Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 17th June 2008, 19:52   #871
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,781
Thanked: 1,210 Times
Default

@ aaggoswami- it seems everything you have runs hot man!
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2008, 20:06   #872
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,652
Thanked: 1,381 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
@ aaggoswami- it seems everything you have runs hot man!
, but thats really not my fault. The card costed me around 2000 rs. I was expecting active cooling, but it wasnt there.
My processor first overheated now solved that with two fans for it.

I think that spending more on cabinet would have helped as this cabinet simply lacks cooling. Provision for just two 80mm fans, one on side panel and one on rear.
aaggoswami is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2008, 20:08   #873
BHPian
 
vvvinod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 192
Thanked: 9 Times
Default

Desktop :

Compaq Presario 2282
Made in singapore
Year of Make 1998
OS : 98 First Edition
Processor : Cyrix 233 Mhz, no cooling fan connected to it, only cooling sink
RAM : 48 MB, Upgradable up to 256MB
Hard Disk : 4 GB , upgradable up to 40 GB
Monitor : 15" Compaq Make Sony
Yamaha sound card
Inbuilt modem
Multimedia key board
2 USB ports
With wonderful JBL speakers ( no need of power, plug in to audio jack that’s it, it rocks. My Sony 6x9 inch car speakers are no way near to this )
I bought this in 1998 Nov, still running without any issues
With licensed OS and office


Laptop:

Dell Latitude D 620
2 Ghz
2 GB RAM
256 MB video card
100 GB HDD
With XP Sp2


Nothing much to say about this guy, Still I love my Presario

Last edited by vvvinod : 17th June 2008 at 20:12.
vvvinod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2008, 20:24   #874
Senior - BHPian
 
faithless_1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,517
Thanked: 184 Times
Default

HP 530 NOTEBOOK

Intel® Core Duo Processor T5200 @1.60Ghz
1 GB RAM
140 GB HD
15.4-inch diagonal WXGA Brightview
With XP SP2
faithless_1984 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2008, 20:31   #875
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,652
Thanked: 1,381 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vvvinod View Post
Desktop :

Compaq Presario 2282
Made in singapore
Year of Make 1998
OS : 98 First Edition
Processor : Cyrix 233 Mhz, no cooling fan connected to it, only cooling sink
RAM : 48 MB, Upgradable up to 256MB
Hard Disk : 4 GB , upgradable up to 40 GB
Monitor : 15" Compaq Make Sony
Yamaha sound card
Inbuilt modem
Multimedia key board
2 USB ports
With wonderful JBL speakers ( no need of power, plug in to audio jack that’s it, it rocks. My Sony 6x9 inch car speakers are no way near to this )
I bought this in 1998 Nov, still running without any issues
With licensed OS and office




Nothing much to say about this guy, Still I love my Presario
We have a Cyrix 300 MHz running Windows 98 with a 4 GB seagate HDD and 256MB RAM. Its great machine for development work specailly coding. I love this machine and infact this is the most realiable machine we have out of the 5!
aaggoswami is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2008, 11:38   #876
BHPian
 
Amey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 679
Thanked: 189 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaggoswami View Post
Are you using water cooling for processor ?

Does the HD3450 overheat ? My 7300GT from point-of-view heats upto 90 deg celcius.
for 5.4GHz i used Dry Ice + Acetone with my custom made copper pot.

The HD3450 does work warm but not piping hot.
Amey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2008, 21:16   #877
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,652
Thanked: 1,381 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amey View Post
for 5.4GHz i used Dry Ice + Acetone with my custom made copper pot.

The HD3450 does work warm but not piping hot.
Thanks. Looks like an older core with manufacturing nm difference is hurting me!
aaggoswami is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2008, 04:45   #878
BHPian
 
Swiftron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 53
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Custom Built
CoolerMaster Cosmos 1000 Cabinet
nVIDIA nForce 680SLI System Board
Intel Core2Duo - 2.6GHz
2 x 7300GT nVIDIA in SLI
2 x 2GB DDR2 RAM running @ 1066MHz
2 x 350GB SATA HDD
DVD+-RW DualLayer
DVD-Rom
CoolerMaster 800w PSU
CoolerMaster Mars CPU Cooler
21" Samsung SyncMaster

Running Windows Vista Ultimate 32bit & Windows XP Pro 32bit

Dell Inspiron E1505/6400
2 x 2GB 800MHz RAM
Intel Core2Duo 2.4GHz
256MB 7600GS nVIDIA Video
Windows XP Pro 32bit

Apple
PowerBook G4
OS Tiger
Swiftron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2008, 18:33   #879
Senior - BHPian
 
ImmortalZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 2,133
Thanked: 137 Times
Default

Custom Built

Antec PerformanceOne Case
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe, custom BIOS for Premium level stability.
AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.8Ghz (from 1.8)
Corsair TWINX1024-3200LLPT
Sapphire HD2900XT 1GB
Antec TruePower Quattro 850W PSU
Zalman CNPS7700AlCu CPU cooler, custom built NB cooler for mobo.
2x 80 GB Seagate
2x 160GB Samsung
1x 120GB Western Digital
1x 1TB Seagate
Lite-On 1673S flashed to 1693S
2x Dell 2005FPW (20" widescreen, S-IPS panels)

I know the PSU is overkill, but I hope to keep it for my next system build (probably an Intel Nehalem or AMD 45nm quad based build with ATI 4870X2, all water cooled).
ImmortalZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2008, 20:40   #880
BHPian
 
rohan_fonseca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Panaji
Posts: 984
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swiftron View Post
Custom Built
CoolerMaster Cosmos 1000 Cabinet
nVIDIA nForce 680SLI System Board
Intel Core2Duo - 2.6GHz
2 x 7300GT nVIDIA in SLI
2 x 2GB DDR2 RAM running @ 1066MHz
2 x 350GB SATA HDD
DVD+-RW DualLayer
DVD-Rom
CoolerMaster 800w PSU
CoolerMaster Mars CPU Cooler
21" Samsung SyncMaster

Running Windows Vista Ultimate 32bit & Windows XP Pro 32bit
Why did you prefer 7300gt 2way SLI over a single higher end 8800?
rohan_fonseca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2008, 22:27   #881
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 102
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amey View Post
Not necessarily.
The uniqe aspect of the BE is unlocked multipliers.Which comes in very handy while overclocking.And since they are OC oriented, they are better binned chips.
Amey sir- you are the original AMD guru.
I am sure you know all this and mostly misunderstood the other post.
But you mus have never bothered about any other chip apart from the highly OCeable black editions ones.

'Black Edition' (with unlocked multi) is called 'Black Edition' only and not BE.
'BE' and 'EE' are the energy efficient low TDP proccies from AMD.
Like say you have a X2 4200+, there maybe a X2 4200+ BE with lower TDP (45W iirc) and maybe labelled as a X2 4250e iirc.
I don't know but Apo sir had mentioned about trying to get an X2 4450 for his htpc iirc- so that model is there for sure.
BIKeINSTEIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2008, 23:00   #882
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,781
Thanked: 1,210 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swiftron View Post
Intel Core2Duo - 2.6GHz
2 x 7300GT nVIDIA in SLI
2 x 2GB DDR2 RAM running @ 1066MHz
2 x 350GB SATA HDD
DVD+-RW DualLayer
DVD-Rom
Quote:
Originally Posted by rohan_fonseca View Post
Why did you prefer 7300gt 2way SLI over a single higher end 8800?
I guess he took the '2 of everything' concept a bit too far
2 cores, 2 cards. 2 Ram sticks,2 HDD's 2 DVD's ...

PS: are those 2 HDD's in raid ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImmortalZ View Post
Custom Built
Is this in tvm ?

Last edited by greenhorn : 1st July 2008 at 23:04.
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2008, 23:27   #883
BHPian
 
Swiftron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 53
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rohan_fonseca View Post
Why did you prefer 7300gt 2way SLI over a single higher end 8800?
Budget constraints mate, i am saving up for 2 x 9600 series cards to run on SLI now. Should be able to buy in a month or two.
Swiftron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2008, 23:41   #884
BHPian
 
Swiftron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 53
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
I guess he took the '2 of everything' concept a bit too far
2 cores, 2 cards. 2 Ram sticks,2 HDD's 2 DVD's ...

PS: are those 2 HDD's in raid ?


Is this in tvm ?


Not really mate, i had the HDD's and the Optical drives from my older system. The HDD's are not on RAID but i am thinking of it. Planning to get another 500GB and use the other 2 on Raid 1 for OS and Applications. The 500GB will be mainly for storage.

2 RAMs cause it performs better in Dual-Channel mode. Similar speed and capacity in Dual-Channel gives much better performance compared to 1 single module.


Sorry i didnt understand what a TVM is?
Swiftron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2008, 00:04   #885
BHPian
 
MA5K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 76
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
I guess he took the '2 of everything' concept a bit too far
Like they have on trucks "We two, Ours two" / "Hum do, Hamare do"


Here's my (yester year) rig:
Zebronics Pyramid Server Chassis with Antec Neo HE 500W PSU
DFI LanParty UT nF4-SLI DR Expert with HR-05 SLi on chipset
AMD Opteron 165 with XP-90c
OCZ Rev2 Platinum (TCC5) 2x512MB
Sapphire Radeon X1950 Pro 512MB
Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music
Sennheiser HD580 with custom built amp
1 x 80GB + 2 x 320GB + 1 x 500GB
DVD Writer + DVD ROM
SyncMaster 750 ST (17" CRT )
Razer Diamondback LE
HP nice ergonomic keyboard
APC Smart-UPS 750VA
MA5K is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding sub+amp to this configuration -> feasable? DCEite In-Car Entertainment 10 28th October 2010 01:12
Configuration For Multitasking PC MADMAX111 Gadgets, Computers & Software 19 27th March 2008 10:28
ICE For My Pajero... is this Configuration Ok ?? Tool In-Car Entertainment 52 30th January 2008 12:33
A Vehicle Configuration Information System Venkatesh.C Technical Stuff 11 20th September 2007 13:52
Configuration for Tata Safari lastmanstanding In-Car Entertainment 13 17th June 2006 10:29


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 17:50.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks