Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26th December 2006, 15:39   #346
Senior - BHPian
 
abhibh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Back in the HOOD near you!
Posts: 2,767
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

Oh sorry its 2.8 HT lol
abhibh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2006, 15:42   #347
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Nikhilb2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 4,661
Thanked: 3,121 Times
Default

then it is crap...... no use buying a Pentium 4 machine now....waste of money.
Nikhilb2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2006, 15:54   #348
Senior - BHPian
 
abhibh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Back in the HOOD near you!
Posts: 2,767
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

How about pentium D or Core 2 Duo ? which one is good. D is 64 bit right ?
abhibh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2006, 16:26   #349
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Nikhilb2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 4,661
Thanked: 3,121 Times
Default

yes.... but that is also crap.

The onmly processor to go for now is the Core 2 Duo. If you want AMD, then X2.

But I still suggest Intel Core 2 Duo.
Nikhilb2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2006, 17:35   #350
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikhilb2008 View Post
The onmly processor to go for now is the Core 2 Duo. If you want AMD, then X2.
check your usage...like gaming or encoding or just web surfing....compare the processor cost with there performance before buying one.....like amd x2 3600+ comes for 5-6k and the core 2 duo 6300 comes for 9.5k but the performance is increased approx 15 - 20 %.......
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2006, 01:46   #351
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gujarat 03
Posts: 1,302
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

I have a little confusion.

I am planning to get Hitachi Deskstar 2x250Gb Sata2 Hdd, But Installer told me that Sata2 is not supported with Asus P5LD2-VM-SE.

Is that true ? Link to Asus.

Mugen.
Mugen_Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2006, 10:13   #352
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mugen_Power View Post
I have a little confusion.

I am planning to get Hitachi Deskstar 2x250Gb Sata2 Hdd, But Installer told me that Sata2 is not supported with Asus P5LD2-VM-SE.

Is that true ? Link to Asus.

Mugen.
It will work who says it will not work.....
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2006, 10:15   #353
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gujarat 03
Posts: 1,302
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
It will work who says it will not work.....
Hitachi Dealer In Ahmedabad Told So..

Should I have to conform the order ?
Mugen_Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2006, 11:37   #354
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

sure sir without thinking twice......

Last edited by low_bass_makker : 28th December 2006 at 11:38.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2006, 12:28   #355
Senior - BHPian
 
abhibh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Back in the HOOD near you!
Posts: 2,767
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

Purchased the Core 2 Duo 6300 for 26K including the stuff below:

1. Intel Original board + Core Duo 6300
2. 17" LG LCD
3. Combo Drive
4. Multimedia Keyboard + USB Mouse
5. JBL 2.1
6. 80 GB SATA
7. 512 MB RAM
8. Computer Table
9. i-Ball Headphones
10. Dust Covers including printer
11. Printer lexmark (paid only rs 500 for this)
12. CD pack (free)
13. 100 Games CD pack (free)
14. Plus some smal other gifts..

Is 26K for the above justified price ?
abhibh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2006, 12:29   #356
Senior - BHPian
 
abhibh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Back in the HOOD near you!
Posts: 2,767
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

Another query. Need to buy a laptop budged 45 - 60K. Must have 60 GB hdd. Duo Core and 15" atleast. Please suggest which is good. f graphics card is included then its gr8.
abhibh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2006, 17:26   #357
Senior - BHPian
 
iraghava's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bhaiyyaland
Posts: 8,028
Thanked: 150 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abhibh View Post
Another query. Need to buy a laptop budged 45 - 60K. Must have 60 GB hdd. Duo Core and 15" atleast. Please suggest which is good. f graphics card is included then its gr8.
Check out the Dell Inspiron 6400 at www.dell.co.in Here you can configure it to your custom configuration & there are some great offers running on this model right now so you would be able to bag a good deal at about 50-55k!!
iraghava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2006, 18:05   #358
Senior - BHPian
 
abhibh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Back in the HOOD near you!
Posts: 2,767
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
Check out the Dell Inspiron 6400 at www.dell.co.in Here you can configure it to your custom configuration & there are some great offers running on this model right now so you would be able to bag a good deal at about 50-55k!!
But i have heard dell service is bad and you have buy online is it true ?
abhibh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2006, 18:36   #359
Senior - BHPian
 
iraghava's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bhaiyyaland
Posts: 8,028
Thanked: 150 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abhibh View Post
But i have heard dell service is bad and you have buy online is it true ?
You have to buy online or over the phone yes. But the service is exemplary & for any fault an engineer reaches your location anywhere in Asia-Pacific (yes you read that right, even in a remote part of the country!!) within the next 24-48 hours with the needed parts after a diagnosis is done by the call centre over the phone. I've had experience of owning a Dell for 3 years & have been really happy with their service!
iraghava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2006, 21:04   #360
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Nikhilb2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 4,661
Thanked: 3,121 Times
Default

My uncle bought a complete system fro, the US including a 19" LCD. He forgot to switch the power supple to 220v(there is a small switch on the PSU) and the PSU blw up.

He called the DELL technician and even though he hadnt bought the comp in India, the Dell guy was there the next day in Mysore and fixed the comp.

I was really impressed with this.
Nikhilb2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding sub+amp to this configuration -> feasable? DCEite In-Car Entertainment 10 28th October 2010 01:12
Configuration For Multitasking PC MADMAX111 Gadgets, Computers & Software 19 27th March 2008 10:28
ICE For My Pajero... is this Configuration Ok ?? Tool In-Car Entertainment 52 30th January 2008 12:33
A Vehicle Configuration Information System Venkatesh.C Technical Stuff 11 20th September 2007 13:52
Configuration for Tata Safari lastmanstanding In-Car Entertainment 13 17th June 2006 10:29


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 03:46.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks