Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 20th November 2007, 11:53   #676
Senior - BHPian
 
black12rr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ridin earth now
Posts: 1,259
Thanked: 271 Times
Default

New rig

Abit IP pro 35 + heat pipe mod
Lanfest 2gb 800 mhz +OCZ cooler
Corsair vx450 watts
Thermalright 120e + 120mm synth
E6750 + 3 ghz and increasing
eVGA 8600GT 256 mb
250 gb sata + 80 gb +40gb
ASUS DVD writer+Ausus CD writer
Chieftec case
DELL 22" wide panel LCD.

Last edited by black12rr : 20th November 2007 at 12:00.
black12rr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2007, 14:51   #677
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 172
Thanked: 67 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anupmathur View Post
Do go for the Intel processors now.
AMD was OK when you bought the machine.
And Phenom sucks. Got whacked by intel quads.
Blue_V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2007, 23:12   #678
BANNED
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,578
Thanked: 120 Times
Default

MY DESKTOP

INTEL celeron 2.53ghz
asrock 945 mobo
80 gb segate hdd
nvdia geforce fx6200 128mb ddr2 gfx card
samsung cd rom.
samsung 798mg 17 inch crt. monitor




MY LAPTOP
HP PAVillion dv 4000
16.4 inch widescreen display
1gb ddr2 ram
100gb hdd
cd/cdrw/dvd/dvdrw rom
nvdia geforce 7300gt ddr3 gfx.
bluetooth/ wifi.
bought from usa.
fx45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2008, 15:42   #679
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 613
Thanked: 116 Times
Default Planning to upgrade

Hi,

I am planning to upgrade my desktop and have decided on the following hardware. My primary desktop usage are surfing, gaming (not really high-end) and some photo processing. Will this be OK for that kinda usage -

Motherboard Asus P5B-MX/Wi-Fi-AP
Processor Core 2 Duo - 2.2 GHz 800 MHz FSB
RAM Transcend DDR2 800 MHz FSB - 2*1 GB
GPU Asus 8600GT 512MB DDR2 RAM
Hard-disk Seagate 250 GB Sata2
DVD Writer Samsung 20x

\N
ntomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2008, 13:53   #680
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 213
Thanked: 164 Times
Default

Here's mine:
Apple MacBook Pro Laptop
15.4 Inch Screen
2.2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
2 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM
NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT
120GB 5400-rpm Serial ATA hard drive
8x slot-loading SuperDrive

It came with MAC OS X 1.4 Installed, i upgraded it to 10.5 Later!
This is my first mac, windows sucks after using one!
RandomUsername is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2008, 14:29   #681
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 172
Thanked: 67 Times
Default

ntomer, config looks good.
but, the board supports only DDR2 667. confirm it pls.
save the pennies on DDR2-800, get the 667. not much of a difference for normal usage.



--------------------------------------
I bought a new computer.
AMD X2 4000+ Brisbane
Asus M2A-VM HDMI
2 GB DD2-667 Kingston
Liteon DVD writer
i-ball case
Pleomax mouse and keyboard

Rs.17000 !
Currently playing Richard Burns ;-)

--------------
Blue_V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2008, 22:15   #682
BHPian
 
hkanitkar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: pune
Posts: 641
Thanked: 18 Times
Default Upgrade time 2.0

Its upgrade time yet again.
2 months back, my gpu was upgraded to XFX 8600GT.
This time, its the mobo and ram. Got myself Abit IP35E and a pair of 1gig DDR2 800MhZ.

So the current config stands at :

Abit IP35E mobo
Intel C2D E6600
2 x 1GB DDR2 800
XFX 8600GT 256MB DDR3
1 x 320GB
2 x 400GB
Sony DVD writer ( SATA )
CoolerMaster ExtremePower2 600W
hkanitkar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2008, 01:19   #683
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Delhi ---- Noida
Posts: 98
Thanked: Once
Default

For the time being, i have my desktop config.

Core 2 Duo 2.2 GHz E4500-(2MB L2 cache 800MHz)

Intel DG965RYCK Intel® G965 Express Chip 1066 FSB

Transcend DDR2 2GB (1GB x 2) 800Mhz

Western Digital Sata 2 320 GB (7200.10 RPM)

XFX 8600GT 512MB DDR3

Samsung LCD 19 '' 920 NW

ASUS Writer With Light Scribe

Logitech Wireless Keyboard + Mouse Set

Gaming Cabinate With 500W SMPS

Upgrading soon to Quad Core(Planing for the HardCore Gaming PC)..
Nos007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2008, 17:04   #684
Senior - BHPian
 
cooldude1988765's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,004
Thanked: 104 Times
Default

I have a thinkpad r61 Whose config is as follows. Needed a sturdy laptop and power wasnt really that important...

Processor
: Intel® Core™ 2 Duo T7500 (2.2GHz 800MHz 4MBL2)
Operating system: Genuine Windows XP Professional
Operating system language: Genuine Windows XP Professional - US English 1
Display type: 14.1 WXGA+ TFT
System graphics: nVIDIA Quadro NVS 140M
Total memory: 2 GB PC2-5300 DDR2 SDRAM 667MHz SODIMM Memory (2 DIMM)

Pointing Device: UltraNav (TrackPoint and TouchPad) with Fingerprint Reader
Hard Drive: 250 GB Hard Disk Drive, 5400rpm
Optical device: DVD Recordable 8x Max Dual Layer, Ultrabay Enhanced
Wireless cards: Intel PRO/Wireless 3945ABG
Bluetooth: Integrated Bluetooth PAN
Battery: 7 cell Li-Ion Battery
Also have an ultra bay battery which is basically a 3 cell battery that can be swapped for the dvd drive when in desperate need of power. Totally i get about 7 hours min battery life with brightness at about 60% and wireless on ...

Cost me about 800 USD after 50% employee discount coupon (Thank god especially after my other laptop :P)

Last edited by cooldude1988765 : 13th January 2008 at 17:09.
cooldude1988765 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2008, 14:50   #685
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 230
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Guys i have a query , Want to go in for notebook Lenevo and i have zeroed on the R Series and my work would be of normal surfing , might have to load softwares pertaining to music files. Whichone i should go in for ??? please help
metropolis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2008, 15:14   #686
BHPian
 
jaibir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 317
Thanked: 48 Times
Default

I have a desktop that I put together myself, with lots of help from a friend.

Processor: Intel® Q6600 (2.4 GHz) with aftermarket cooler Arctic Freezer Pro 7, OCed to 2.8 GHz steady
Motherboard: Biostar TP35D2A7 (Intel P35 chipset)
Monitor: Viewsonic 19 inch
System graphics: ATI X1950 Pro 256 MB (MSI)
Total memory: 2 GB PC2-6400 DDR2 SDRAM 800MHz
Hard Drive: 320 GB Seagate Barracuda @ 7200 RPM
Optical device: Liteon DVD Recordable 16x Max
Power Supply: Seventeam 550W
Cabinet: Chieftec
UPS: HP
Operating system: Genuine Windows XP Professional

I built this in September and am planning an upgrade sometime in the next few months. Need to swap the graphics card for a good DX10 card (have the 8800 GT in mind but that may change). Will be be doing that along with an additional 1 GB of RAM. Also need to move to Vista at some point - hate the OS but no DirectX 10 in XP so have to get it
jaibir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2008, 20:24   #687
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,989
Thanked: 1,383 Times
Default

Well, I just got delivery of my new computer today.

The ubercool top-of-the-line 24" iMac.

The only change I made was upgrade to Apple original 4GB ram.
Sorry about the poor photo, but I will post a better one soon.

Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2008, 21:41   #688
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,660
Thanked: 6,084 Times
Default

very nice sam.. im loving it.. i love that thin keyboard.
Akshay1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2008, 23:16   #689
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

I liked the door Bell.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2008, 10:28   #690
BHPian
 
Amey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 679
Thanked: 189 Times
Default

Mac ? Why sam Why ???
When you can get much better stuff at much much lesser price.
Still congrats.Looks sweet !
Amey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding sub+amp to this configuration -> feasable? DCEite In-Car Entertainment 10 28th October 2010 01:12
Configuration For Multitasking PC MADMAX111 Gadgets, Computers & Software 19 27th March 2008 10:28
ICE For My Pajero... is this Configuration Ok ?? Tool In-Car Entertainment 52 30th January 2008 12:33
A Vehicle Configuration Information System Venkatesh.C Technical Stuff 11 20th September 2007 13:52
Configuration for Tata Safari lastmanstanding In-Car Entertainment 13 17th June 2006 10:29


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 17:39.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks