Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 16th April 2010, 22:40   #1276
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,660
Thanked: 1,384 Times
Default

Got M2n68-am Plus and Athlon X2 250 for 5950Rs. Might be on the costly side but I was in a hurry and didnt check with competition.
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2010, 23:42   #1277
BHPian
 
anku94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 225
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Can't say about costs but the motherboard model is precisely the same which was discouraged in the last few posts...
anku94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2010, 10:07   #1278
BHPian
 
Chipz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Trivandrum, Thrissur
Posts: 159
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anku94 View Post
Anku@ the difference beteween both these mobo's is the chipset right. Is there anything else.

Chipset
North Bridge: AMD 780G
South Bridge: AMD SB700

Chipset
North Bridge : AMD 785G
South Bridge : AMD SB710



Thanks,
Chipz
Chipz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2010, 12:53   #1279
BHPian
 
anku94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 225
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Chipset is the only difference b/w motherboards, other than some like front connectors, no. of PCI/PCI-E slots, quality of capacitors, no. of SATA ports and other features..
anku94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2010, 13:56   #1280
BHPian
 
Chipz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Trivandrum, Thrissur
Posts: 159
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Thanks a lot anku, but I think everything ends there. I called each and every vendor here in trivandrum (Kerala), no one here stocks gigabyte, only asus. They have M2n68 in plenty. I am thinking of outsource gigabyte from other city. Lets see if I can find one. I wanted to buy one this afternoon, but no luck.
Chipz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2010, 14:03   #1281
Senior - BHPian
 
ImmortalZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 2,133
Thanked: 137 Times
Default

You're not looking at the right shops. I got every bit of my build from Trivandrum and the shop could get me just about any brand under the sun, from budget to range toppers.
ImmortalZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2010, 16:35   #1282
BHPian
 
anku94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 225
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

If nothing else works, why don't you buy it online ?
anku94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2010, 18:53   #1283
BHPian
 
Chipz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Trivandrum, Thrissur
Posts: 159
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImmortalZ View Post
You're not looking at the right shops. I got every bit of my build from Trivandrum and the shop could get me just about any brand under the sun, from budget to range toppers.
Ok, but I tried Indicom, Logtech, Pazhoor. They dont have Gigabyte, only asus and MSI. Can you PM me the shop where you got your goodies. Thanks in advance.

If nothing else works out, I will have to try online, but wont they have problems with replacement and guaranty.

Last edited by Chipz : 17th April 2010 at 18:55.
Chipz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2010, 23:17   #1284
BHPian
 
anku94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 225
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

That's one disadvantage of online shops over local shops. But warranty is provided by the company and not the dealer, so you can do without 'em...
anku94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2010, 12:31   #1285
BHPian
 
Chipz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Trivandrum, Thrissur
Posts: 159
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

I just called the computer dealer. they say they have asus m4a78lt-m le available. Is it a good choice. The chipset is

AMD 760G/SB710
(AMD 780L/SB710)

Thanks once again.
Chipz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2010, 20:41   #1286
BHPian
 
anku94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 225
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

It's a good Motherboard. You can buy it. Unless Mr. Aggoswami has some objections, he seems so much more knowledgeable than me...
anku94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2010, 12:05   #1287
BHPian
 
Chipz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Trivandrum, Thrissur
Posts: 159
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Okay let us see what Mr. Aggoswami says regarding this. Anyway I am going to the Gigabyte dealer to see if he has the Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-US2H.
Chipz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2010, 16:31   #1288
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,668
Thanked: 1,416 Times
Default

I think that 780G/785 based mobo is better that 760L ( 760 is codenamed 780L ).

760 has Radeon HD 3000 as on board graphics, where as 780G has Radeon HD 3200 as on board graphics.
780G is superior than 760 any given day, so its better to go in for Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-US2H.

Last edited by aaggoswami : 20th April 2010 at 16:36.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2010, 10:19   #1289
BHPian
 
Soccerfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kochi
Posts: 591
Thanked: 54 Times
Default

Intel C2D E4500
Intel DP35DP mobo
Zotac 9600GT graphics card
"Transparent side" cabinet from mercury with 12cm fans and blue led lighting
Hitachi - 250GB HDD
WD 1TB Green drive HDD
2 GB DDR2-800 RAM
LG DVD-RW
Creative Inspire 2.1

+
Seagate 1.5TB external HDD
Transcend 320GB portable HDD
Soccerfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2010, 19:53   #1290
BHPian
 
Chipz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Trivandrum, Thrissur
Posts: 159
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

So finally I went to the dealer in person. talked to him. He called the gigabyte dealer. Gave the advance, and finally the GAMA785GM will be available by tomorrow afternoon. Cost 4450 + tax.

I am gonna use it with AMD x2 240, 2GB DDR2 ram.

I would like to thank anku94, Aggoswami, and Immortalz for their most valuable inputs.

Thanks,
Chipz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding sub+amp to this configuration -> feasable? DCEite In-Car Entertainment 10 28th October 2010 01:12
Configuration For Multitasking PC MADMAX111 Gadgets, Computers & Software 19 27th March 2008 10:28
ICE For My Pajero... is this Configuration Ok ?? Tool In-Car Entertainment 52 30th January 2008 12:33
A Vehicle Configuration Information System Venkatesh.C Technical Stuff 11 20th September 2007 13:52
Configuration for Tata Safari lastmanstanding In-Car Entertainment 13 17th June 2006 10:29


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 15:15.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks