Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 8th December 2008, 10:04   #1096
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 865
Thanked: 35 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaush666 View Post
here is my rig guys..bought it jus one month ago..

Intel C2D E8400 @ 3.01GHz
MSI P45 Platinum
Corsair XMS DDR2 4GB RAM@800MHz
GeCube HD4850 512MB GDDR3
Samsung 2243NWX 22" LCD Screen (1680x1050)
Sony DVD-RW
Cooler Master CM690-NV with 6*120mm LED FANS
Cooler Master eXtreme Power 600W PSU
Creative Inspire M2600 2.1Ch Speakers
Logitech G-15 Gaming Keyboard
Logitech MX-518
Razer Goliathus
Microtek 800VA Double Battery UPS

Kaush666, can I please have the split up expense for each?
zaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2008, 10:41   #1097
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 172
Thanked: 67 Times
Default

Intel is coming out with their new socket, so anyone waiting to buy a Intel comp; better wait 4 to 6 months.
Blue_V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2008, 11:25   #1098
Senior - BHPian
 
rjvora_2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Mumbai/Mulund
Posts: 1,656
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

My note book

Intel core 2 duo processor T5450 (1.66Ghz)
12.1" lcd
2 gb ddr2 ram
160 GB Hdd
DVD writer
Bluetooth 2.0

What do you think is it good. (I liked it too much, Too fast)
rjvora_2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2008, 12:04   #1099
aZa
Senior - BHPian
 
aZa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Noida / Delhi
Posts: 1,595
Thanked: 17 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaush666
here is my rig guys..bought it jus one month ago..

MSI P45 Platinum
Kaush whats ur review on this particular MOBO?
aZa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2008, 12:58   #1100
BHPian
 
rkavthekar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pune
Posts: 202
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

I get my Desktop assembled last week with following composition.

Intel Core 2 Duo 2.6Ghz
Intel DG31PR Motherboard with Sound and Graphics Built in
VIP Cabinet
320 GB Seagate SATA
4 GB DDR2 Transcend RAM
18.5 Inch BenQ TFT
LG DVD RW
HP Wireless Keyboard & Mouse
Creative 2.1 speakers
600VA UPS - don't remember make
Netgear WIFI PCMCI Card

Total cost including 1 year onsite service and warrenty - INR 32275. All the components were sealed and opened infront of me and assembled.
rkavthekar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2008, 16:25   #1101
BHPian
 
xtremeshock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 345
Thanked: 76 Times
Default

^^ What graphics card does it have built in?
xtremeshock is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2008, 16:41   #1102
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,394
Thanked: 658 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rkavthekar View Post
I get my Desktop assembled last week with following composition.

Intel Core 2 Duo 2.6Ghz
Intel DG31PR Motherboard with Sound and Graphics Built in
VIP Cabinet
320 GB Seagate SATA
4 GB DDR2 Transcend RAM
18.5 Inch BenQ TFT
LG DVD RW
HP Wireless Keyboard & Mouse
Creative 2.1 speakers
600VA UPS - don't remember make
Netgear WIFI PCMCI Card

Total cost including 1 year onsite service and warrenty - INR 32275. All the components were sealed and opened infront of me and assembled.
Cost is bit high. and its wifi PCI card and not PCMCIA card.

and where did your dealer managed to get HP wireless mouse and keyboard. HP doesn't sell them without their machine.

What OS are you using.?? BTW

Last edited by SirAlec : 10th December 2008 at 16:43.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2008, 17:31   #1103
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 172
Thanked: 67 Times
Default

I have a question: The line out port on the motherboard uses what kind of cable. Can I connect this to a "3.5mm stereo minijack auxiliary audio" ?
Blue_V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2008, 18:14   #1104
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,800
Thanked: 1,255 Times
Default

yup, the line out uses a 3.5mm stereo minijack ( same as what you find on most headphones) . what do you want to connect it to ?
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2008, 01:39   #1105
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,394
Thanked: 658 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue_V View Post
I have a question: The line out port on the motherboard uses what kind of cable. Can I connect this to a "3.5mm stereo minijack auxiliary audio" ?

line out is basically a speaker out, unless you have a professional sound card installed.

or did you mean by line in, (blue wala)
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2008, 10:29   #1106
BHPian
 
rkavthekar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pune
Posts: 202
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
Cost is bit high. and its wifi PCI card and not PCMCIA card.

and where did your dealer managed to get HP wireless mouse and keyboard. HP doesn't sell them without their machine.

What OS are you using.?? BTW
Thanks for correcting me on PCI Card. I stand corrected!!

Not sure from where he managed to get it. He is authorized sales cum service outlet for HP printers though.

Using Windows XP as OS. I did not want Vista. Had used Vista earlier and had lot of issues.

takecare and drive safely
rkavthekar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2008, 10:32   #1107
BHPian
 
rkavthekar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pune
Posts: 202
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xtremeshock View Post
^^ What graphics card does it have built in?
You can check here
Intel Desktop Board DG31PR - Overview

takecare and drive safely
rkavthekar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2008, 12:26   #1108
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 172
Thanked: 67 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
yup, the line out uses a 3.5mm stereo minijack ( same as what you find on most headphones) . what do you want to connect it to ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
line out is basically a speaker out, unless you have a professional sound card installed.

or did you mean by line in, (blue wala)
I was looking around for Klipsch Ifi Ipod speakers. It has a 3.5 mm aux jack on the dock, i was just wondering if its compatible with the line out from PC motherboard?
Blue_V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2008, 12:38   #1109
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,800
Thanked: 1,255 Times
Default

yup, will work . you just need the right cable ( assuming it doesnt come with the dock already)
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2008, 12:47   #1110
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 213
Thanked: 0 Times
Default New Rig for VMware

Primary Usage - VMware and Movies and Occasional Gaming

Configuration

Processor - Q6600

RAM - 4 GB DDR2 800 MHz (Suggest brand) to begin with, later will add 4 more.

Monitor - Have already got a Phillips 21" monitor

Ditto for storage, etc.

I am thinking of picking up Intel DP35DP or Abit P35-E, unless someone can come up with a compelling reason for some other brand. Not willing to spend more than 7K on a Mobo.

Please suggest a power supply unit and a good cabinet (should not be very expensive, high end top of the line thing).

On the other hand, how can I source an ATI 4850. Which is the brand to go for. or should I consider PS3 after all and keep my computer like a computer.

PS :- I had in past started another thread on VMware capable workstation and this is pretty much in line with the same requirement. Just didn't get enough time to execute the plan then. Since then, hardware prices have fallen a lot and a whole lot of time to finish this off, so picking this up now. Otherwise, I have a Dell D620 for day to day use and Dell Precision 690 with Xeon 5130 with 4 gig of Ram in office for my VMware requirements.
given2fly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding sub+amp to this configuration -> feasable? DCEite In-Car Entertainment 10 28th October 2010 01:12
Configuration For Multitasking PC MADMAX111 Gadgets, Computers & Software 19 27th March 2008 10:28
ICE For My Pajero... is this Configuration Ok ?? Tool In-Car Entertainment 52 30th January 2008 12:33
A Vehicle Configuration Information System Venkatesh.C Technical Stuff 11 20th September 2007 13:52
Configuration for Tata Safari lastmanstanding In-Car Entertainment 13 17th June 2006 10:29


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 11:06.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks