Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 2nd April 2010, 13:35   #1246
BHPian
 
vaisakhr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: KL-32
Posts: 357
Thanked: 135 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaggoswami View Post
Go for X2. E4500 is not the best deal. My Athlon X2 5000+ was better performing than E4500. This is II X2 250.
Athlon II X2 and Phenom II X2 are basically same with minor difference, mainly in cache.
+1 to aaggoswami said. Phenom will perform good in games.
vaisakhr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2010, 13:51   #1247
BHPian
 
v.anand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 320
Thanked: 35 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMAN_SACHDEV View Post
These are my Dell Studio XPS 16 laptop configurations,

1.Intel Core 2 Duo Processor T9900 (3.06 GHZ / 1066FSB/6MB Cache)
2.6GB (1x4GB+1x2GB) 1066Mhz DDR3 SDRAM
3.Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit
4.16' 1080p WUXGA (1920x1080) WLED Full HD Display
5.500GB Hard Disk
6.Blu-Ray Combo Drive
7.512 MB ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3670 Video Card
Nice specs there Aman_Sachdev. Looks to be a very fast machine indeed.

Mine is a Dell Studio XPS 16 too.

Intel Core i7 720QM Processor.
4 GB DDR3 1333 Mhz RAM.
500 GB 7200 RPM HD.
ATI 4670 Video card.
Windows 7 Professional 64 Bit.

Do you face any heat issues with your laptop?
Only possible design defect in Studio XPS range is the screen apparently covers the heat exhaust thereby trapping it inside.
v.anand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2010, 14:37   #1248
BHPian
 
anku94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 225
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

I'd say X2-250. One can compare the stats or follow a simple rule of thumb. When a product is not a flagship/top-of-the-line model, AMD offers more VFM products than Intel does....
anku94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2010, 13:40   #1249
Senior - BHPian
 
shajufx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BLR & Muscat
Posts: 1,636
Thanked: 415 Times
Default

I am planning to upgrade my desktop. Here is my shortlisted names as of now. Please suggest if there is anything to be added or changed: Usage is mainly running trading platforms and charts workwise, photoshop and video editing as hobby.

CPU - Intelcore i5 750
Motherboard - ECS P55H-A
Memory - 6 GB (3X2GB) NEC dual channel DDR3 1333 MHz SDRAM
Graphics - 1 GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 220
Harddrive - WD 500 GB Green 32 MB buffer
Cabinet - Cooler master Elite 310 or 342
SMPS - Corsair VX 550
IEEE Firewire 1394 PCI card
DVD writer (either shifting my existing LG 16X writer or a new one)

Monitor to be retained : AOC 18.5"
Keyboard and mouse to be retained: Logitech
shajufx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2010, 23:50   #1250
BHPian
 
AMAN_SACHDEV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.C.R.
Posts: 111
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by v.anand View Post
Nice specs there Aman_Sachdev. Looks to be a very fast machine indeed.

Mine is a Dell Studio XPS 16 too.

Intel Core i7 720QM Processor.
4 GB DDR3 1333 Mhz RAM.
500 GB 7200 RPM HD.
ATI 4670 Video card.
Windows 7 Professional 64 Bit.

Do you face any heat issues with your laptop?
Only possible design defect in Studio XPS range is the screen apparently covers the heat exhaust thereby trapping it inside.
Nice configuration v.anand,
Yes , the machines cooling system is crap, after 20-30 mins of use it becomes pretty hot and if watching hi def pics or movies, it becomes very hot .
But I am using a cooling pad, which keeps it really cool ..
AMAN_SACHDEV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2010, 15:21   #1251
Senior - BHPian
 
shajufx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BLR & Muscat
Posts: 1,636
Thanked: 415 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shajufx View Post
I am planning to upgrade my desktop.....
CPU - Intelcore i5 750
Motherboard - Intel DP55WB
Memory - 4 GB (2X2GB) NEC dual channel DDR3 1333 MHz SDRAM
Graphics - 1 GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 220
Harddrive - WD 500 GB Green 32 MB buffer
Cabinet - Cooler master Elite 310
SMPS - Corsair VX 550
IEEE Firewire 1394 PCI card
DVD writer LG

I confirmed the above configuration and getting it assembled by tomorow. Best quote I could get after lot of cross checking and comparison is 39k.
shajufx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2010, 00:01   #1252
BHPian
 
anku94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 225
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shajufx View Post
I confirmed the above configuration and getting it assembled by tomorow. Best quote I could get after lot of cross checking and comparison is 39k.
That's an excellent price. Where are you getting the rig from ?
anku94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2010, 10:37   #1253
BHPian
 
Chipz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Trivandrum, Thrissur
Posts: 159
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Hello guys. Can anyone tell me about the performance of Athlon Xp 240. Is it better than dual core. And can anyone tell me the price of the chip and motherboard.

Thanks
Chipz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2010, 12:25   #1254
BHPian
 
anku94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 225
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chipz View Post
Hello guys. Can anyone tell me about the performance of Athlon Xp 240. Is it better than dual core.
I think you're talking about X2 240. It's a good enough chip for the price. Basically a stripped down version of the Phenom series. I'm not sure but I think the main difference b/w Phenom and Athlon X2 is lack of L3 Cache in X2. If you're not gonna do anything more than casual computing and light gaming, it'll do well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chipz View Post
Is it better than dual core.
Athlon X2 is a dual core processor. If you're referring to Intel dual cores, there are a lot of models and series to compare to.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chipz View Post
And can anyone tell me the price of the chip and motherboard.
Processor costs approximately Rs. 3000. There are a lot of motherboard models available for any processor, ranging from Rs. 2200 to Rs. 12000 and even higher for enthusiast-class boards. However, for this processor, I'd suggest you don't spend more than Rs. 4000-5000 on the motherboard.
anku94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2010, 13:35   #1255
BHPian
 
Chipz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Trivandrum, Thrissur
Posts: 159
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Thanks anku for the reply, ya I meant x2,and intel dual core
Can you please compare athlon x2 and intel dual core or forward me any link. Is any specific motherboard good for the performance. I mostly watch movies, play some small games, etc. What about the memory and various FSB speed.

Thanks in advance.
Chipz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2010, 15:11   #1256
BHPian
 
anku94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 225
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

No problems.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chipz View Post
Can you please compare athlon x2 and intel dual core or forward me any link.
Intel has many lineups in dual-core, including Dual Core, Core 2 Duo, Core i3, Core i5 and Core i7. A general rule of thumb, as I've mentioned earlier, is that when you're on a budget, AMD offers best performance/price, and when you need a high-end chip, you go for Intel.

A direct comparison, I'm afraid will not be possible in a post. There are a lot of factors, including what model of Intel's dual core line-up are you talking about.

My suggestion : If 3k bucks is your budget for a proccy, stick with the X2 240. If you're looking for more options at a higher price, let me know or visit Tom's Hardware: Hardware News, Tests and Reviews which is an excellent source for reviews, comparisons etc. on technology, mostly computers related.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chipz View Post
Is any specific motherboard good for the performance.
As it happens, motherboard has little to contribute towards performance, except when you're depending on onboard graphics. The factors to look for in motherboards are mainly features, and ease of overclocking, if you intend to. Right now, your demands are a bit vague for me to recommend a motherboard. Since different processor sockets require different motherboards, I'd recommend you to choose a processor first, and then look for motherboards within a specified budget.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chipz View Post
What about the memory and various FSB speed.
2GB Dual Channel RAM would be all you need, or 3GB triple channel if your motherboard supports it.
FSB speed is one thing you don't have to worry about. It doesn't make any major difference, or not even a minor difference perhaps, to a processor's performance. Things to consider are-No. of cores, clock frequency, and cache, and overclocking potential.

End of story : Choose a processor, let me know if you need some info for that, and then you can build a PC around it.
anku94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2010, 09:45   #1257
BHPian
 
Chipz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Trivandrum, Thrissur
Posts: 159
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Thanks a lot anku for sparing the time. Actually my brother wanted the system to do some data entry work at home. We need to run word, browser, and a small speech software. Currently we are using pentium 3 with 128 mb ram. So you see this does not require any high end configuration, but it does not mean we can do away with a calculator , since we will watch movies and do some small gaming too.

The pentium series will be of no value for money in this scenario. So as you said AMD X2 240 is what I am going for + 2 gb RAM. I have a 160 + 80 gb IDE. The 160 gb is new, so I am retaining it. Also got a 250 gb external. So does not need a HDD right now.

Some people say USB 3.0 is coming soon. Is this available now. I dont want to change the system in another 4 or 5 years.

Thanks a lot for your time.
Chipz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2010, 19:43   #1258
BHPian
 
anku94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 225
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chipz View Post
Some people say USB 3.0 is coming soon. Is this available now. I dont want to change the system in another 4 or 5 years.

USB 3.0 is coming...but it won't become mainstream in India in less than an year. Also an interface as fast as that would require better hardware, most likely faster storage. If you want a system you can be happy with for 4-5 years, I'd recommend a better CPU and a good motherboard.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chipz View Post
Thanks a lot for your time.
You're welcome anytime

Last edited by anku94 : 12th April 2010 at 19:45.
anku94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2010, 11:32   #1259
BHPian
 
Chipz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Trivandrum, Thrissur
Posts: 159
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Anku, since I am going to get x2 240, should I go for some specific brand of motherboard. can you recommend me one. I have described my usage above.

Thanks
Chipz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2010, 12:45   #1260
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,652
Thanked: 1,381 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chipz View Post
Anku, since I am going to get x2 240, should I go for some specific brand of motherboard. can you recommend me one. I have described my usage above.

Thanks

All I can say is avoid Asus. Their RMA is not the best and secondly I have read somewhere that the PCB is dual layer so heating problems might occur. I am not sure if the dual layer PCB is solved or not, but the RMA is still not the best. Although the processor has reasonable headroom for overclock, dont Asus due to availability of overclocking features.

I would suggest anything from MSI or Gigabyte with AMD chipset.

I am currently running Athlon II X2 240 on MSI K9N Neo V3. The BIOS was cheated and socket was also changed. Got this job done from Mumbai.

Last edited by aaggoswami : 14th April 2010 at 12:50.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding sub+amp to this configuration -> feasable? DCEite In-Car Entertainment 10 28th October 2010 01:12
Configuration For Multitasking PC MADMAX111 Gadgets, Computers & Software 19 27th March 2008 10:28
ICE For My Pajero... is this Configuration Ok ?? Tool In-Car Entertainment 52 30th January 2008 12:33
A Vehicle Configuration Information System Venkatesh.C Technical Stuff 11 20th September 2007 13:52
Configuration for Tata Safari lastmanstanding In-Car Entertainment 13 17th June 2006 10:29


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 03:11.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks