Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 14th March 2017, 11:32   #3061
BHPian
 
r_devakumar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chennai
Posts: 248
Thanked: 88 Times
Default Re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

My PC is connected through LAN cable from router new. But i am moving my router to the front room. I am looking for enabling Wifi to my PC. Please suggest me the options & specific models:

- UBS Vs PCI based one. Which is better?
- 150Mbps will do or better to go for 300Mbps (or anything higher)?
r_devakumar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2017, 12:07   #3062
Senior - BHPian
 
arunphilip's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 1,725
Thanked: 4,691 Times
Default Re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by r_devakumar View Post
- UBS Vs PCI based one. Which is better?
- 150Mbps will do or better to go for 300Mbps (or anything higher)?
USB is good enough. No point sacrificing a PCI slot for something as minor as Wi-Fi. Besides, you get unobtrusive Wi-Fi adapters that barely project out 5 mm from the USB slot.

Do you use your computer to transfer files to other networked computers? If so, 300 Mbps is better. Even if not, I don't think the difference in price is that significant to make going for 150 Mbps a better deal.

I presume your internet connection is < 100 Mbps?
arunphilip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2017, 12:20   #3063
BHPian
 
r_devakumar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chennai
Posts: 248
Thanked: 88 Times
Default Re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by arunphilip View Post
USB is good enough. No point sacrificing a PCI slot for something as minor as Wi-Fi. Besides, you get unobtrusive Wi-Fi adapters that barely project out 5 mm from the USB slot.

Do you use your computer to transfer files to other networked computers? If so, 300 Mbps is better. Even if not, I don't think the difference in price is that significant to make going for 150 Mbps a better deal.

I presume your internet connection is < 100 Mbps?
Thanks. My internet speed is 50Mbps now. The main purpose is connecting to internet. File transfer / HD Streaming is not needed. The reception/ signal strength should be good, because the placing of my PC is in the corner of the room and will be more than 10 meter from the router (also a open room/hall is in between).
r_devakumar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2017, 12:48   #3064
Senior - BHPian
 
arunphilip's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 1,725
Thanked: 4,691 Times
Default Re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by r_devakumar View Post
Thanks. My internet speed is 50Mbps now. The main purpose is connecting to internet. File transfer / HD Streaming is not needed.
OK, in that case, a 150 Mbps Wi-Fi adapter is sufficient, although you can go for a 300 Mbps in case the difference isn't too much.

For instance, I'm currently using this TP-Link 150 Mbps adapter costing 500 rupees, but a similar 300 Mbps adapter is 620 rupees.
arunphilip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2017, 09:15   #3065
Distinguished - BHPian
 
condor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Speed-brkr City
Posts: 10,641
Thanked: 4,170 Times
Default Re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Where can I get good prices for 1TB / 2TB 3.5" SATA harddrives ?
condor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2017, 18:41   #3066
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Delhi
Posts: 2,121
Thanked: 992 Times
Default Re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by condor View Post
Where can I get good prices for 1TB / 2TB 3.5" SATA harddrives ?
Amazon has decent prices, short of going to a known shop. I used to buy Seagate, but have switched on to WD, both for my desktop and Portable drives.

My Desktop has 6 drives, three older Seagate (6+ years) and three newer WD. All my external drives are 1TB and 2TB WD.
Aroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2017, 21:25   #3067
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,789
Thanked: 7,111 Times
Default Re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by condor View Post
Where can I get good prices for 1TB / 2TB 3.5" SATA harddrives ?
Would you be buying or selling?

The internet always seems to have an opinion on who is currently making the best HDDs. Last time I looked, I guess it was WD, and I bought WD Black.

Paid a premium for the "Black." To my surprise, it was noticeably faster. As I was replacing the primary boot disk, I was able to see this at once.
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2017, 21:36   #3068
Senior - BHPian
 
reignofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,215
Thanked: 1,162 Times
Default Re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by condor View Post
Where can I get good prices for 1TB / 2TB 3.5" SATA harddrives ?
ebay.in with coupons
reignofchaos is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2017, 23:23   #3069
Distinguished - BHPian
 
condor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Speed-brkr City
Posts: 10,641
Thanked: 4,170 Times
Default Re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aroy View Post
have switched on to WD, both for my desktop and Portable drives.
thanks ..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
Would you be buying or selling?
Buying. May need 3-4 disks

Quote:
Originally Posted by reignofchaos View Post
ebay.in with coupons
Dont trust ebay sellers, esp for such stuff.
condor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2017, 00:29   #3070
BHPian
 
D4d-maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Patiala
Posts: 70
Thanked: 51 Times
Default

Just did a complete overhaul of my PC.
After much deliberation went in for Ryzen 5 1600. Picking it up over Intel i5 7500 took much research largely because of my previous bad experience with FX 6300.
So the current configuration stands as the following.

Ryzen 5 1600
Asus Prime B350-A
Corsair Vengence LPX 8 gb @ 2400 mhz
Samsung 750 EVO 250 gb SSD
WD Blue 1 TB
Corsair VS 450 PSU
Cooler Master 590-3 case
And ASUS GTX 1070.

It took me a long time to get this system together but I think it's a decent gaming rig now.
D4d-maniac is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2017, 08:51   #3071
Senior - BHPian
 
reignofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,215
Thanked: 1,162 Times
Default Re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by condor View Post
thanks ..

Buying. May need 3-4 disks

Dont trust ebay sellers, esp for such stuff.
I bought my new Ryzen rig off ebay - Ryzen 1700 CPU, Asus Motherboard, 32GB RAM, SSD - roughly 80k worth of stuff. Everything was genuine with a bill and warranty.
reignofchaos is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2017, 12:59   #3072
BHPian
 
D4d-maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Patiala
Posts: 70
Thanked: 51 Times
Default

I was wondering if we can create a new thread for swapping computer parts. Or buying and selling PC components. Considering that there are practically no trustworthy places where we can do the aforementioned. That's if the mods approve.
D4d-maniac is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2017, 09:34   #3073
Senior - BHPian
 
sdp1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,592
Thanked: 919 Times
Default Re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Are there any disadvantages to buying desktops from manufacturers like Dell or HP ? If the motherboard or SMPS say fails , do I have to depend on Dell/HP for a replacement or can I buy a replacement outside ?
sdp1975 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2017, 09:51   #3074
Senior - BHPian
 
reignofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,215
Thanked: 1,162 Times
Default Re: The Computer & Configuration Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdp1975 View Post
Are there any disadvantages to buying desktops from manufacturers like Dell or HP ? If the motherboard or SMPS say fails , do I have to depend on Dell/HP for a replacement or can I buy a replacement outside ?
You will have to depend on the vendors as all their parts might be of proprietory form factor and there would be no easy way to put a standard replacement. Also they would be built to a cost and won't be of very high quality.
reignofchaos is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2017, 09:57   #3075
BHPian
 
petrolhead_neel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Burdwan
Posts: 625
Thanked: 1,033 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by D4d-maniac View Post
Just did a complete overhaul of my PC.
After much deliberation went in for Ryzen 5 1600. Picking it up over Intel i5 7500 took much research largely because of my previous bad experience with FX 6300.
So the current configuration stands as the following.

Ryzen 5 1600
Asus Prime B350-A
Corsair Vengence LPX 8 gb @ 2400 mhz
Samsung 750 EVO 250 gb SSD
WD Blue 1 TB
Corsair VS 450 PSU
Cooler Master 590-3 case
And ASUS GTX 1070.

It took me a long time to get this system together but I think it's a decent gaming rig now.
Get a better PSU. Preferably a more efficient one with a better rating and about 600W of capacity. Trust me, VS series, that too just 450W, just isn't enough for this. Call me paranoid, but I wouldn't trust it to handle all of the high specced components of the PC. Maybe get a Seasonic or if you want to stay in the Corsair family, something like an RM650x.

Neel
petrolhead_neel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding sub+amp to this configuration -> feasable? DCEite In-Car Entertainment 10 28th October 2010 01:12
Configuration For Multitasking PC MADMAX111 Gadgets, Computers & Software 19 27th March 2008 10:28
ICE For My Pajero... is this Configuration Ok ?? Tool In-Car Entertainment 52 30th January 2008 12:33
A Vehicle Configuration Information System Venkatesh.C Technical Stuff 11 20th September 2007 13:52
Configuration for Tata Safari lastmanstanding In-Car Entertainment 13 17th June 2006 10:29


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 17:53.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks