Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 15th April 2009, 01:03   #1141
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,660
Thanked: 6,084 Times
Default

just picked up altec lansing mx5021e speakers for my desktop. they are really good. great bass and crystal clear even at high volumes.
Akshay1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2009, 16:25   #1142
Senior - BHPian
 
rjvora_2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Mumbai/Mulund
Posts: 1,656
Thanked: 39 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1000bhp View Post
Got a Compaq Presario v2620TS laptop and just bought a new system (It's actually a server )

CPU : Intel Xeon 5405 (2 Ghz , 1333 FSB , 12 MB Cache)
Intel M/B : S5000 XVN SATA
RAM : 8 GB FB DIMM Transcend 667 MHZ (32 GB Max supported)
HDD: 500 GB Samsung SATA* 2
Monitor: Benq E2200 HD (21.5" Widescreen)
Graphic Card: Palit 1 GB 9500 Super +
CABINET : VIP With 600 Watts CoolerMaster SMPS
Standard wireless Logitech Mouse and keyboard.

The best part is I don't have to think about upgrading for few years to come and the worst part is I will have to get use to the noise it makes :(
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
thats a desktop. Err! a server class machine.
Well I thought so but Laptop is written by the owner. Model no. is also of Laptop. - I think so!!

Last edited by rjvora_2000 : 15th April 2009 at 16:27.
rjvora_2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2009, 16:32   #1143
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 2,175
Thanked: 128 Times
Default

My desktop (have installed some components since present one bought in 10/2007):
Intel C2D E4500
3GB RAM (+1GB upgrade)
660 GB HDD (+340 GB upgrade)
Viewsonic 1945
ATI 256KB? card

Best part: bought under company's depreciation policy so the machine cost me 80% of the purchase price.
Will upgrade to a laptop when my brother comes visiting from UK in late-2009.
vasudeva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2009, 17:09   #1144
BHPian
 
HimuraKenshin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Mumbai/London
Posts: 244
Thanked: 182 Times
Talking

My configuration is as follows:
  1. Intel D5400XS
  2. Intel Core 2 Duo 2.66GHz (forgot the model)
  3. Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD x2 (32mb buffer)
  4. XFX Nvidia 9800GTX x2 in SLI (1 gig each)
  5. tagan pipe rock 1300watt PSU
  6. Cooler master cpu cooler
  7. Sony DVDR+RW
  8. Kingston 4GB RAm in Dual channel
My computer can play Crysis with ease!
HimuraKenshin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2009, 19:00   #1145
BHPian
 
akhilesh51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Jaipur, RAJ
Posts: 626
Thanked: 318 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (5)
Default

Macbook Pro Aluminium New Edition:

2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
4 GB RAM
250 GB HDD
3 MB L2 Cache
256 MB NVidia Geforce 9400M + 256 MB Nvidia Geforce 9600M GT
Bluetooth 2.0 + EDR
802.11 n Wireless

Operating System: Apple Mac 10.5 Leopard
akhilesh51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2009, 00:26   #1146
BHPian
 
xtremeshock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 345
Thanked: 76 Times
Default

Got myself a upgrade:

Intel I7 processor
Intel I7 motherboard;
3 GB DDR3 Ram (Tri Band)
160GB+500GB Internal HD + 250GB Free agent
6600 GT :-) need to buy a new graphics card, budget of 10k.
Samsung CRT monitor, will be changing to a tft soon
OS: Windows 7

Planning to go High def on my new comp :-)
xtremeshock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2009, 04:18   #1147
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 24
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

i think i have the most outdated stuff :

processor : P4 1.8 Ghz
Motherboard : D845GVAD2
Memory : 2.25GB
Hard disk : 320 + 160 + 80 = 560 GB
Power supply : Coolermaster 460W
Chasis fans : Coolermaster
2 NIC cards, acts as my firewall, my disk server, my print server, mysql server, caching dns server
Monitor : 17"" Philips
OS : Debian Linux 4.0
a_mukherji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2009, 02:11   #1148
Senior - BHPian
 
devarshi84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ahmedabad - Tor
Posts: 3,996
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

guess not. I still have a P2 running with just upgraded 512mb 100mhz(or maybe 133mhz) Ram sticks.

Runs smooth as ever. It is used everyday as the main pc.
devarshi84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2009, 19:54   #1149
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 1,217
Thanked: 20 Times
Default Samsung NC10 netbook for 7

Last night I decided to clean the spare room out and found lots of mobile phones were gathering dust. There were two LG Shines which cost me a grand total of 1.10 for both (under RS85). There were other phones such as the Motorola W377 for which I had been paid by the retailer 20 (RS 1500) to buy from them. Most the phones were bought using internet retailers and going through third party web sites such as Quidco - The web's cashback cooperative who pass on some of the affiliate income they receive (hence why I ended up being paid to buy some phones).

Collection of spare phones :
Name:  IMAG0015.jpg
Views: 401
Size:  118.7 KB

I thought there was no point keeping all these phones as they were not used and some of them were already old models and they would not be worth much soon. So I decided to take them all off to my local computer exchange store (CeX : we buy and sell Games, DVDs, PC Hardware & Software, Phones and electronics online) this morning. I got 268 in store credit for the phones and then a NC10 caught my eye which was on offer at 275 with 12 months warranty. It looked brand new and even had all the factory plastic protective film on it. Handed over my store credit voucher and 7 and walked away with what is a new netbook.

Here some pictures of the NC10.

Name:  IMAG0018.jpg
Views: 413
Size:  445.5 KB

Name:  IMAG0019.jpg
Views: 413
Size:  140.2 KB

It loads up XP pretty quick and the keyboard is not as bad as that found on a few other netbooks. I am going to bung in a 2gig stick of ram later and might play with some linux distributions.

Last edited by bigman : 18th June 2009 at 19:55.
bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2009, 20:15   #1150
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

we have such store in india.??
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2009, 20:34   #1151
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 1,217
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Not sure if there is an equivalent store in India. I have seen CEX stores in Spain and a few other countries.
bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2009, 11:08   #1152
BHPian
 
UniqueMods's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 308
Thanked: 49 Times
Default

Original purchase date Nov-2003.

Monitor - LCD TV - VU tech 32" - also serves as my room Tv. - Jan 2008
CPU - Intel P4 2.66Ghz 800FSB 512L2 with HyperThreading
MB - Intel 865GBF 800FSB
RAM - 2gb DDR1
HDD1 - 80GB Samsung @7200RPM
HDD2 - 40GB Seagate @7200RPM
HDD3 - 200GB Seagate @7200RPM - Jan 2008
HDD4 - 500GB external Seagate with power supply - Jan 2009
VGA - 256MB NVidia GForce - don't remember the model no. - Jan 2006
Peripherals - Logitech wireless mouse and keyboard - as i sit 10 feet away in a very comfortable position.
DVD-RW - Sony DVD writer 720a - Jan 2006
SMPS - 550w branded power supply to supply the increased power needs. - Jan 2006
Sound - Creative soundblaster 7.1 PCI card. - Jan 2006

Cant upgrade anymore. No slots left.

UM
UniqueMods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2009, 13:04   #1153
Senior - BHPian
 
lurker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tura
Posts: 1,290
Thanked: 576 Times
Default

Corsair or CoolerMaster .. which is the better SMPS ?
lurker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2009, 15:43   #1154
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,710
Thanked: 1,079 Times
Default

Corsair! their 450W SMPS are better than CM 600 Watters
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2009, 16:30   #1155
BHPian
 
swift8847's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bangalore/Houston
Posts: 324
Thanked: Once
Default

I am sure a lot of TBHP members will have the macbook and the macbook pro.

I will be moving to states in a month's time. Planning to go for the macbook pro, 13.3 inch. This is gonna be my first portable computer.

Apple has a good offer for the students there. You get an Itouch free with any mac purchased for the students and the faculty of a University.

People using the Macbook, could you please post the pros and the cons of this product from Apple.

I did see the Macbook at an Apple store in Bangalore. I was pretty impressed with it.
swift8847 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding sub+amp to this configuration -> feasable? DCEite In-Car Entertainment 10 28th October 2010 01:12
Configuration For Multitasking PC MADMAX111 Gadgets, Computers & Software 19 27th March 2008 10:28
ICE For My Pajero... is this Configuration Ok ?? Tool In-Car Entertainment 52 30th January 2008 12:33
A Vehicle Configuration Information System Venkatesh.C Technical Stuff 11 20th September 2007 13:52
Configuration for Tata Safari lastmanstanding In-Car Entertainment 13 17th June 2006 10:29


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 21:23.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks