Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11th January 2010, 09:36   #1231
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 2,175
Thanked: 128 Times
Default

Because of aaggoswami's sound advice, I spent some money on a core i7 920+MSI X58M MB +3 gb ddr3 ram in June 2009. Have upgraded it somewhat with more HDD (2.5 tb internal+ 1 tb external).

Next steps include upgrading the ram to 4-6 gb when I load windows 7 64 bit in mid-2010.

I have also finally learnt how to clean install windows, which isa very good thing to know. What I would also like to learn is to how to install new HDD in the PC (have a coolermaster).

I have a laptop that has core 2 duo+1.5 gb ddr2 ram.

The difference is that video rendering/converting and burning in core i7 920 takes perhaps 20% of the time it takes in the laptop.
vasudeva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2010, 14:16   #1232
BHPian
 
abishek2222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 355
Thanked: 159 Times
Default

My Lappie

Sony VAIO VGN-Z13GN/B


• Windows Vista® Business

• High Durability & Light Weight: Carbon Body

• Real Wide 13.1 (33.3 cm) Clear Tough LCD [Rich Colour]

• DDR3 SDRAM Memory

• Dynamic Dual Hybrid Graphic System

Architecture
Intel Core 2 Duo Processor P9500 (2.53 GHz)
Chipset Mobile Intel GM45 Express Chipset
Processor System Bus 1066 MHz
Memory Bus 1066 MHz
Cache Memory 6 MB
Main Memory
Pre-installed 4 GB DDR3 SDRAM (Max)
SO-DIMM slots 2 SO-DIMM slots
Hard Disk Drive
Hard Disk Drive 320 GB (Serial ATA, 5400 rpm)

Graphics
Geforce 9300M GS (SPEED MODE) / Mobile Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 4500MHD (STAMINA MODE)
Dedicated Video Memory 256 MB

Display
Type 13.1 (33.3 cm) wide (WXGA++: 1600 x 900) TFT colour display (Clear Tough LCD [Rich Colour])

Battery Life
Bundled Battery VGP-BPS12 Lithium-ion battery: up to 5.5 hours of use
Weight
1.48 kg (including the supplied battery)
abishek2222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 19:51   #1233
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,635
Thanked: 1,343 Times
Default

Quote:
My current configuration is as follows

AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+
ASUS M2NMX
2GB ram
500GB HDD
Viewsonic 17" wide

My mobo and CPU went kaput last week. I have to get a new cpu and mobo. Was quotd 5.5k for X2 240 + Asus M2N68. Is this good enough or should I be looking at Intel ones?
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 22:13   #1234
Senior - BHPian
 
devarshi84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ahmedabad - Tor
Posts: 3,996
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

Desktop

Windows 7 ultimate 64-bit
Intel Xeon 2.8 2 cpus
2gb Ram
240gb 7200 HDD
Creative Audigy 2
Nvidia 8500 GT

a blu-ray drive coming soon.
devarshi84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 22:21   #1235
BHPian
 
AMAN_SACHDEV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.C.R.
Posts: 111
Thanked: 0 Times
Default My Dell Studio XPS 16

These are my Dell Studio XPS 16 laptop configurations,

1.Intel Core 2 Duo Processor T9900 (3.06 GHZ / 1066FSB/6MB Cache)
2.6GB (1x4GB+1x2GB) 1066Mhz DDR3 SDRAM
3.Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit
4.16' 1080p WUXGA (1920x1080) WLED Full HD Display
5.500GB Hard Disk
6.Blu-Ray Combo Drive
7.512 MB ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3670 Video Card

Last edited by AMAN_SACHDEV : 31st March 2010 at 22:22.
AMAN_SACHDEV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 22:29   #1236
BHPian
 
vaisakhr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: KL-32
Posts: 356
Thanked: 135 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkdas View Post
My mobo and CPU went kaput last week. I have to get a new cpu and mobo. Was quotd 5.5k for X2 240 + Asus M2N68. Is this good enough or should I be looking at Intel ones?
JK, i think its a little overpriced. My friend bought the same on <5k from EKM.

But i would suggest you to go for a Phenom X4 or a Core 2 Quad.
vaisakhr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 22:59   #1237
BHPian
 
iamback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Punekar
Posts: 126
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

My Sony Laptop
Sony VAIO VGN-CR35G/R

Configuration
  • Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor T8100 (2.10 GHz)
  • DVD±RW/±R DL/RAM Drive
  • Hard Disk Drive 200 GB
  • Windows Vista® Home Premium
  • 14.1" WXGA Display Clear Bright LCD Lite
  • RAM Memory 2 GB

Additional Features
  • AV Buttons
  • Box Speaker
  • Instant Mode
  • Camera Capture Button with 1.3MP camera
  • Front Side LED ILLUMINATION
  • ATI RADEON GRAPHICS CARD
  • dlna Certified
  • Fax/Telephone Connection Port
  • S-Video Out Port
  • 3 USB Ports
  • S400 Port
  • VGA out Port
  • About 2hours Backup 3-Cell Battery
  • SD , Pro Duo & Magicgate Ports
  • Blazing Clear Coat Red Colour
iamback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2010, 12:16   #1238
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,635
Thanked: 1,343 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vaisakhr View Post
JK, i think its a little overpriced. My friend bought the same on <5k from EKM.

But i would suggest you to go for a Phenom X4 or a Core 2 Quad.
Wont it overshoot my budget a lot?

C2D E7500 + 412rq @ 8.5k :(
X2 250 + m2n68-am plus 2 5.8k


I think its better to stick to AMD (price wise too) but which MoBo ? M2N68 aint that great.

Thinking if I should get a netbook again!
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2010, 14:25   #1239
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,599
Thanked: 6,686 Times
Default

Coming Up...

My new machine will be...

Gigabyte MA785GMT-US2H
Phenom II x2 3.2Ghz
DDR3 2Gb * 2
Antec Sonata case

All subject to pricing and availabilty and the money being available. The car has to be re-sprayed first.
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2010, 22:47   #1240
BHPian
 
anku94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 225
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

@Thad Are you gonna OC it ? And IMHO, a rig without a video card is worthless...an additional 3k or so would make a HUGE difference in graphic intensive apps...something like the 9600GT or a mid-range Radeon 5xxx won't go amiss, the Radeon 4xxx is all but wiped from the market...
anku94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2010, 00:21   #1241
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,599
Thanked: 6,686 Times
Default

No, I doubt very much that I will ever over-clock it --- but never say never!

I may, indeed, go for a slower processor, to cut down the power consumption, heat and consequent fan noise. I have specifically chosen a board with on-board video: again, graphics-intensive is probably not required, but is always an option to add later.

There are all kinds of small headaches with my present setup (it is the first PC I have had for ages that even BSODs occasionally. Worst of all is the very high level of DPC latency, which is absolutely ruinous to audio processing. Consequently, the basic config has chosen with some help and input from the guys over at HiFiVision
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2010, 03:29   #1242
BHPian
 
anku94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 225
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Well, then as they say, a simple rig is the best...I'm always shuffling b/w my two sound cards, 3-4 PCI cards, 3 optical drives and what not...
anku94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2010, 08:49   #1243
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,635
Thanked: 1,343 Times
Default

Where are the guys when you need help with config and sort :(

NOw its X2 250 vs E4500 ( I guess). X2 is better right?
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2010, 11:51   #1244
BHPian
 
kunaldhami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Surat
Posts: 144
Thanked: 62 Times
Default

My Current Laptop

Asus A52JR-X1

Intel Core i5 430M / 4GB DDR3 / 500GB HDD / ATI Radeon HD 5470 1GB DDR3 /

Got it from USA for around 41K INR a month back.
kunaldhami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2010, 13:17   #1245
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,628
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkdas View Post
Where are the guys when you need help with config and sort :(

NOw its X2 250 vs E4500 ( I guess). X2 is better right?
Go for X2. E4500 is not the best deal. My Athlon X2 5000+ was better performing than E4500. This is II X2 250.
Athlon II X2 and Phenom II X2 are basically same with minor difference, mainly in cache.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding sub+amp to this configuration -> feasable? DCEite In-Car Entertainment 10 28th October 2010 01:12
Configuration For Multitasking PC MADMAX111 Gadgets, Computers & Software 19 27th March 2008 10:28
ICE For My Pajero... is this Configuration Ok ?? Tool In-Car Entertainment 52 30th January 2008 12:33
A Vehicle Configuration Information System Venkatesh.C Technical Stuff 11 20th September 2007 13:52
Configuration for Tata Safari lastmanstanding In-Car Entertainment 13 17th June 2006 10:29


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 19:47.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks