Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 18th June 2007, 12:31   #526
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reignofchaos View Post
K8V-MX is an AGP board. 8600/8500GT doesnt exist in AGP. Your best option is to get a DX9 ATI X1600 Pro.
oh it is a AGP slot...then the above mentioned is a good card....but I have heard that the lower end 8xxx series will be coming in AGP also .....
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2007, 13:25   #527
Senior - BHPian
 
madan80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,356
Thanked: 73 Times
Default

Im running the last of the PowerPC iBooks.
A 1.33GHz PowerPC G4 processor with Velocity Engine and 512K on-chip level 2 cache running at 1.33GHz with 768MB Ram PC2100 (266MHz),
ATI Mobility Radeon 9200 graphics processor with 32MB of dedicated video memory and AGP 4X support and a
60GB internal HDD and
80GB external USB HDD.
14" and with an Altec Lansing 2.1 speaker system.

Last edited by madan80 : 18th June 2007 at 13:30.
madan80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2007, 13:58   #528
BHPian
 
sabret00the's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Halifax, Canada
Posts: 686
Thanked: 43 Times
Default

This is my latest RIG which I call "sabre" see it by clicking here

The Final Configuration (Ma Li'll Monsta a.k.a sabre) after I assembled my system on 10th May,2007 is :

Intel Core2Duo E6600 2.4Ghz - Rs.12000/-

Asus P5N32 e SLI motherboard - Rs.14150/-

1GB DDR2 667Mhz RAM (Transcend) - Rs.2450/-

Western Digital 80GB PATA HDD - (One of my 2year old hard drives)

16x Dvd +/- RW (Sony OEM) - Rs.1550/-

19" Samsung Syncmaster 940 BW LCD monitor - Rs.14500/- (Bought last year)

Techcom LCD TV Tuner (External) - Rs.1900/- (Bought last year)

Microsoft Wireless Desktop Pro 700 - Rs.1400/-

Zebronics Antibiotic Cabinet - Rs.1900/- (Bought last year)

Zebronics 500W Platinum SMPS - Rs.1800/- (Bought last year)

Orchid Innovations (Widcomm) Bluetooth - Rs.250/-

Zebronics Nvidia 8600GT (DX10) GPU - Rs.7900/- (Will pick it up tomorrow)

Enter multi card reader - Rs.250/-

Sony Mhc GX2000 mini hifi audio system - 5-6 years old

In the pipeline :-

1.Another 1GB DDR2 667Mhz Ram module

2.and 2 x 2GB DDR2 667Mhz Ram Modules in next few months.

3.Linksys WUSB54GC Compact Wireless-G USB Adapter

4.2nd Nvidia 8600GT Graphics card after price falls a bit may be in the next few months.

Note:
  1. Presently I'm using a Seagate 250GB 7.2K rpm SATA II hard drive as the bugger 80gig WD bombed out on me soon after I got it out of my old system...it was old and tortured though!!!
  2. I have picked up the 8600GT on Monday the 14th of May and it's done a great job in my system for the last month or so....as it's a Zebronics hence looks crude but so far performance has been much better than the XFX 7600GT fatality that I was so used to...
  3. BSNL replaced the UT Starcom Type I modem at my request with a Type II modem (cum router DHCP enabled) after 3 months of running from pillar to post...although I had asked for a Type IV....still I now dont have to dial up everytime and also have NAT firewall in the router + 802.11 b+g wlan in my house 24/7 (security enabled WEP 64bit SSID non-broadcasting though)
  4. The battery of the Microsoft Wireless Desktop Pro 700 "mouse" has lasted for about 1 month or so.The keyboard battery is still working but within limted range though....battery read "Energiser"..haha
  5. I'am back to using my favourite Iball 5 button usb/PS2 "king" optical mouse....so much for wireless.
  6. My system scored 9835 scores(stock system) on 3dmark2005 but 'am not able to publish the scores...can post screenshots though!!!
Expecting comments and suggestions...

Mods note: Do not post a whole thread with Bold.

Last edited by Rudra Sen : 19th June 2007 at 13:18.
sabret00the is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2007, 12:17   #529
Senior - BHPian
 
shuvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Calcutta
Posts: 1,081
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

@ sabret00the - NICE rig dude!
Your location says Calcutta. Maybe you can help me out. I need a water cooling solution for my rig. Where can I get one in Cal?
The Zebronics smps you have installed, does it give true 500w? I need at least 650w. Where do I get one from?
shuvd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2007, 13:35   #530
Team-BHP Support
 
Rudra Sen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 10,334
Thanked: 3,834 Times
Default

My home set up since last February:

Apple, G5 processors QUAD, 2 dual core 2.5 Ghz PowerPC

1 mb on=chip level 2 cache per core

Dual 1.25 Ghz front side buses

11 Gb RAM

NVIDIA GE4 660 graphis card with 256mb of GDDR SD RAM and dual display support.

Super drive (DVD + R DL/DVD +- RW/CD-RW)

30 inches Apple LCD display
Rudra Sen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2007, 13:43   #531
Senior - BHPian
 
abhibh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Back in the HOOD near you!
Posts: 2,767
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudra Sen View Post
My home set up since last February:

Apple, G5 processors QUAD, 2 dual core 2.5 Ghz PowerPC

1 mb on=chip level 2 cache per core

Dual 1.25 Ghz front side buses

11 Gb RAM

NVIDIA GE4 660 graphis card with 256mb of GDDR SD RAM and dual display support.

Super drive (DVD + R DL/DVD +- RW/CD-RW)

30 inches Apple LCD display
WTH ??? And i thought i had dual processor was good enough
abhibh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2007, 13:54   #532
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 433 Times
Default

rudraji, whats with this setup & why 11GB ram ?
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2007, 14:07   #533
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,407 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudra Sen View Post
My home set up since last February:

Apple, G5 processors QUAD, 2 dual core 2.5 Ghz PowerPC

1 mb on=chip level 2 cache per core

Dual 1.25 Ghz front side buses

11 Gb RAM

NVIDIA GE4 660 graphis card with 256mb of GDDR SD RAM and dual display support.

Super drive (DVD + R DL/DVD +- RW/CD-RW)

30 inches Apple LCD display
Drooooooooool
This setup is a wet dream. PowerPC... Yummm.
Once you work on a power PC everything else seems so "pedestrian"
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2007, 14:28   #534
Team-BHP Support
 
Rudra Sen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 10,334
Thanked: 3,834 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by esteem_lover
rudraji, whats with this setup
E_L, I didn't understand this part as what you want to know.
Quote:
& why 11GB ram ?
Simple, I didn't have enough money to fill all the slots (16 Gb).

You may ask 'is it important?' My reply will be yes. Photoshop is memory hungry application and I often work with six to seven open files of 130 mb each.
Rudra Sen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2007, 14:54   #535
BHPian
 
sabret00the's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Halifax, Canada
Posts: 686
Thanked: 43 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudra Sen View Post
My home set up since last February:

Apple, G5 processors QUAD, 2 dual core 2.5 Ghz PowerPC

1 mb on=chip level 2 cache per core

Dual 1.25 Ghz front side buses

11 Gb RAM

NVIDIA GE4 660 graphis card with 256mb of GDDR SD RAM and dual display support.

Super drive (DVD + R DL/DVD +- RW/CD-RW)

30 inches Apple LCD display

holy crisis Rudra Sir u had to post this config immediately after mine....now my system seems like a tommygun...
that thing must be directly drawing power from a nuclear plant or something........mama mia!!!!
sabret00the is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2007, 15:23   #536
BHPian
 
sabret00the's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Halifax, Canada
Posts: 686
Thanked: 43 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shuvd View Post
@ sabret00the - NICE rig dude!
Your location says Calcutta. Maybe you can help me out. I need a water cooling solution for my rig. Where can I get one in Cal?
The Zebronics smps you have installed, does it give true 500w? I need at least 650w. Where do I get one from?
Thnx
I dont think u can get water cooling in Cal....a friend of mine got it from the US a few months back...a Asus liquid cooling setup cost him $140 there...
For water cooling solutions chk this out though IT-Depot

As far as the Zebronics Platinum 500W is concerned it's very silent considering the 12cm LED fan spinning all the time...I dont think it gives true 500W...I think it manages about 470-480Watts which is pretty good for me...further its been running for more than one and half years now without a problem...and very cheap for a 500W PSU
I dunno ur config but I wud suggest u to go for Antec,coolermaster or powersafe PSUs and if want budget stuff then get a Zebronics Diamond 520/620W

Antec : IT-Depot
Cooler Master ExtremePower 600W : IT-Depot

also checkout this site: TheITWares - Cabinets & Smps

for Calcutta specific PC related queries ask here
sabret00the is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2007, 18:09   #537
Senior - BHPian
 
reignofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,178
Thanked: 1,109 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sabret00the View Post
holy crisis Rudra Sir u had to post this config immediately after mine....now my system seems like a tommygun...
that thing must be directly drawing power from a nuclear plant or something........mama mia!!!!
Na... not really... in raw number crunching your dual core e6600 will be faster than the 4 cores on that mac. The G5 was pretty poor in terms of IPC and ate tonnes of power. What I do like in Rudraji's machine is the 30" cinema display .
reignofchaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2007, 18:12   #538
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudra Sen View Post
NVIDIA GE4 660 graphis card with 256mb of GDDR SD RAM and dual display support.
and what is this card .....is it a 6600 chipset...
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2007, 21:20   #539
Team-BHP Support
 
Rudra Sen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 10,334
Thanked: 3,834 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reignofchaos View Post
Na... not really... in raw number crunching your dual core e6600 will be faster than the 4 cores on that mac. The G5 was pretty poor in terms of IPC and ate tonnes of power.
What you're saying here must be true. I don't have the slightest clue about all these. I'm a hard core Apple fan and Apple IS THE MACHINE for my kind of application.
I'm happy to see acurate colours and smooth operation from my machine. Not only this one but all my previous Apple machines served me the same way.
I'm not into number crunching game but sheer result. I've never used a PC and I don't intent to use one. I'm not computer savvy and I have no knowledge on the subject you're discussing here. In a way, I'm a total misfit here.
Quote:
Originally Posted by low_bass_makker
and what is this card .....is it a 6600 chipset...
Boss, as I mentioned above, I've no clue. If you want I'll find out for you.
Rudra Sen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2007, 22:21   #540
Senior - BHPian
 
black12rr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ridin earth now
Posts: 1,259
Thanked: 271 Times
Default

Nice powerful rig Rudra , but did it cost one more optra ?.

@Sir Rudra ,do you have a topic or can u start one on "how to edit or tweak a photo " , what free and paid software to use and all ? Thanks in advance .

Last edited by black12rr : 19th June 2007 at 22:22.
black12rr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding sub+amp to this configuration -> feasable? DCEite In-Car Entertainment 10 28th October 2010 01:12
Configuration For Multitasking PC MADMAX111 Gadgets, Computers & Software 19 27th March 2008 10:28
ICE For My Pajero... is this Configuration Ok ?? Tool In-Car Entertainment 52 30th January 2008 12:33
A Vehicle Configuration Information System Venkatesh.C Technical Stuff 11 20th September 2007 13:52
Configuration for Tata Safari lastmanstanding In-Car Entertainment 13 17th June 2006 10:29


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 22:43.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks