Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 6th December 2008, 19:59   #1081
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

go for a single card 8800gt you would be much happy with the results
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2008, 20:03   #1082
BHPian
 
xtremeshock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 345
Thanked: 76 Times
Default

thanks for your answer, any idea how much it approximately costs, have been out of the computing world since i got my comp.
xtremeshock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2008, 01:26   #1083
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xtremeshock View Post
thanks for your answer, any idea how much it approximately costs, have been out of the computing world since i got my comp.

It would be approx 8-9k range.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2008, 01:58   #1084
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,394
Thanked: 658 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by inferno View Post
@GTO

do u use Raid configs also for increasing speed and reliability ? Coz they are mostly used for server purposes.

I've setup my system on RAID and it makes HDD quite fast , as data is split in no. of HDDs which indirectly increases the HDD speed.
depends upon which raid you use.

Quote:
Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
It would be approx 8-9k range.
8600 gt is just rs. 3000k.

go for a 8800gt instead. its performace is way ahead of 8600gt. it even beats 9xxx series cards. but its expensive. @ about 7k.

you can connect ur lcd tv. your LCD should have a D-sub interface.

buy a 5 feet 15 pin cable (male to male) for about rs.100/-

if confused just ask for standard lcd projector cable. thats the cable you need.

Last edited by SirAlec : 7th December 2008 at 01:59.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2008, 07:34   #1085
BHPian
 
inferno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 208
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
depends upon which raid you use.



.

right, but other setups are also useful for servers as they lead to better security of data too , i think Raid 10 would suit perfectly for tbhp forum.
inferno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2008, 09:33   #1086
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,668
Thanked: 1,416 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
depends upon which raid you use.



8600 gt is just rs. 3000k.

go for a 8800gt instead. its performace is way ahead of 8600gt. it even beats 9xxx series cards. but its expensive. @ about 7k.

you can connect ur lcd tv. your LCD should have a D-sub interface.
8800GT is G92, same as 9800GT. Nvidia cheats us. And it is not available for 7K. Atleast 8K-9K is the cost.
If you are considering 8800gt and if at all budget permits, go for HD4850.
It is more efficient.
aaggoswami is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2008, 11:27   #1087
BHPian
 
xtremeshock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 345
Thanked: 76 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
It would be approx 8-9k range.
wow, that's how much i paid for one 6600gt back then.

Thanks for the info guys, already have a cable to connect to my tv, it came with the motherboard, have tried it, it works. Just need to know if it's good for gaming.

Does the 8800GT work eith latest games on full graphics with anti-alising. Also need to know if two 8600gt's will be better than one 8800gt.
xtremeshock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2008, 11:31   #1088
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

my small green pc/htpc:
AMD 4850e 2.5Ghz 45w on gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H 1.0 with 4gb transcend DDR ll 800Mhz and WD HD and WinTV-HVR-1200 PCI-Express card with HP MCE remote in zebronics dhoom ultra slim cabinet displayed on samsung 940BW 19'''.
gigy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2008, 11:48   #1089
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,802
Thanked: 1,255 Times
Default

gigy, did you get the processor locally, or was it imported too?
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2008, 15:59   #1090
BHPian
 
mav2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 566
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xtremeshock View Post
thanks for your answer, any idea how much it approximately costs, have been out of the computing world since i got my comp.
@xtremeshock, ZI just upgraded from my 8600gt to a ATI 4850. I must say this is one of the best value for money cards available in the market today. Its about 10-15 % of the top dogs in the graphics cards market but it still costs only around 9.5k. Go for this rather than the Nvidias.
mav2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2008, 16:51   #1091
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,802
Thanked: 1,255 Times
Default

if you HAVE to go for an nvidia , go for the 9800GTX+. recent driver upgrades have made it a contender again. its a bit more expensive than the ATI though.
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2008, 22:56   #1092
BHPian
 
xtremeshock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 345
Thanked: 76 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mav2000 View Post
@xtremeshock, ZI just upgraded from my 8600gt to a ATI 4850. I must say this is one of the best value for money cards available in the market today. Its about 10-15 % of the top dogs in the graphics cards market but it still costs only around 9.5k. Go for this rather than the Nvidias.
Thanks man, will check it out. Fit's into my buget nicely. Am going to the Richie Street here in Chennai tomorrow we'll see what happens.
xtremeshock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2008, 23:14   #1093
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,394
Thanked: 658 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xtremeshock View Post
Thanks man, will check it out. Fit's into my buget nicely. Am going to the Richie Street here in Chennai tomorrow we'll see what happens.
please check this site www.deltapage.com.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2008, 00:29   #1094
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

greenhorn, 4850e had to be imported from same source
gigy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2008, 00:51   #1095
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,802
Thanked: 1,255 Times
Default

sigh. its a pity AMD doesn't sell them here :(
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding sub+amp to this configuration -> feasable? DCEite In-Car Entertainment 10 28th October 2010 01:12
Configuration For Multitasking PC MADMAX111 Gadgets, Computers & Software 19 27th March 2008 10:28
ICE For My Pajero... is this Configuration Ok ?? Tool In-Car Entertainment 52 30th January 2008 12:33
A Vehicle Configuration Information System Venkatesh.C Technical Stuff 11 20th September 2007 13:52
Configuration for Tata Safari lastmanstanding In-Car Entertainment 13 17th June 2006 10:29


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 11:09.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks