Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10th November 2008, 20:34   #1021
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,800
Thanked: 1,255 Times
Default

@ svsanthosh, your PC looks like an ideal candidate for an ubuntu makeover
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2008, 23:27   #1022
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,663
Thanked: 1,399 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
9800GTX prices start @ 11.x rupees actually
Where ?
Which Manufacturer ?
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2008, 07:40   #1023
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,800
Thanked: 1,255 Times
Default

palit or zotac, dont exactly remember
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2008, 21:34   #1024
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 113
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Desktop -
Processor - AMD Athlon 64 bit - 2800
Motherboard - Gigabyte KMV800M
Memory - 1024 MB DDR RAM @ 400 mhz / PC 2100 ;
Hard Disk - 160 GB Seagate HDD @ 7200 RPM / 350 GB Seagate HDD @ 7200 RPM
Graphic Card - 256 MB ATi Radeon 9600
Cabinet - Circle
DVD Rom Drive - Pioneer(16X) + Sony(18X)
Monitor - 19 Inch Viewsonic LCD - Non widescreen
Mouse - Microsoft Basic Optical
Keyboard :- Dell 108 key non multimedia( my best buy...with me for 6 years now)
Sound : -Creative SBS 270 (2.1) for front mated with my old music system 2 speakers for rear.
Heat sink compound for processor and graphic cards: -Artic Silver 5
Power Supply : VIP Gold @ 400 W
UPS : -APC BS 650
f50xj13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2008, 18:44   #1025
BHPian
 
mav2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 564
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

So going with the opinion on the forum have just asked for the 4850, should be here anytime now. I have already uninstalled the nvidia drivers, ntune and nvidia physics something. have also got driver cleaner and will be running it now to clean up. So hopefully after this i just shut down, add the new card and presto, it should work...lets hope it goes ok. signing off for now.
mav2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2008, 23:08   #1026
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,800
Thanked: 1,255 Times
Default

you might need to check if your psu has the required connectors/card comes with required adapters etc, and do you have a 500W PSU ?
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2008, 01:25   #1027
BHPian
 
mav2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 564
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

Got it running, have a 500w psu and had the required connectors available also.. didnt know ati cards needed an additional power source. also had a bit of a scare as it stopped responding, guess it must have overheated, as i was trying out some of the overclocking features. but it works just fine now, tried crysis warhead and its much smoother with higher settings and also hellgate london, and that looks absolutly super. thanks for the reco guys.
mav2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2008, 11:52   #1028
BHPian
 
mav2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 564
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

Ok .so I have also upped the ram to 4 gb, but my guess is that windows xp only shows 3 gb max. Am i wrong here? The new card is miles above the 8500gt. But i guess that comparison cannot be made as they are at very differnet price points anyway. I saw a comparison between the 8800gt, the 9800gt and the 4850, and it was pretty close, so that probably gives an idea of what this card is capable of. I do have some new hardware issue which keeps popping up everytime i resatrt, but i think i have got it figured out, something to do with ati software cleaning out a few of the motherboard drivers. will check it later today. Overall pretty happy with my purchase. One last question. Is it worth it to upgrade to Windows Vista, for DX 10? Will there be a lag in performance?
mav2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2008, 12:34   #1029
BHPian
 
inferno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 208
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Bought my PC in Feb 07
nearly 1.5 years old.

Here goes the config:

Core2Duo - E6600 2.4Ghz 4MB cache
Motherboard - DG965WH ( got replaced once coz of pathetic capacitors used by Intel )
RAM - 2*1GB 800Mhz Kingston
Hard Disk - 300*3GB , Raid 0 , all 3 from seagate
Graphic - Geforce 8600GT ( bought later on when prices fell , as im not a gamer )
Monitor - Samsung 940BW , 19"
Speakers - Altec Lansing MX - 5021 ( Love them)
DVD - RW - Samsung
k/b mouse - logitech cordless, the most basic one

Using Windows vista ultimate since then and it runs butter smooth and I love vista no matter how much people bash this windows version.
Much better than XP and all latest applications run perfectly on it.
inferno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2008, 15:50   #1030
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,800
Thanked: 1,255 Times
Default

mav2000, vith sp1, the performance lag in vista is very little. try dual booting before you make the switch.
And while you're upgrading , upgrade to vista 64 bit. Only a 64 bit OS can fully utilize 4 GB of RAM
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2008, 16:15   #1031
BHPian
 
mav2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 564
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

Ok thanks, willl look at Vista basic. That should be enough for my home use.
mav2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2008, 16:25   #1032
Senior - BHPian
 
shuvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Calcutta
Posts: 1,081
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Guys, could you suggest a HDMI out wala card? Also, thinking of an audio card. Any suggestions? Total budget 15k.
I don't use my rig for gaming.
shuvd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2008, 16:31   #1033
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,800
Thanked: 1,255 Times
Default

what is your target use ?
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2008, 22:04   #1034
BHPian
 
mav2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 564
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

Hi, So after setting up the whole thing I still have two problems:

1. Microsoft UAA High definition audio bus
2. Other PCI device

Now I got the drivers and I dont see the yellow question mark in my hardware view screen anymore, but it still says found new hardware everytime I log on, but there is actually no problem. the computer runs fine, but how do I solve this.
mav2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2008, 22:42   #1035
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,800
Thanked: 1,255 Times
Default

no idea myself ( ubuntu user )
try posting here
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/gadget...thread-27.html (Windows Vista Discussion Thread)
from what i know , vista device support is not perfect, and it gets worse for 64 bit

Last edited by greenhorn : 24th November 2008 at 22:43.
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding sub+amp to this configuration -> feasable? DCEite In-Car Entertainment 10 28th October 2010 01:12
Configuration For Multitasking PC MADMAX111 Gadgets, Computers & Software 19 27th March 2008 10:28
ICE For My Pajero... is this Configuration Ok ?? Tool In-Car Entertainment 52 30th January 2008 12:33
A Vehicle Configuration Information System Venkatesh.C Technical Stuff 11 20th September 2007 13:52
Configuration for Tata Safari lastmanstanding In-Car Entertainment 13 17th June 2006 10:29


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 14:14.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks