Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 2nd July 2008, 02:33   #886
Senior - BHPian
 
ImmortalZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 2,133
Thanked: 137 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
I guess he took the '2 of everything' concept a bit

Is this in tvm ?
Yessir!

Second Dell monitor sent for replacement though. They don't make the 2005FPW anymore and wants to sell me a crappy 2008FPW (TN panel and 3x less price). I'm trying to negotiate for an upgraded size (2408FPW looks nice ) as a replacement.
ImmortalZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2008, 07:30   #887
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,710
Thanked: 1,080 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swiftron View Post
Sorry i didnt understand what a TVM is?
That Question was for Immortalz
greenhorn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2008, 17:10   #888
Senior - BHPian
 
ph03n!x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Madras
Posts: 1,703
Thanked: 105 Times
Default

Desktop (Custom Built)

iBall cabinet
Antec EarthWatts EA500 SMPS
ASUS P5B Deluxe (P965)
Intel Pentium IV 630 [3.0 Ghz, underclocked to 1.8 Ghz (120 Mhx x 15)]
ST3500630AS (500 GB SATA II, 16 MB Buffer, 300 Mbps, NCQ)
ST3160211AS (160 GB SATA I, 2 MB Buffer, 150 Mbps, NCQ)
ST380011A (80 GB PATA 133 Mbps)
ST380011A (80 GB External USB 2.0 Casing)
Samsung SH-203D DVD-RW (2 MB Buffer)
Plextor 716A DVD-RW (8 MB Buffer)
2 x 1 GB 667 Mhz DDR2 (Kingston) [Underclocked to 120 Mhz]
nVidia 7300GS 256MB
Logitech MM Keyboard and Optical Mouse
Samsung 793s 17" CRT
APC SmartUPS AVR 500
Built-in 7.1 Audio, connected to my Sony MHC GN88D

Planned Upgrades:
Additional 500 GB HDD (to retire the additional HDDs)
E7200 or Q6600 - still not decided!
Samsung 22'' LCD 2243NWX

Laptop (IBM Thinkpad R60)
C2D T5500 1.66 Mhz
P946 Northbridge
60 GB HDD
CD-RW + DVD-ROM Combo
2 x 512 MB DDR2 667 Mhz
Biometrics
ph03n!x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2008, 17:21   #889
Senior - BHPian
 
ph03n!x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Madras
Posts: 1,703
Thanked: 105 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swiftron View Post
Sorry i didnt understand what a TVM is?
TVM = Trivandrum!!
ph03n!x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2008, 00:07   #890
BHPian
 
Swiftron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 53
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
That Question was for Immortalz
Quote:
Originally Posted by ph03n!x View Post
TVM = Trivandrum!!

Lolz ok. Never realised that. I though it was some technical jargon

By the way the Dell 24series is a good one. They have the new 30" monitor with direct Composite, S-Video, Component, HDMI, VGA, 2 DVI and a DisplayPort Connector. Pretty cool. Dont need a TV at all.
Swiftron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2008, 14:41   #891
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Thrissur
Posts: 3
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTO View Post
Mine:

Compaq X1000 Laptop

1. Pentium Centrino 1.4 Ghz Processor
2. 60G 5400 rpm Hard drive
3. 512 MB Ram
4. WSXGA+ 1680x1050 resolution 15.4 inch widescreen.
5. 64 MB Video Card.
6. 3000w Altec Lansing Speakers with Subwoofer (External).
7. DVD/CDRW with external Yamaha CRW-F1 burner (am damn particular about my music quality)

Its lightning fast, and I reinstall the OS myself every three months to have a clean system. Have the hard drive partitioned into 3 parts of 20G's each.

GTO
Wow! I own a lappy of the same series. Similar config except for the HDD and DVD drive, mine is 80GB and a dvd +R writer. She was the best money could buy (in India) way back in 2004. Still works lightning fast. I have not found many people having the X1000 series.

As for the desktops,

I have my old HP Brio - P3 550Mhz + 265 MB ram running as a file server. I have more than 900GB of movies/softwares/games.

Then I have a Athlon - 2.5GHZ + 1 GB ram + 2X80GB HDD in Raid 0 config + 256MB ATI x300 Gfx (yes, its time to upgrade) for my gaming need.

But right now I mostly play on my PSP.
fastcoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2008, 23:19   #892
BHPian
 
Swiftron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 53
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastcoder View Post
But right now I mostly play on my PSP.
What version firmware are you running on your PSP. Are you using the original UMD's or ISO's from a memory card?
Swiftron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2008, 17:24   #893
Newbie
 
arunjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Thodupuzha
Posts: 20
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

My cdonfiguration(self assembled):
Processor:Intel Quadcore Q6600
Motherboard:Asus P5N32-SLI
Ram:Corsair Dominator 2GB
Power supply:Coolermaster 650W
Graphics card:XFX 8800GTS
Cabinet:Zebronics Antibiotic
Monitor :Samsung LCD 19"
Keyboard & Mouse:Logitech Gaming Combo
Ups:APC 650ES
arunjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2008, 09:16   #894
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 172
Thanked: 67 Times
Default

Been to Chroma on Sunday. I saw a Acer x1200, very slim. Specs were very good for the price offered.
AMD 4200+
320GB
2GB DDR2
Nvidia 8200 Chipset Mobo (HDMI)
DVD writer.

All for Rs.20000! No operating system installed. 1 year warranty. No Monitor.

The cabinet was ultra slim, black finish. How reliable are these? Anyone has experience with slim line pcs(mini pc/ultra small factor?)
Blue_V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2008, 10:09   #895
BHPian
 
Amey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 679
Thanked: 189 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by arunjp View Post
My cdonfiguration(self assembled):
Processor:Intel Quadcore Q6600
Motherboard:Asus P5N32-SLI
Ram:Corsair Dominator 2GB
Power supply:Coolermaster 650W
Graphics card:XFX 8800GTS
Cabinet:Zebronics Antibiotic
Monitor :Samsung LCD 19"
Keyboard & Mouse:Logitech Gaming Combo
Ups:APC 650ES
Sweet config there !
May i ask, why such a crappy chassis though ?
Amey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2008, 10:30   #896
BHPian
 
hyper123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 321
Thanked: Once
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ph03n!x View Post
Desktop (Custom Built)

Intel Pentium IV 630 [3.0 Ghz, underclocked to 1.8 Ghz (120 Mhx x 15)]
Why is it underclocked? What are the benefits, apart from lower operating tempatures?
hyper123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2008, 12:10   #897
Senior - BHPian
 
ph03n!x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Madras
Posts: 1,703
Thanked: 105 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hyper123 View Post
Why is it underclocked? What are the benefits, apart from lower operating tempatures?
My computer runs 24x7 (torrents ), and as it is widely known, Pentium IV run HOT, and hence consume a lot of power.

If it runs with standard settings, i end up having a real hot room (yes - my room itself gets warmer!). The processor idles at around 50C and goes as high as 65C with load. vCore would be about 1.32v

I also have multiple HDDs, it is not good for them either - though each HDD has its own cooling fan.

So, to save on my electricity bills and to save my other components getting spoilt because of Intel's "netBURST", I have under-clocked its FSB to 120 Mhz from 200 Mhz. It now runs in the 30C's, and does not cross 50 - 55C even under load. vCore is now at 1.06v or less!

I do see a hit in terms of performance - IE or Office Apps take a second more to open, but once they are up, it is all smooth - I am running Vista Ultimate, mind you!!
ph03n!x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2008, 12:45   #898
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,406 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hyper123 View Post
Why is it underclocked? What are the benefits, apart from lower operating tempatures?
1. Power consumption is lower
2. Life of processor increases.

Electronics function best and most optimum in a temperature range. Of course they can work in extreme conditions too, as long as its within the prescribed range, but the performance decreases.
For example a a 3GHZ processor if overclocked with start failing certain instructions if clocked to 4GHz, but if you lower temperature you can do 4GHz.
So a processor in the best possible conditions can do 25-30% more than the rated speed. You just loose on tolerances.
In normal conditions, underclocking will just save your power, and you can shut down some case fans etc., other than that you won't notice anything because normally users change processor after 2-3 years.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2008, 12:52   #899
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,710
Thanked: 1,080 Times
Default

and I might add that it runs more silently too. the P IV fan at full load is VERY loud... almost as loud as the radiator fan in my car
greenhorn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2008, 14:32   #900
BHPian
 
Amey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 679
Thanked: 189 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
and I might add that it runs more silently too. the P IV fan at full load is VERY loud... almost as loud as the radiator fan in my car
Correction : The radiator fan will feel ashamed infront of a fan in Prescott specific HSF.
Amey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding sub+amp to this configuration -> feasable? DCEite In-Car Entertainment 10 28th October 2010 01:12
Configuration For Multitasking PC MADMAX111 Gadgets, Computers & Software 19 27th March 2008 10:28
ICE For My Pajero... is this Configuration Ok ?? Tool In-Car Entertainment 52 30th January 2008 12:33
A Vehicle Configuration Information System Venkatesh.C Technical Stuff 11 20th September 2007 13:52
Configuration for Tata Safari lastmanstanding In-Car Entertainment 13 17th June 2006 10:29


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 08:05.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks