Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 6th August 2007, 22:27   #601
Senior - BHPian
 
reignofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,179
Thanked: 1,109 Times
Default

In terms of clocks, DDR3 is reaching 2GHz whereas DDR2 other than micron has a hard time getting to 1200MHz. DDR3 runs at way more relaxed latencies though. Still the gains are substantial. (upto 10% depending upon app) However the current prices are way too bloated.
reignofchaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2007, 15:06   #602
Senior - BHPian
 
jesal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 2,322
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by black12rr View Post
@ jesal

how much for coolermaster case and PSU ?
8000 but i got a dsc for rs. 500 so 7500 for me
jesal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2007, 11:32   #603
BHPian
 
Jaguar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 556
Thanked: 141 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technocrat View Post
See the system comes with Vista pre loaded, & AFAIK XP & vista can be dual booted only if XP is installed first & then Vista & in this case I am not getting a Vista CD to boot later & the Restore CD will remove all partitions & install Vista.. So i dont know what to do :|

No Technocrat, its the other way round. Vista First and then XP.
As as thumb rule, install the latest OS first and then go backwards. This is because the newer OS recognizes the old ones but not vise versa.
Jaguar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2007, 12:04   #604
BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North America
Posts: 960
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Guys
Intel has recently dropped prices of it's Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.4 GHz. It's available for under 350$ US in most of the stores. If you want some serious juice, you should go for it.
sujaylahiri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2007, 12:17   #605
BHPian
 
Amey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 679
Thanked: 189 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sujaylahiri View Post
Guys
Intel has recently dropped prices of it's Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.4 GHz. It's available for under 350$ US in most of the stores. If you want some serious juice, you should go for it.
Its a great CPU, no doubt BUT, the older 'B3' stepping is a bloody furnace, stock temperatures shoot to 70c + easily
the newer 'G0' stepping is far better but rare too. Current price in Indian market is around 12,500-13,500/-

Quad Cores need a equally good PSU, Motherboard etc.
Amey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2007, 13:04   #606
Senior - BHPian
 
ramie2400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,900
Thanked: 57 Times
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by revtech View Post
i got a HP dv6000t

intel core 2 duo
160 gb ram
nvidia Geforce 7400
15.4 inch
1.3 mp

running vista.
160 gb ram typo error seems 160gb HDD
ramie2400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2007, 13:10   #607
Senior - BHPian
 
Ajaybiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,354
Thanked: 140 Times
Default

Mine is HP 1520in having Pentium D800 2.8 Ghz Dual Core Processor, 160 GB HDD, DVD writer with lightscribe, 1 GB DDR2 533 mhz of RAM(512 i added), ATi Raedon 200 Graphics Chipset, 17 Inch HP LCD Monitor with builtin spekers(sound enough for my private TV viewing ), Creative 2.1 Spekaers, Added DVD reader, having inbuilt multiple card reader, Firewire port for my Handycam movie capturing(and it works perfectly). Bought last year when i was working in HP, at discounted rates.
Ajaybiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2007, 17:08   #608
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,861
Thanked: 2,398 Times
Default

Finally bought the Hp pavilion dv6502.

@jaguar: are u sure that u can load old os when a new one is present, am asking because my experience is otherwise.
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2007, 17:56   #609
BHPian
 
Amey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 679
Thanked: 189 Times
Default

^^ Yes i guess you can do that, i used to do that long time back when i had dual OS setup. Dont remember the sequence in which i installed.
But theoretically, if the partitions are made in advance, then by using a bootable OS disk , you should be able to independently install the older OS on the different partition.
Amey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2007, 19:25   #610
BHPian
 
ibcool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 75
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

well this thread is about set ups right
my current one
macbook pro 17"
intel core 2 duo, 2.33 ghz
160 gb hard drive
2 gb ram
ati radeon x1600

also my old desktop setup
p4 2.4 HT
240 GB HDD
1.5 GB Ram
nvidia GeForce MMX 440
ibcool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2007, 15:29   #611
sAP
BHPian
 
sAP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 10000 Lakes
Posts: 275
Thanked: 15 Times
Arrow Home setup

For personal use, I have a widescreen Dell Inspiron 640m laptop running Vista Business with Aero on an Intel Core Duo T2350 with 1Gig RAM, 80GB HDD, wifi and DVD writer.

I also have 2 desktops wired into a LAN gaming setup using an Avaya Systimax crossover cable. They aren't cutting edge or anything, but get the multiplayer job done fairly decent.

Desktop1, Desktop2

AMD 64 3000 MHz, AMD Athlon 2000 MHz
Transcend 512 MB DDR, Transcend 256 MB DDR
Seagate 2x80 GB SATA, Samsung 1x40 GB ATA
Zebronics NVIDIA 6200 256MB AGP, XFX NVIDIA 5200 128MB AGP
Samsung CDROM, Samsung dual layer DVD writer
Viewsonic flat 17", LG 17"
LG optical mouse, LG optical mouse
Samsung multimedia keyboard, Chicony keyboard
WinXP Pro SP2, WinXP Pro SP2
Realtek 100mbps Ethernet, Realtek 100mbps Ethernet
Cambridge Soundworks 2.1, Creative Inspire 2.1

Netgear 54mbps wifi USB adaptor
Netgear WG614 wifi router
Huawei ADSL modem

Some of my alltime favourite LAN games:
C&C Generals Zero Hour
Microsoft Rise of Nations
Unreal Tournament (the original first UT release)

sAP
sAP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2007, 11:06   #612
BHPian
 
saumil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 57
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Toshiba Satellite P105-S6104
Intel Core 2 Duo T5200, 1024 MB DDR2 SD RAM, 120 GB HDD,
17" WXGA + Trubrite Display, DVD Supermulti drive & (My Fav) Small Harman/Kardon Speakers Attached
saumil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2007, 11:14   #613
Senior - BHPian
 
Maverick5490's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Thane
Posts: 1,249
Thanked: 590 Times
Default

Hey guys,
Upgraded my PC yest.. following is the config:
AMD Athlon X2 4400+
Asus M2N-MX Motherboard
1GB RAM DDR2
250 GB SATA HDD

any suggestions comments bout this config? not very well versed with pc's..

regrds,
Mav!
Maverick5490 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2007, 00:08   #614
BHPian
 
vabs78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Pune, India
Posts: 551
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

13.3" Apple MacBook White
Intel Core2Duo 2.16 GHz 4MB L2 Cache
1 GB DDR2 SD RAM
120 GB HDD
MAC OS X 10.4 Tiger

This is my first MAC and I am loving it
vabs78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2007, 06:37   #615
Senior - BHPian
 
khanak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mumbai/Toronto
Posts: 2,735
Thanked: 127 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vabs78 View Post
This is my first MAC and I am loving it
Whats it like switching from Windows?
khanak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding sub+amp to this configuration -> feasable? DCEite In-Car Entertainment 10 28th October 2010 01:12
Configuration For Multitasking PC MADMAX111 Gadgets, Computers & Software 19 27th March 2008 10:28
ICE For My Pajero... is this Configuration Ok ?? Tool In-Car Entertainment 52 30th January 2008 12:33
A Vehicle Configuration Information System Venkatesh.C Technical Stuff 11 20th September 2007 13:52
Configuration for Tata Safari lastmanstanding In-Car Entertainment 13 17th June 2006 10:29


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 10:07.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks