Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28th November 2008, 11:03   #1051
Senior - BHPian
 
reignofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,177
Thanked: 1,104 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aZa View Post
What other board would you suggest ? anything below 10K
Gigabyte EP45-UDP3 or Asus P5Q-E. Either will serve you well.
reignofchaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2008, 11:45   #1052
Senior - BHPian
 
shuvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Calcutta
Posts: 1,081
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
check out the new ATI radeon 4550 /4530. not only do they offer HDMI out, but also 7.1 audio through HDMI also, removing the need for a soundcard.

if you are planning to get a whole system, there are some motherboards which have HDMI out
Thanks Greenhorn. I'll stick to my A Bit for now
Any NVIDIA suggestions?
shuvd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2008, 11:55   #1053
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,711
Thanked: 1,084 Times
Default

the Nvidia 9500 is there, but dont think its as good as either of the ATI cards
http://www.hardwarezone.com/articles...12&cid=3&pg=11
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2008, 12:57   #1054
BHPian
 
mav2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 562
Thanked: 117 Times
Default

Hi, which is a good 500W SMPS. I have having problems with my recent upgrade to the 4850, in that the card does not respond if I overclock it. Is it to do with the power or the temp. Till date I have not seen the temp go over 55 degrees, so I have a feeling that its got to do with my 400 w smps. Can someone help me here?
mav2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2008, 13:10   #1055
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,711
Thanked: 1,084 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mav2000 View Post
Hi, which is a good 500W SMPS. I have having problems with my recent upgrade to the 4850, in that the card does not respond if I overclock it. Is it to do with the power or the temp. Till date I have not seen the temp go over 55 degrees, so I have a feeling that its got to do with my 400 w smps. Can someone help me here?
but you said
Quote:
Originally Posted by mav2000 View Post
Got it running, have a 500w psu and had the required connectors available also
at any rate, the best 500W you can get hold of is the Corsair VX 450. should cost about 3.x k . and don't let the name fool you. its a very capable PSU
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2008, 13:58   #1056
BHPian
 
mav2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 562
Thanked: 117 Times
Default

Read online that there should be no problem with a 450W SMPS, so rechecked and found that the SMPS is 400W rated. So maybe thats the problem.
mav2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2008, 15:53   #1057
aZa
Senior - BHPian
 
aZa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Noida / Delhi
Posts: 1,595
Thanked: 17 Times
Default

Thanx roc, Gigabyte EP45-UDP3 looks very promising, will the CrossfireX support nvidia cards in sli ?

Whats the cost of this mobo?
aZa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2008, 16:00   #1058
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,711
Thanked: 1,084 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aZa View Post
Thanx roc, Gigabyte EP45-UDP3 looks very promising, will the CrossfireX support nvidia cards in sli ?
no . crossfire and sli are incompatible. I heard there are some sort of hacked drivers availabe, but not sure if they will work on the P45 chipset

Last edited by greenhorn : 28th November 2008 at 16:11.
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2008, 16:08   #1059
Senior - BHPian
 
shuvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Calcutta
Posts: 1,081
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Greenhorn, thanks for your inputs. Now, the main question.. cost???
shuvd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2008, 18:23   #1060
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Noida
Posts: 17
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
@ shadewalker, all this and still a CM600W? why not a corsair PSU(HX 620?)

and why AMD ? nice WC setup - what did you use ?

why not amd? anything intel can do so can amd for lesser price...

and why 600W and not hx620?

coz i'm going for a CM1200 watt psu
oh and i'm a cm fan
shadewalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2008, 19:16   #1061
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,711
Thanked: 1,084 Times
Default

@ shadewalker, I'm an AMD fan too ( all three of my rigs run AMD processors ) , but i feel, when it comes to absolute performance, Intel is still the best. The 5600 does not have a lot of overclocking potential, whereas you could have overclocked even an E2160 to crazy speeds with that setup of yours.
I like CM cabinets, but not their PSU's. Corsair PSU's are far better. i would suggest a corsair for your next PSU

@shuvd -
i think they cost about 3.5k
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2008, 22:19   #1062
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,628
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
@ shadewalker, I'm an AMD fan too ( all three of my rigs run AMD processors ) , but i feel, when it comes to absolute performance, Intel is still the best. The 5600 does not have a lot of overclocking potential, whereas you could have overclocked even an E2160 to crazy speeds with that setup of yours.
Agree that AMD does not have as much overclocking headroom as much Intel, but compare a 3 GHZ core 2 duo and look at headroom. Not much better than AMD unless we bring in liquid cooling.
About my setup, I am running my X2 5000+ at 3.0 GHZ and we took Black Edition to 3.6 on 790FX.

But Intel is better any given day.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2008, 13:35   #1063
Senior - BHPian
 
rider60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bhagyanagaram. (A.K.A. Hyderabad)
Posts: 1,619
Thanked: 47 Times
Default

here is my config 2years old now

intel pentiumD processor 3.0GHZ Model no:925
intel MotherBoard Classic Series DG965RY
graphic card recently purchased ZOTAC 8600GT - 512MB
ram KINGSTON DDR 533Mhz X 2 - 1GB=2GB
Hdd seagate barracuda SATA 160GB
Zebronics ATX Tower
2 X LG DVD writers
samsung 793s CRT sync master monitor
creative 4.1 speakers
Microsoft Keyboard the comfort curve 2000 VER-1.0
Logitech mouse MX 518 gaming mouse
microtek ups 1KVA gives me a good 1/2 hour back up!!!
creative headphones for gaming as of now, i break one every 3 months so this is current only.
tech-com tv tuner card EXT, running my viewsonic widescreen 19 inches monitor for tv, it has my age old APC ups that does good for 25 mins back up after recent battery change for the TFT. tv is running logitech R-10 speakers with stereo out jack.

now i really need help buying a nice monitor preferably LCD-TFT after all these years of CRT clarity i want some thing that can get me as much lesser reponse times and clarity as a CRT in say below 9K budget, now size is not a concern, the minimum size i need is say 15-17" if not more.

please help me out with part, i am a complete newbie now to the computer world its been ages since i have been to the market and ages have passed since i last saw a Digit magazine.

well that resulted in me picking up a stupid graphic card GEforce 8600GT 512MB for my PCI-E slot i guess, i sincerely hoping that choice was not wrong as told by my friends but some where i still feel i should i picked up a better model, well i bought it for 3.2K.

so guys enough boring talk please i need to know only two things was my choice correct about the graphic card i picked last month?
and please suggest me a LCD-/TFT monitor with the above mentioned specs and requirements.
rider60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2008, 10:36   #1064
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,628
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

@rider60:
I am not very sure about the prices of south ( they are less ) but for 9K you can get 19" viewsonic monitors with resolution of 1440X900. The model is VA1912W( not sure about its availability ). However, there is no DVI input. So for around 10K you will get Viewsonic 19" with DVI input.
Buy from wholesaler, you will get the stuff cheaper than most.

If budget strictly 9K, then
1) Viewsonic 19" 1912WB-3,
max resolution = 1440X900
response time = 5ms
contrast ratio = 500:1
Aspect ratio = 4:3
Input = ONLY D-sub.

If you are not involved much in gaming or in 3D development, and do more of software part ( writing code, etc ), occasional gamer, then this monitor is good.

If budget a bit stretchable.

Here are the models:
1) Viewsonic 19" VA1926W,
max resolution 1440X900,
Aspect ratio = 16:10,
Response time = 5ms,
Brightness = 300cd/m2,
Contrast ratio = 500:1,
Input = DVI and D-sub,
Approx cost around 9.8K to 10K

2)
Viewsonic 19" VX1940W,
max resolution = 1680X1050,
Aspect ratio = 16:10,
Response time = 2ms,
Brightness = 300cd/m2,
Contrast ratio = 1000:1,
Input = DVI and D-sub,
Approx cost around 10K to 10.5K

Last edited by aaggoswami : 2nd December 2008 at 10:50.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2008, 10:54   #1065
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,711
Thanked: 1,084 Times
Default

rider. you can get LCD monitors with fast response times - the viewsonic VS series is all you need

the 17" widescreens have the same resolution as the 19" widescreens, so they will be sharper

the 8600GT at 3.2k is a bit steep, but will do.

the issue with LCD's is that the affordable models will be TN panels which cant reproduce colours perfectly
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding sub+amp to this configuration -> feasable? DCEite In-Car Entertainment 10 28th October 2010 01:12
Configuration For Multitasking PC MADMAX111 Gadgets, Computers & Software 19 27th March 2008 10:28
ICE For My Pajero... is this Configuration Ok ?? Tool In-Car Entertainment 52 30th January 2008 12:33
A Vehicle Configuration Information System Venkatesh.C Technical Stuff 11 20th September 2007 13:52
Configuration for Tata Safari lastmanstanding In-Car Entertainment 13 17th June 2006 10:29


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 01:55.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks