Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 1st June 2005, 12:02   #106
BHPian
 
xstream_nos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: bangalore
Posts: 78
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hkanitkar
P.S. - planning to buy ANTEC cabinet and DVD writer -- any suggestions please ??
ANTEC cabinets are really good... should set u back by about 5k...
DVD writter ..well i would suggest you go for a dual layer one with 16x writing speed (thtz the highest for a dual layer dvd writer as f now)
cheers
xstream_nos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2005, 12:22   #107
BHPian
 
manaa45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: nerul, navi mumbai
Posts: 344
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adya33
yeah thats very true
afterall numbers are just numbers. the important thing is getting your work done.
If my work gets done on 5 year old PC why change it??


also I know few organisations where they still use DOS just because it gets their work done.
i agree with u adya. i still use dos for my tally pacakge as that is what is given to us by our ca and it works well for us.

shubbhi
manaa45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2005, 23:32   #108
BHPian
 
hkanitkar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: pune
Posts: 641
Thanked: 18 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xstream_nos
ANTEC cabinets are really good... should set u back by about 5k...
yup - i checked with their pune dealer - some Super Lanboy cabinet (looks awesome) - is for 5k and that too without power supply and fans .. yes no power supply and fans.
thanks guys - i just got the DVD writer - sony 16x dual layer - for 4k
hkanitkar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2005, 15:01   #109
BHPian
 
camry93's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 100
Thanked: Once
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adya33
I also have it. Great peice of hardware I have ever owend.
Be sure to enable time-shift feature & then you have your own TiVo!

as for DVD writter go for DVD+/-RW as it won't cause you compatiblity problems
Hey Adya, where in Pune can I lay my hands on that TV tuner card you guys are talking about? Can I get one for my Dell Inspiron 8100 laptop? What will it set me back by?
camry93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2005, 18:57   #110
Senior - BHPian
 
adya33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 1,839
Thanked: 91 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by camry93
Hey Adya, where in Pune can I lay my hands on that TV tuner card you guys are talking about? Can I get one for my Dell Inspiron 8100 laptop? What will it set me back by?
I bought it from a shop called as EMTECH on JM Road
for laptop I think you will need to buy an USB version of it
here is a link to the USB model
http://www.pinnaclesys.com/ProductPa...58&Langue_ID=7

i don't know how much it will cost in india
if you want details about dealer PM me

aditya
adya33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2005, 20:13   #111
BHPian
 
BuRnT RuBbEr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: DL 1
Posts: 367
Thanked: 11 Times
Cool

ok...here i hope i win...

if u have a "merc" dabba...i use a "bentley"..


here it goes...

pentium 3.2 EE
512 +512 DDR400 RAM<<<------upgradin to ddr2 soon...
925 intel board..
80 gb SATA SEAGATE+160 Gb UATA SAMSUNG
dd DVD burner
mmc reader
gainward nvidia 6800 256 mb GPU
10/100 MBPS lan...used earlier..now lying useless..
ADSL2+ modem
HP k80...
altec box
antec super lanboy...
cambridge 6.1 set
19" phillips LCD
725 watt UPS

and yes..soon going in for a liquid cooling cabinet...any hints at where i can find one in ..eh...india??
P.S. no bragging in there...and sorry for that extra emoc

Last edited by BuRnT RuBbEr : 24th June 2005 at 20:15.
BuRnT RuBbEr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2005, 20:22   #112
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: pune
Posts: 2,088
Thanked: 48 Times
Default

@camry and Aditya, for all your hardware requirements, make sure to check out Sujata at Nal Stop. It always had everything that I asked for, and that too at most reasonable prices. (No! I don't know its owner, neither do I get referral commission )

I bought Firewire card at Rs.750/- which other petty computer shops did not have or were offering at more than Rs.1250/-.
RX135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2005, 20:24   #113
Senior - BHPian
 
adya33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 1,839
Thanked: 91 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RX135
@camry and Aditya, for all your hardware requirements, make sure to check out Sujata at Nal Stop. It always had everything that I asked for, and that too at most reasonable prices. (No! I don't know its owner, neither do I get referral commission )

I bought Firewire card at Rs.750/- which other petty computer shops did not have or were offering at more than Rs.1250/-.
yes i know that shop
its very close to my place

however i have been going to this EMTECH guy for a long time & I have a very good experince about service
so i recomended it
adya33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2005, 20:34   #114
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bangalore/Chicago
Posts: 39
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

my 1 yr old pc:

Intel Celeron 2.4
Intel 845 GBV motherboard
512 MB RAM
80 GB HDD
56x CD-ROM
17" Samsung monitor
Sapphire ATI Radeon 9600 with 256 MB VRAM video card
Creative Audigy LS sound card
Creative Inspire 5200 5.1 speakers
DVD writer

hmm...played doom3 pretty well but maybe time for an upgrade.
xezas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2005, 21:22   #115
BHPian
 
Sid Schumacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 262
Thanked: Once
Question I got some queries.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTO
Mine:

Compaq X1000 Laptop

1. Pentium Centrino 1.4 Ghz Processor
2. 60G 5400 rpm Hard drive
3. 512 MB Ram
4. WSXGA+ 1680x1050 resolution 15.4 inch widescreen.
5. 64 MB Video Card.
6. 3000w Altec Lansing Speakers with Subwoofer (External).
7. DVD/CDRW with external Yamaha CRW-F1 burner (am damn particular about my music quality)

Its lightning fast, and I reinstall the OS myself every three months to have a clean system. Have the hard drive partitioned into 3 parts of 20G's each.

GTO
Hey GTO,
Do you know of any softwares that can be used to design as well as modify cars and bikes???
I am really into this and it would be nice if you had some suggestions.
I got a P3, 256 mb RAM.....see if you get s/w that work on these specifications.
Sid Schumacher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2005, 22:02   #116
BHPian
 
BuRnT RuBbEr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: DL 1
Posts: 367
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sid Schumacher
Hey GTO,
Do you know of any softwares that can be used to design as well as modify cars and bikes???
I am really into this and it would be nice if you had some suggestions.
I got a P3, 256 mb RAM.....see if you get s/w that work on these specifications.

http://www.gmecca.com/byorc/designso...CADCAMSoftware


also depends upon how deep u want to go...there are a lot more softwares..

for a very basic designing requirements like body mods...u can use autodesk 3dmax...eh...5..should run on your system...
BuRnT RuBbEr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2005, 07:55   #117
Senior - BHPian
 
devarshi84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ahmedabad - Tor
Posts: 3,996
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

Desktop-1
Assembled

P2 300(not sure)
128 Mb RAM
8 gb HDD
intel integrated
48x creative cd rom
Wipro dot matrix printer
14 inch lg monitor
tvs keyboard
1.44 floppy drive
Old disketter drive
windows 98
creative speakers
28 kbps modem

desktop-2
assembled

P-3 500
intel integrated Gpu(surprisingly plays Doom3 )
512 Ram
40 gig Hdd
cd RW
win xp, win 98
floppy drive
Altec lansing speakers
15 inch monitor
Samsung multimedia keyboard
56 kbps Dlink modem( Just installed 3 mbps cable)
Hp bubblejet printer

Notebook
Compaq R4000

Amd 4000+( )
1 gig ram
60gb 5400 HDD
dvd dual layer riter
15.4 wxga brightview
win xp
256 mb ati(with Hypermemory)
bluetooth
wi-fi b/g
mmc reader
Blue infra mouse
fire wire

New desktop (due soon)
Amd x2 5000
4 gigs
win xp 64bit/ media center
100 gigs 10K rpm 16mb cache
100 gigs 10k rpm 16mb cache
dual layer dvd riter
monitor into television
512 mb nvidia 7800
bluetooth mouse and keyboard
sony 5.1 speaker system
devarshi84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2005, 04:25   #118
BHPian
 
chetanhanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 886
Thanked: 42 Times
Default

CPU ----- P4 3.2 GHZ Hyper threading extreme edition
MOBO ----- Intel 865 GBF 800MHZ bus speed
RAM ----- 1024 Kingtston RAM
Video card ----- 6800 GT 256 MB vRAM AGP
Case ----- Gaming Tower case with 4 fans , clear side panel (2 rear + 1 side + 1 on top ) + sufficient space for water cooling
POWER ----- 480 watts power supply + 2 cooling fans
DRIVES ---- LG DVD RW + CD RW
HARDDISK ----- Western Digital 7200 80GB
MONITOR ----- 19" Viewsonic
chetanhanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2005, 03:03   #119
BHPian
 
Badcheetah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 123
Thanked: 2 Times
Post

Hi All ,
I just a month back picked up theis new Notebook -Compaq -V2136AP and its nice ... The config is given bellow ...

Processor-Intel® Pentium® M Processor 725 (#) supports Enhanced Intel® SpeedStep Technology (1.6GHz, 2MB L2 cache, 400MHz FSB)

Operating system-Microsoft® Windows® XP Home

System memory -256MB (1 x 256MB) DDR SDRAM (266MHz), upgradeable to 2GB

Cache- 2MB Level-2 Cache

Hard drive- 60GB (4200 rpm)

Optical drive- DVD/CD-RW combo

Graphics -Integrated Intel® Extreme Graphics 2 (up to 64MB Shared Memory)

Modem
-High speed 56K modem

Network- Integrated 10/100 LAN Ethernet, Intel® Pro/Wireless 2200 802.11g integrated wireless LAN, integrated Bluetooth (THIS IS THE BEST PART ABOUT THIS MACHINE - TOTALLY WIRELESS MAN )

Pre-installed software -Microsoft® Windows® Movie Maker, Microsoft® Windows® Media Player, Microsoft® Works, Microsoft® Money 2004, Adobe Acrobat Reader, InterVideo WinDVD Player, Sonic RecordNow!, Symantec Norton AntiVirus 2004

Present Software --- LOTS MAN , NEED A WHOLE PAGE TO COMPLETE THE LIST

Battery- 2.2AHr 6-cell Lithium-Ion battery

Display -14" colour TFT WXGA (1280 x 768 resolution) High-definition BrightView 15:9 Widescreen


Pointing device -Touchpad pointing device with 4-way scroll and on/off switch button

I/O interfaces -(1) 6-in-1 Digital Media Reader slot, (1) IEEE 1394 port, (1) S-video port, (1) VGA port, (1) Port Replicator connector, (1) Headphone, (1) External Microphone, (1) AC power connector, (1) RJ-11, (1) RJ-45, (3) USB 2.0 ports

Security features
-Kensington MicroSaver lock slot

Compatibility/compliance -Plug-and-Play, Ethernet network compatibility, Advanced Configuration and Power Interface (ACPI), Hibernation/Sleep modes

PC card slots- (1) Type I/II PC Card Slot with support for 16-bit PCMCIA and 32-bit Cardbus

Status display- System Power, AC Power status, NUM Lock, CAPS Lock, Battery Charging, HDD activity, Touchpad on/off, Media Slot, Mute, Wireless

Audio- Integrated JBL Pro Performance speakers, AC97 audio, volume control and mute button

Keyboard -101-key compatible keyboard

Dimensions- 3.89cm(H) x 33.40cm(W) x 23.06cm(D)

Weight- 2.36kg -


Thats it and yes it also came witha handy carry case and the guy i got it from gave me 2 thumb drives free ( Not Very Big thow ) and i got things like wireless mouse , and head phones FREE ....
The only thing missing is a web cam .... any suggestion which one to get ??????


Let me know please ...thanks all

Cheetah Out ........
Badcheetah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2005, 04:43   #120
BHPian
 
EVO6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 488
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by camry93
Hey Adya, where in Pune can I lay my hands on that TV tuner card you guys are talking about? Can I get one for my Dell Inspiron 8100 laptop? What will it set me back by?
You cant install a TV tuner card in a laptop unless its been provided by DELL ... So plz dont get fooled by someone in the market who says that they can do it
But Pinacle is a diff equipment all together... I am sure how well it will work with a LAPTOP ... Take a test before purchasing ... Most people use the Pinacle system with desktops havent heard too many people use it on laptops
EVO

Last edited by EVO6 : 27th June 2005 at 04:50.
EVO6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding sub+amp to this configuration -> feasable? DCEite In-Car Entertainment 10 28th October 2010 01:12
Configuration For Multitasking PC MADMAX111 Gadgets, Computers & Software 19 27th March 2008 10:28
ICE For My Pajero... is this Configuration Ok ?? Tool In-Car Entertainment 52 30th January 2008 12:33
A Vehicle Configuration Information System Venkatesh.C Technical Stuff 11 20th September 2007 13:52
Configuration for Tata Safari lastmanstanding In-Car Entertainment 13 17th June 2006 10:29


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 17:23.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks