Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28th October 2008, 17:56   #961
aZa
Senior - BHPian
 
aZa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Noida / Delhi
Posts: 1,595
Thanked: 17 Times
Default

just upgraded to XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition from a 8600GT.
aZa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th October 2008, 19:03   #962
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,800
Thanked: 1,255 Times
Default

why an 8800GT now , unless you got it dirt cheap. the 9800GT is already out, and the 4850 is even better VFM
greenhorn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2008, 01:30   #963
aZa
Senior - BHPian
 
aZa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Noida / Delhi
Posts: 1,595
Thanked: 17 Times
Default

Got a used one from a friend ...........very cheap

greenhorn how does 9800gt compare with 8800gt?
aZa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2008, 02:41   #964
BHPian
 
rohan_fonseca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Panaji
Posts: 984
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
why an 8800GT now , unless you got it dirt cheap. the 9800GT is already out, and the 4850 is even better VFM
What's the difference between the 8800GT and 9800Gt?
rohan_fonseca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2008, 05:42   #965
BHPian
 
Tool's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 350
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Hello everyone.. Long time
Here is my rig in its present state..
Waiting for Intel Icore 7 nehlem very badly.
Current Setup
Intel 2.4 Ghz quad core Q6600 running at 3 Ghz (Overclocked)
Cpu Cooler :- Coolermaster Hyper 212
Motherboard :- Asus P5Q Premium
Ram - Corsair Dominator DDR3 4GB rated @ddr3 1800
Videocards :- 2 Sapphire Ati 4870x2's (4 GB DDR5)
Powersupply :- Corsair Hx1000 1Kw Psu
Antec 1200 Case With 9 120mm Fans
2x1TB WD Hard Drives
2x150GB Wester Digital VelociRaptor 10000 Rpm Hard Drives in Raid 0 /128 Kb Stripe ( Boot drives)
1 x Seagate 1 TB External Hard Drive
DVD Writer :- LG 20x DVD DL writer
Benq Fp241w 24" 1920x1200 Monitor with HDMI and Component Inputs
Soundcards :-Motu 828MKII and a RME Hammerfall DSP ( for my production work)
Vista 64 Bit.


On a seperate Note... 1 of my Sapphire Ati 4870x2 Cards i got down is acting funny
and am currently not running it . For some reason cant get the second core on the card to Link up and Initialize :(
Card is currently back on its way to Newegg . Had to Rma it as was my last chance to get the card to them . Waiting for a replacement.
Also am comtemplating selling this 4870x2 thats working brilliantly as well
reason being you ask ?
Diamond Multimedia has just launched a Over Clocked version of the Ati 4870x2's and im thinking about getting 2 of them instead.
Diamond Multimedia = Outstanding QC and Manufacturing
So yeah thats my system as of now !!
Cheers everyone.

Last edited by Tool : 29th October 2008 at 05:45.
Tool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2008, 06:39   #966
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,800
Thanked: 1,255 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aZa View Post
greenhorn how does 9800gt compare with 8800gt?
Quote:
Originally Posted by rohan_fonseca View Post
What's the difference between the 8800GT and 9800Gt?
not much actually. To quote a small man (!) in orange shorts, they're a mix of marketing and technology. A few features were added, and a die shrink was involved, but performance wise , not much. Some have even bios flashed their 8800's to 9800's.

the differences are explained in this review Palit GeForce 9800 GT 1 GB Video Card Review | Hardware Secrets


however , if you're in the market for a 10k card, the Ati Radeon 4850 is by far the better card
greenhorn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2008, 08:16   #967
BHPian
 
johnda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tvla
Posts: 401
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anupmathur View Post
John, what kind of work is done on that machine?
Heavy graphics software like CS2, CorelDraw, Flash etc.. would work well?
I'm seriously thinking of getting one.
Anupmathur, sorry about not replying earlier, i just saw this today. Well, i have 1GB RAM and a 120GB hardrive. Now that is already Low end requirement for any sort of heavy job. but nevertheless if you run a program like CS3 you shouldn't have any issues if you
*Exit before opening another heavy application simultaneously
*You leave about 30GB free on your hardrive
The reason, the video memory is shared from the 1GB system memory, and sadly is only 64MB. I run all the above mentioned programs and have no isues, as long as i don't overload the machine.
So if you have heavy graphics and A/V work then the iMac is the best choice.
you can get the 2.4 / 20" for about 57K and the 2.6 for 70K. there is no looking back after you do that.

Last edited by johnda : 29th October 2008 at 08:18.
johnda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2008, 08:31   #968
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,667
Thanked: 1,408 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rohan_fonseca View Post
What's the difference between the 8800GT and 9800Gt?
8800GT uses G92 core.
9800GT uses G92a/b ( basically variations ) core.

8800GT is available with fabrication at 65nm.
9800GT is available with fabrication at both 65nm and 55nm.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2008, 09:10   #969
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,800
Thanked: 1,255 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnda View Post
A the video memory is shared from the 1GB system memory, and sadly is only 64MB.
cant you change the shared memory size from bios
greenhorn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2008, 09:31   #970
aZa
Senior - BHPian
 
aZa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Noida / Delhi
Posts: 1,595
Thanked: 17 Times
Default

guys i've heard its possible to use two gfx cards without SLI and use one of the cards as a physics processor? I have 8600gt and ASUS P5N sli mobo. Can i used 8600gt as a dedicated physic processor?

what are the pros and cons of this config?
aZa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2008, 10:38   #971
BHPian
 
johnda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tvla
Posts: 401
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
cant you change the shared memory size from bios
On the Mac, tweeking is not really an option unless you know OSX well enough i guess?. but inspite of having just 64MB for video, I have not come across any issues, I run CS3, HandBreak, Cinematize, iWorks, iLife etc. unlike my older machine, a P4 that ran on XP with 1GB of system RAM and 256MB of dedicated video RAM, and all the speeds and paging adjustments were made yet it drove up the wall.
IMO that with the Mac, it's software written for it's hardware and vise-versa. so the troubleshooting is at a low minimum.
But Greenhorn, if you come across anything that'll help me especially in the area of video RAM on a mac. Please let me know. thanks.
A good option for me is to upgrade my Sys RAM to 2GB
johnda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2008, 10:48   #972
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,800
Thanked: 1,255 Times
Default

i think more the mac can use up additional memory on the fly if required
GMA 950 -- Can it be uncapped? - MacNN Forums
greenhorn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2008, 11:14   #973
BHPian
 
johnda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tvla
Posts: 401
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
i think more the mac can use up additional memory on the fly if required
GMA 950 -- Can it be uncapped? - MacNN Forums
Greenhorn, thanks i went tru the link, sometimes technicalities get the better of me if there is a step by step instruction on tweaking it'll be great.
Secondly PM me so we don't hijack this thread.
johnda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2008, 12:35   #974
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Nikhilb2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 4,819
Thanked: 4,721 Times
Default

My current comp.

Intel C2D E8400
Asus P5Q Deluxe
4GB Transcend DDR2 800 Powerchip on Brainpower PCB
1.78TB of data (2x250 GB Seagate st3250310AS and 2xWD 640)
500 GB external Verbatim hdd
Sapphire HD 4870 GPU
Audigy 2 ZS
Cambridge Megaworks 5.1 550 (currently not working properly ).
Logitech Momo Force Feedback steering wheel
Microsoft Sidewinder Force Feedback for the Flight sims
Corsair HX 620.
MX 518 and Logitech G7.
Nikhilb2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2008, 15:32   #975
BHPian
 
Hells_Fury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 155
Thanked: 57 Times
Default

My config:
Intel C2Q Q6600
ASUS P5N32-E SLI
2GB Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
eVGA 8800GTX Superclocked
Corsair HX620
1.774TB Storage (WD Raptor 74GB, 2 X WD5000AAKS, WD MyBook 500GB, Maxtor 200GB)
Vantec HDD Dock
Logitech G5
Sony MDR-XD300 Headphones
Hells_Fury is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding sub+amp to this configuration -> feasable? DCEite In-Car Entertainment 10 28th October 2010 01:12
Configuration For Multitasking PC MADMAX111 Gadgets, Computers & Software 19 27th March 2008 10:28
ICE For My Pajero... is this Configuration Ok ?? Tool In-Car Entertainment 52 30th January 2008 12:33
A Vehicle Configuration Information System Venkatesh.C Technical Stuff 11 20th September 2007 13:52
Configuration for Tata Safari lastmanstanding In-Car Entertainment 13 17th June 2006 10:29


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 02:52.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks