Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 1st December 2006, 00:54   #271
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: new delhi
Posts: 167
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Intel® Desktop Board D946GZAB Overview check this out man.. i think the 946 is this, could not find anything on the asus website .
200mph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2006, 12:14   #272
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 200mph View Post
if it is the above MB then there is no PCI-x slot......no extra display can be fixed.....

check out the board which is avalable locally .... and give us the model number and then we can all suggest that it is ok or not.....
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2006, 23:18   #273
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gujarat 03
Posts: 1,302
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

After the help of Bhpians i ordered desktop and will be ready by tuesday.

Intel Core 2 Duo E6300.
Asus P5LD2VMSE Mobo.
Kingston 512x2 DDR2 Ram.
Samsung 740N 17'' TFT/LCD Panel.
Nvidia 7600gt 256 MB Graphics card.
Cooler Master Elite 330 Cabinet.
Cooler Master PSU.
Sony 16x Dual Layer Dvd Writer.
TVS Keyboard.
Logitech Usb Scroll Optical Mice.
200 GB Seagate HDD.

Cheers,
Mugen_Power.
Mugen_Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2006, 01:36   #274
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

this a good comparison of intel and amp cpu..........

(taken from this website..X-bit labs - Articles - Contemporary Dual-Core Desktop Processors Shootout (page 12) )

as we can see that the c2d6300 is comparable to amd X2 4200+ and the c2d 6400 with the amd X2 5000+ ......these are the mainstream processor one can choose majorly from this segemet only....

Last edited by low_bass_makker : 3rd December 2006 at 01:37.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2006, 21:27   #275
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hyd
Posts: 252
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
this a good comparison of intel and amp cpu..........

(taken from this website..X-bit labs - Articles - Contemporary Dual-Core Desktop Processors Shootout (page 12) )

as we can see that the c2d6300 is comparable to amd X2 4200+ and the c2d 6400 with the amd X2 5000+ ......these are the mainstream processor one can choose majorly from this segemet only....
These results are tested on applications or gaming?
nosfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2006, 21:47   #276
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Nikhilb2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 4,819
Thanked: 4,721 Times
Default

I think it is a sum or average of everything...not sure though.
Nikhilb2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2006, 22:15   #277
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

ya it is the sum of all the test ......
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2006, 00:47   #278
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: new delhi
Posts: 167
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mugen_Power View Post
After the help of Bhpians i ordered desktop and will be ready by tuesday.

Intel Core 2 Duo E6300.
Asus P5LD2VMSE Mobo.
Kingston 512x2 DDR2 Ram.
Samsung 740N 17'' TFT/LCD Panel.
Nvidia 7600gt 256 MB Graphics card.
Cooler Master Elite 330 Cabinet.
Cooler Master PSU.
Sony 16x Dual Layer Dvd Writer.
TVS Keyboard.
Logitech Usb Scroll Optical Mice.
200 GB Seagate HDD.

Cheers,
Mugen_Power.

hey man your pc ready ??? i think this post of yours should be from this pc... anyways for what prices did you finally get the things???
200mph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2006, 02:01   #279
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gujarat 03
Posts: 1,302
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 200mph View Post
hey man your pc ready ??? i think this post of yours should be from this pc... anyways for what prices did you finally get the things???
Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 - 9200rs.
Asus P5LD2VMSE - 5300
Kingston 512x2 - 5800
Nvidia 7600gt 256 Mb - 10500
Sony Dvd Writer - 2400.(Black)
Samsung 17" LCD for 11300.(Black)
200GB Seagate
Cooler Master Elite 330 With 380 Watts Psu.(Black)
Logitech Scroll Usb Optical Mouse. (Black)

It got ready by today noon, right now posting from the Desktop.
Planning to add another HDD. so which should i have to buy ? Sata or Ide ? What is the difference ?

Thanks..
Mugen_Power.

Last edited by Mugen_Power : 6th December 2006 at 02:03.
Mugen_Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2006, 11:14   #280
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

if earlier you have a sata HDD then add a sata one of same size and make it a raid config...it will really enhance the performance.....
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2006, 11:23   #281
BANNED
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: India
Posts: 4,346
Thanked: 16 Times
Default


Get a same harddrive as the one you have now. It will make easy for a raid setup.
I've done raid 0, believe me, it's blazing fast!
Windows XP installation took less than 15mins. And Carbon took 7-8mins.
speedzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2006, 12:01   #282
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: new delhi
Posts: 167
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

ya man go in for the same HDD , anyways you think you will be needing one ? i mean a DVD writer is already there to do the job get in some good blank DVD media, verbatim , sony , tdk if you happen to get a good deal.

or else go in for moser baer as they are flooded in the market , not as good as the ones above but does the job just fine.

Last edited by 200mph : 6th December 2006 at 12:03.
200mph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2006, 14:36   #283
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Nikhilb2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 4,819
Thanked: 4,721 Times
Default

BUT a RAID 0 is easily susceptible to HDD faiilures..... I dont know the reason but tons and tons of RAID 0 setups have failed with both HDDs dying...

If you want to do RAID 0, make sure you take daily backups of critical data....
Nikhilb2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2006, 14:46   #284
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

p
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedzak View Post

Get a same harddrive as the one you have now. It will make easy for a raid setup.
I've done raid 0, believe me, it's blazing fast!
Windows XP installation took less than 15mins. And Carbon took 7-8mins.
mine xp install took 8-10 mins....as I have installed 4 hdd in a RAID 0......



Last edited by low_bass_makker : 6th December 2006 at 14:50.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2006, 00:24   #285
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gujarat 03
Posts: 1,302
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Right now i have 1 200 GB Seagate Ide.
Asus P5LD2VMSE has only one IDE port where i have added 1 hdd and 1 dvd drive, but this mobo has 4 ports to add sata hdd.

what is raid 0 ? if i will change my hdd to sata 200 or 320 gb will it improve performance ?

Mugen.
Mugen_Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding sub+amp to this configuration -> feasable? DCEite In-Car Entertainment 10 28th October 2010 01:12
Configuration For Multitasking PC MADMAX111 Gadgets, Computers & Software 19 27th March 2008 10:28
ICE For My Pajero... is this Configuration Ok ?? Tool In-Car Entertainment 52 30th January 2008 12:33
A Vehicle Configuration Information System Venkatesh.C Technical Stuff 11 20th September 2007 13:52
Configuration for Tata Safari lastmanstanding In-Car Entertainment 13 17th June 2006 10:29


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 02:53.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks