Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 8th October 2014, 23:47   #2851
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,374
Thanked: 315 Times
Default Re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geo_Ipe View Post
My question - can I build a PC with a ~24" monitor which can double up as a TV?? If so, can someone suggest brands/models??
Since now almost TV is digital (via satellite / cable set top box), all you need is a set top box that has HDMI out.

All LED monitors would have DVI port that can be connected to hdmi post of Set top box. You can get a pair of desktop speakers for sound.

Quite a few monitors have hdmi port + speakers, so they will do the job of TV too.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2014, 10:35   #2852
BHPian
 
Geo_Ipe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vellore
Posts: 392
Thanked: 353 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
Since now almost TV is digital (via satellite / cable set top box), all you need is a set top box that has HDMI out.
Do TATA Sky boxes have an HDMI out??

Plus, what is a TV tuner card?
Geo_Ipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2014, 10:43   #2853
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,453
Thanked: 3,575 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geo_Ipe View Post
Do TATA Sky boxes have an HDMI out??

Plus, what is a TV tuner card?

The HD and HD+ have HDMI out.
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2014, 11:52   #2854
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: KL-05/07, TN-23
Posts: 46
Thanked: 75 Times
Default

TV tuner card is a piece of technology that has become quite redundant in this age of digital TV.
It's a hardware add on in PC where input could be received from the cable TV and watched on a pc monitor. With set top box an hdmi connection to monitor is much easier and cheaper.

Thanks
Sunny
Autodoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2014, 07:17   #2855
BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 312
Thanked: 858 Times
Default Re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Two wifi related mysteries I have never been able to understand

1. Why do most entry level / average motherboards not come with built-in wifi? The components themselves are tiny and cost very little. Given how ubiquitous wifi is, it's a shame that a USB adapter / PCI card has to be bought separately. [In 2007 I bought a budget ASUS motherboard with built in wifi - albeit with an external antenna, but this time when I went shopping I found nothing in the budget range]

2. Why do the internal wifi adaptor cards not come in antenna-less flavours. There's not a single one in the market which is baffling as laptops do just fine with the non-antennae ones. It's inconvenient to have an antennae at the back of the cabinet where there's a mesh of crisscrossing wires. The USB dongles are also problematic as they block a port and also occupy a lot of volume on the outside.
Kumar R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2014, 14:15   #2856
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,740
Thanked: 6,963 Times
Default Re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

And now for a really, really stupid question <Blush>

Thing is, I have built my own for the last couple of PCs, and before that, every PC or laptop I bought for work (dozens) or home had an MS Windows OS loaded on it.

Now I am looking at laptops, and I see "DOS" listed as the operating system for some of them. For instance. So... I turn it on and get a "C\: >" prompt that I knew and hated a few decades ago? And then load separately-sourced Windows or Linux?
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2014, 14:26   #2857
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,453
Thanked: 3,575 Times
Default Re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
And now for a really, really stupid question <Blush>

Thing is, I have built my own for the last couple of PCs, and before that, every PC or laptop I bought for work (dozens) or home had an MS Windows OS loaded on it.

Now I am looking at laptops, and I see "DOS" listed as the operating system for some of them. For instance. So... I turn it on and get a "C\: >" prompt that I knew and hated a few decades ago? And then load separately-sourced Windows or Linux?
what you get with such deals is a OSless (almost) system, which basically means you get to find out if your system works, but if you wanna do amazing things with it, install an OS
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2014, 14:26   #2858
Senior - BHPian
 
reignofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,206
Thanked: 1,152 Times
Default Re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
And now for a really, really stupid question <Blush>

Thing is, I have built my own for the last couple of PCs, and before that, every PC or laptop I bought for work (dozens) or home had an MS Windows OS loaded on it.

Now I am looking at laptops, and I see "DOS" listed as the operating system for some of them. For instance. So... I turn it on and get a "C\: >" prompt that I knew and hated a few decades ago? And then load separately-sourced Windows or Linux?
Yep they come preloaded with some version of freedos i.e. no OS basically.
reignofchaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2014, 15:23   #2859
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,261
Thanked: 22,230 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kumar R View Post
Two wifi related mysteries I have never been able to understand
My guess: Radio interference and perhaps additional FCC certification costs?

A wifi antenna close to other components would cause/receive a lot of interference. Laptops manage it because they are designed knowing exactly where each component is. Same for some readymade PCs. The INTERNAL antenna is placed in a location (typically with a plastic (not metal) cover) so it can get maximum range - and it's shielded from the internal components.

For desktops however, there's no knowing what components you'd use, and where they'd be located in the box, and the resultant interference caused. An internal antenna would be enclosed within a metal box, and that's not good either. External antennas are the logical solution here. In fact, given a choice between internal and external, I'd choose external!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
Now I am looking at laptops, and I see "DOS" listed as the operating system for some of them. For instance. So... I turn it on and get a "C\: >" prompt that I knew and hated a few decades ago? And then load separately-sourced Windows or Linux?
That is correct. Basically sellers are using this for 2 reasons:

1) Why pay for windows licenses when the user might want to install linux instead.
2) A Rs. 18,000 machine would cost perhaps Rs. 21,000-23,000 if it came with windows. By leaving the OS out, they are making it sound so much cheaper.

cya
R

Last edited by Rehaan : 10th October 2014 at 15:26.
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2014, 00:12   #2860
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,740
Thanked: 6,963 Times
Default Re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Quote:
That is correct. Basically sellers are using this for 2 reasons:

1) Why pay for windows licenses when the user might want to install linux instead.
2) A Rs. 18,000 machine would cost perhaps Rs. 21,000-23,000 if it came with windows. By leaving the OS out, they are making it sound so much cheaper.
That makes sense to me. If I get one I'll have to seek out a copy of W7, as I really don't want 8 in the house!

Thanks to all who answered

Here's another one, to do with screen formats. I hate this super-wide-screen format, which is good only for manufacturers (less area for the same diagonal) and spreadsheet addicts. I don't seem to see any of the less narrow format, though. Is it really a thing of the past for laptops?

(yes, I know... the old 3*4 CRT shape is long gone!)
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2014, 08:29   #2861
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,453
Thanked: 3,575 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
That makes sense to me. If I get one I'll have to seek out a copy of W7, as I really don't want 8 in the house!

Thanks to all who answered

Here's another one, to do with screen formats. I hate this super-wide-screen format, which is good only for manufacturers (less area for the same diagonal) and spreadsheet addicts. I don't seem to see any of the less narrow format, though. Is it really a thing of the past for laptops?

(yes, I know... the old 3*4 CRT shape is long gone!)

They're still around although people now go for the widescreen (16:9) format. Dell has the Ultrasharp series which are 4:3 format, but a tad bit expensive.
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2014, 13:02   #2862
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,740
Thanked: 6,963 Times
Default Re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Quote:
Dell has the Ultrasharp series which are 4:3 format, but a tad bit expensive.
I have my eye on one of these (Dell U2412 24 in at Flipcart) but my existing Samsung 22", although it flickers occasionally, shows no sign of dying.

But that's monitors: At the moment I am thinking laptops.
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2014, 13:12   #2863
BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 312
Thanked: 858 Times
Default Re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
I have my eye on one of these (Dell U2412 24 in at Flipcart) but my existing Samsung 22", although it flickers occasionally, shows no sign of dying.

But that's monitors: At the moment I am thinking laptops.
Do you have a specific reason for choosing Dell? To the best of my knowledge Dell is not a LCD panel manufacturer, it just rebrands wholesale, unlike LG, Toshiba, NEC, Samsung who make their own stuff. Also, this model seems expensive. There's a 27 inch Samsung model available for Rs 11,000.
Kumar R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2014, 13:18   #2864
Senior - BHPian
 
reignofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,206
Thanked: 1,152 Times
Default Re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kumar R View Post
Do you have a specific reason for choosing Dell? To the best of my knowledge Dell is not a LCD panel manufacturer, it just rebrands wholesale, unlike LG, Toshiba, NEC, Samsung who make their own stuff. Also, this model seems expensive. There's a 27 inch Samsung model available for Rs 11,000.
Dell uses LG panels in all ultrasharp displays. In fact pretty much any quality monitor would use lg ah-ips panels. Nec that you mentioned also uses lg panels on most of their good displays. The monitor is manufactured by dell itself. They are really good value for money. You get close to NEC/eizo quality without spending an arm and a leg. They are great for color critical work and come calibrated from factory. I am using dell displays for over 10 years now and have no complaints.

Last edited by reignofchaos : 11th October 2014 at 13:20.
reignofchaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2014, 13:38   #2865
BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 312
Thanked: 858 Times
Default Re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by reignofchaos View Post
Dell uses LG panels in all ultrasharp displays. In fact pretty much any quality monitor would use lg ah-ips panels. Nec that you mentioned also uses lg panels on most of their good displays. The monitor is manufactured by dell itself. They are really good value for money. You get close to NEC/eizo quality without spending an arm and a leg. They are great for color critical work and come calibrated from factory. I am using dell displays for over 10 years now and have no complaints.
Thanks, I did not know that NEC also uses LG panels. My suggestion was that it makes more sense to buy a product from a company which itself makes most or all of the critical components and has the technological knowhow - if that option exists and assuming pricing is not a problem.
Kumar R is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding sub+amp to this configuration -> feasable? DCEite In-Car Entertainment 10 28th October 2010 01:12
Configuration For Multitasking PC MADMAX111 Gadgets, Computers & Software 19 27th March 2008 10:28
ICE For My Pajero... is this Configuration Ok ?? Tool In-Car Entertainment 52 30th January 2008 12:33
A Vehicle Configuration Information System Venkatesh.C Technical Stuff 11 20th September 2007 13:52
Configuration for Tata Safari lastmanstanding In-Car Entertainment 13 17th June 2006 10:29


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 07:50.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks