Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 20th March 2008, 12:19   #736
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

Liked the 4 GB ram. And the raid 1.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2008, 12:25   #737
BHPian
 
nripin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 131
Thanked: Once
Default

Congrats on ya desktop Work Horse

I am planing a workstation from Dell Precision soon
nripin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2008, 12:29   #738
Senior - BHPian
 
reignofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,177
Thanked: 1,104 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by normally_crazy View Post
Sweet !!! with 4 GB and XP - it has to be blindingly fast !!

OT - GTO, I notice the Marlboro pack above and the Fire Extinguisher below the table
Applications in XP can't use 4GB. Max one is limited to is either 2GB or 3GB with the /3GB switch in boot.ini. The only possible place where 4GB might be useful is rendering. I'd choose fast 2GB (DDR2 1000 with 4-4-4 latencies or better) over slow 4GB. The performance difference going from 800MHz ram at 5-5-5 latencies to 1000Mz at 4-4-4 latencies is quite dramatic in stuff which is bandwidth hungry like 3D stuff and games, assuming one is at a high enough FSB.

Last edited by reignofchaos : 20th March 2008 at 12:32.
reignofchaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2008, 12:30   #739
Senior - BHPian
 
ashthedivx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,351
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

Neat 4 GB Ram too good congrats... Install Vista or XP 64 Bit to get the clean performance.

Last edited by ashthedivx : 20th March 2008 at 12:31.
ashthedivx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2008, 12:54   #740
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: B'lore-Manipal
Posts: 22,043
Thanked: 13,496 Times
Default

Cough, cough, is it only used as a desktop?
Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2008, 13:54   #741
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 46,561
Thanked: 80,357 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by normally_crazy View Post
Sweet !!! with 4 GB and XP - it has to be blindingly fast !!
You bet! 3 months back, I got an IBM laptop with the then latest specs. That seems archaic in comparison. Why do desktops always seem to run faster?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rev_hard View Post
A wireless keyboard and a mouse would have been an apt tick on the options list perhaps
Good point. Will find someone in the office to offload my wired keyboard too in a little time

Quote:
Originally Posted by kjdesigns_2000 View Post
Is that F2001 1:24 or 1:18. looks nice.
I must say, great observation on identifying the F2001! It is a 1:18.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajmat View Post
Is that an i-drive on the keyboard or a COMMAND module!
German cars live in our minds, dont they?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bottle View Post
really nice office whats it for ?
We are into international education.

Quote:
Originally Posted by black12rr View Post
I would have gone in for 22 inch LCD or even 24 inch . 22 inch is like 13 k .

4GB on windows xp pro is overkill . Also xp cannot address 4 gb . Your wasting ram there .Will be useful when you upgrade to vista.

Can you tell how much was the final bill ?
Well, I didn't want a larger screen than this in my office. Home use, maybe. But I tested a couple at vijay sales before zeroing in on this size. I find it ideal.

The specs for this computer were taken from Samurai. I guess he factored in a future upgrade to Vista for the 4 GB RAM.

Web price was 80 odd grand. The sales rep cut it by 25%. So it came up to 60 with taxes (including the pointless octroi), shipping and 3 year warranty.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nripin View Post
I am planing a workstation from Dell Precision soon
Do shoot me a PM and speak to the guy who handled my purchase. Big fat discount on web prices assured.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
Cough, cough, is it only used as a desktop?
I was just waiting for that! The primary purpose for my buying this desktop is to run the fabulous client management system that Samurai has installed in my office. He built it from ground up...the system is absolutely customised and accomodates the smallest to largest of our requirements.

It is currently being tweaked. Not only will it make my life much easier, but will also give our organisation the chance to take a GIANT leap forward.
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2008, 14:08   #742
Senior - BHPian
 
normally_crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 4,368
Thanked: 383 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTO View Post
Web price was 80 odd grand. The sales rep cut it by 25%. So it came up to 60 with taxes (including the pointless octroi), shipping and 3 year warranty.
Do shoot me a PM and speak to the guy who handled my purchase. Big fat discount on web prices assured.
Will keep this in mind.

Quote:
I was just waiting for that! The primary purpose for my buying this desktop is to run the fabulous client management system that Samurai has installed in my office. He built it from ground up...the system is absolutely customised and accomodates the smallest to largest of our requirements.

It is currently being tweaked. Not only will it make my life much easier, but will also give our organisation the chance to take a GIANT leap forward.
I would love to see when operational ?
normally_crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2008, 14:08   #743
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: B'lore-Manipal
Posts: 22,043
Thanked: 13,496 Times
Default

This PC also hosts MySQL server, Web server and a Workflow engine and related web services. So there is justification for that high-end specs, it needed to be scalable to handle the growth of the company.
Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2008, 14:15   #744
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: N.A
Posts: 6,819
Thanked: 1,439 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rev_hard View Post
A wireless keyboard and a mouse would have been an apt tick on the options list perhaps
Amen! The wired stuff looks weird.
Steeroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2008, 14:20   #745
Senior - BHPian
 
spadival's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 1,770
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

Cool Specs.. GTO, Remember NOT to switch off the Server at your EOD. There might be people still accessing the server, unless of course, The Boss is the last person to leave office
spadival is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2008, 14:21   #746
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chennai
Posts: 399
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Congrats, nice specs on that rig.
But I'm surprised; do business folks still buy desktops for workstation use? I would've thought laptops had them beaten soundly for convenience, power consumption, aesthetics, mobility etc. Desktops still get nice price/performance ratios though.

Edit: okay, so it's a server too. I'd however still recommend using a dedicated box for the server. Put this guy in a nice cooled den, and get a laptop for yourself

Last edited by ballkey : 20th March 2008 at 14:25.
ballkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2008, 14:33   #747
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 46,561
Thanked: 80,357 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by normally_crazy View Post
I would love to see when operational ?
Drop by anytime. I trained the staff only yesterday on using it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by spadival View Post
Cool Specs.. GTO, Remember NOT to switch off the Server at your EOD. There might be people still accessing the server, unless of course, The Boss is the last person to leave office
Yup, my workstation is the first to start in the morning, and the last to shutoff. Also on Samurais recommendation, I have connected an APC power backup to this machine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ballkey View Post
But I'm surprised; do business folks still buy desktops for workstation use?
Already have a laptop for myself but I much prefer the large screen and convenient keyboard for work. Laptop is now used sparingly at home, or when out of the office.
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2008, 14:40   #748
Team-BHP Support
 
Rudra Sen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 10,327
Thanked: 3,832 Times
Default

What!! Only 4GB ram? C'mon man!
Rudra Sen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2008, 14:42   #749
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Nikhilb2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 4,663
Thanked: 3,132 Times
Default

Nice stuff !! But as ROC said, it would have been better to go for faster 2 GB RAM. If you plan on upgrading to Vista soon, then I guess it makes more sense.

What is the model number of the screen ? Is it the Dell 2008 ?
Nikhilb2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2008, 14:59   #750
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: B'lore-Manipal
Posts: 22,043
Thanked: 13,496 Times
Default

Actually, I wasn't thinking about Vista at all. Originally it was supposed to have Windows 2003 R2 server, dedicated as application/database server. Then the logistics/realities at GTO's office intervened and it ended up doing additional duty as his desktop station too. That's how OS changed from Win2003 to XP-Pro.
Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding sub+amp to this configuration -> feasable? DCEite In-Car Entertainment 10 28th October 2010 01:12
Configuration For Multitasking PC MADMAX111 Gadgets, Computers & Software 19 27th March 2008 10:28
ICE For My Pajero... is this Configuration Ok ?? Tool In-Car Entertainment 52 30th January 2008 12:33
A Vehicle Configuration Information System Venkatesh.C Technical Stuff 11 20th September 2007 13:52
Configuration for Tata Safari lastmanstanding In-Car Entertainment 13 17th June 2006 10:29


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 05:26.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks