delhi
Posts: 167
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

hey man i will see if i can help u out there... i will be out dvd writer shoppin for my desktop tomorrow morning that time will c if the same is available . the 7300 gt prices were high as far as i remember to what you mentioned i guess u should be able to get the same a lill more cheaper from what price you have quoted. man i got no idea of the ASUS 946 is not there on the asus website are u sure of the model number .. may be it is a INTEL 946 ??


256 MB NVIDIA GF 6200TC Rs2100
256 MB NVIDIA GF 7300 GS DDR3 Rs3000
256 MB NVIDIA GF 6600 DDR2 Rs3800
256 MB ATI RADEON X-700 Rs4900
256 MB NVIDIA GF 7300 GT DDR3 Rs4700 - u mentioned it to be for like 6k +
256 MB NVIDIA GF 7600 GS DDR3 Rs5800
256 MB NVIDIA GF 6600 GT DDR3 Rs6000
256 MB NVIDIA GF 7600 GT DDR3 Rs9000
256 MB NVIDIA GF 7900 GS DDR3 Rs14500

Last edited by 200mph : 1st December 2006 at 00:56.
200mph is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding sub+amp to this configuration -> feasable? DCEite In-Car Entertainment 10 28th October 2010 01:12
Configuration For Multitasking PC MADMAX111 Gadgets, Computers & Software 19 27th March 2008 10:28
ICE For My Pajero... is this Configuration Ok ?? Tool In-Car Entertainment 52 30th January 2008 12:33
A Vehicle Configuration Information System Venkatesh.C Technical Stuff 11 20th September 2007 13:52
Configuration for Tata Safari lastmanstanding In-Car Entertainment 13 17th June 2006 10:29


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 07:20.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks