Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 21st April 2010, 22:41   #1291
BHPian
 
anku94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 225
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Cool. You're gonna be one happy owner. However, for maximum benefit, make sure you're using two RAMs of 1GB each, rather than one chip of 2GB.

BTW, you got the Mobo for a sweet price. Or I'm beginning to think that Theitdepot.com guys are too expensive...

Last edited by anku94 : 21st April 2010 at 22:43.
anku94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2010, 08:52   #1292
BHPian
 
Chipz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Trivandrum, Thrissur
Posts: 159
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anku94 View Post
However, for maximum benefit, make sure you're using two RAMs of 1GB each, rather than one chip of 2GB.
Err.. I have a small confusion there. Some people say a single 2GB module is better than two 1 GB for performance. Can anyone clear this doubt.


I wished if GA-MA785GM-US2H had supported DDR3.

Thanks,
Chipz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2010, 11:05   #1293
BHPian
 
Soccerfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kochi
Posts: 591
Thanked: 54 Times
Default

2 x 1GB module in dual channel mode will perform slightly (5-7%) better than a single 2 GB module if the mobo supports dual channel memory.
Soccerfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2010, 20:25   #1294
BHPian
 
anku94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 225
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chipz View Post
Err.. I have a small confusion there. Some people say a single 2GB module is better than two 1 GB for performance.
A single 2GB module will never experience performance improvement over 1GBx2, unless it's a high-performance chip. 1GB X 2 will aid in better performance in dual-channel motherboards.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chipz View Post
I wished if GA-MA785GM-US2H had supported DDR3.
You probably won't, when you check the prices.
anku94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2010, 21:05   #1295
BHPian
 
Proxima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Chennai
Posts: 801
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Guys, I need urgent help from you. I need to replace my entire cabinet as the PC does not boot frequently and that is a big headache. I need a simple, functional system. Dont plan to do any gaming, at the maximum, will use Photoshop. Please suggest what configuration I should buy.

The monitor, keyboard, mouse etc are perfectly fine so will retain them.
Proxima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2010, 21:28   #1296
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 19
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Proxima View Post
Guys, I need urgent help from you. I need to replace my entire cabinet as the PC does not boot frequently and that is a big headache. I need a simple, functional system. Dont plan to do any gaming, at the maximum, will use Photoshop. Please suggest what configuration I should buy.

The monitor, keyboard, mouse etc are perfectly fine so will retain them.
Apple MAC mini could be a the one, do check it out before you decide.
vtecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2010, 21:39   #1297
BHPian
 
Chipz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Trivandrum, Thrissur
Posts: 159
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Proxima View Post
Guys, I need urgent help from you.
Hi proxima. Why dont you check out the above-mentioned mobo and processor. Believe me, it is one of the best systems I have worked with. It is the cheapest and much ahead of others. I am 100% satisfied with it.
Chipz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2010, 22:21   #1298
BHPian
 
anku94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 225
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Proxima View Post
Guys, I need urgent help from you. I need to replace my entire cabinet as the PC does not boot frequently and that is a big headache. I need a simple, functional system. Dont plan to do any gaming, at the maximum, will use Photoshop. Please suggest what configuration I should buy.
Why don't you post your budget and I'll try to recommend the best system for you ?

BTW, what exactly, in the cabinet, do you intend to replace ?

IMO, if the following things are in good condition, you should try switching the processor and motherboard first.

1. Cabinet
2. Power Supply
3. Optical Drive
4. HDD
5. RAM (If you've got DDR2 chips, you could retain them too, unless you opt for DDR3 based system..)
anku94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2010, 12:51   #1299
BHPian
 
Proxima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Chennai
Posts: 801
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vtecker View Post
Apple MAC mini could be a the one, do check it out before you decide.
I prefer to build the PC, vtecker.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chipz View Post
Hi proxima. Why dont you check out the above-mentioned mobo and processor. Believe me, it is one of the best systems I have worked with. It is the cheapest and much ahead of others. I am 100% satisfied with it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by anku94 View Post
Why don't you post your budget and I'll try to recommend the best system for you ?

BTW, what exactly, in the cabinet, do you intend to replace ?

IMO, if the following things are in good condition, you should try switching the processor and motherboard first.

1. Cabinet
2. Power Supply
3. Optical Drive
4. HDD
5. RAM (If you've got DDR2 chips, you could retain them too, unless you opt for DDR3 based system..)
I have posted my current specs, in this thread. Would request you to please guide me in that thread as it is more appropriate.
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/gadget...ml#post1864333
Proxima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2010, 15:23   #1300
Senior - BHPian
 
S_U_N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Pune
Posts: 1,778
Thanked: 375 Times
Default

My Desktop:
Dell Studio XPS 435MT
Core i7-920 (quad core, hyperthreading), 2.6 GHz
6 GB DDR3 RAM
500 GB HDD
Wireless keyboard, mouse
24 inch Dell monitor
S_U_N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2010, 00:27   #1301
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,085
Thanked: 583 Times
Default

Interesting to go through the messages in this thread - Looks like CPU speeds haven't gone up all that much in the 6 years that this thread has been running (I can see mention of 2.6 GHz CPUs even in those days - though not dual / quad core) - even hard disks have only gone up from the 40 to 100GB range to the 500-1000GB range.

Interesting to recall the configuration of my first IBM PC compatible (Around 1985 or so, it was an AT&T 6300)

CPU - 8086 @ 8MHz (Considered super fast then - 8088 @4.77MHz was the norm)
RAM - 256KB (Expanded later to 640KB)
Mass Storage - 360KB Floppy drives X 2
Video card/Monitor - 640 X 400 (Was considered real "high resolution" compared to the 640 X 200 that a standard IBM PC had)
OS - MSDOS 2.1

If I recall right, it cost me around $2500 (without the memory expansion). And then expanded the Mass storage to a 20MB Western Digital Hard disk for which I paid another $500 !! And then a 300 baud Hayes Modem that cost about $100 for dialling up to BBSes to download shareware / freeware
kala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2010, 10:16   #1302
BHPian
 
mathewpn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 43
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

I had one PC AT made by ICIM,

CPU 8088 @10Mhz
RAM 640KB
Removable Drive 360KB 5' 1/4" FDD
HDD 20MB ( partitioned into 2 10MB drives )
Monitor Black & White capable of 640x200 pixels or 80x25 lines
Keyboard - Standard 102 keys
No mouse

DOS 6.22 as the OS

Had fun with that machine.
mathewpn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2010, 15:56   #1303
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,515 Times
Default

in 1995 we got our very first computer at home for a whopping 68k! it was a HCL Busybee with the following components:

Processor: Intel 486DX2 66Mhz
Memory: 8MB
Monitor: HCL 14" monochrome
Hard drive: Seagate 54MB
Floppy drives: 5.25" / 3.5"
Keyboard: Standard 101 keys
Mouse: Logitech 3-button
OS: Windows for workgroups 3.11/ DOS 6.22

the Windows installation came on 12 (or 13) 3.5" floppy discs!

increased the RAM to 16MB later and installed Windows Workstation 4.0.. barely! i learnt to disassemble and reassemble a PC on that machine

loved to play Dave, PAC MAN, Paratrooper and Wolfenstien on it
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2010, 18:27   #1304
BHPian
 
anku94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 225
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Dave and Wolfenstein huh....take you back to good old days....
anku94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2010, 17:20   #1305
BHPian
 
iamback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Punekar
Posts: 126
Thanked: 8 Times
Default My CUSTOM PC

My self assembled custom made desktop :

Date of assembly : 03/2009
Processor : Intel Pentium D 3.00 GHz
Motherboard : Intel D945GCCR
RAM : Dynet 1 GB
Hard disk : Seagate IDE 160 GB
Power Supply : Odyssey 450 Watts
CPU case : Odyssey
DVD Writer : LG Supermulti Ultra speed
Keyboard : Odyssey 104 Keys
Mouse : Odyssey Optical mouse
Monitor/Display : Samsung SyncMaster 15" CRT

Others :
Thermal Compound used : Arctic MX2
Internal Blue LED lightning
iamback is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding sub+amp to this configuration -> feasable? DCEite In-Car Entertainment 10 28th October 2010 01:12
Configuration For Multitasking PC MADMAX111 Gadgets, Computers & Software 19 27th March 2008 10:28
ICE For My Pajero... is this Configuration Ok ?? Tool In-Car Entertainment 52 30th January 2008 12:33
A Vehicle Configuration Information System Venkatesh.C Technical Stuff 11 20th September 2007 13:52
Configuration for Tata Safari lastmanstanding In-Car Entertainment 13 17th June 2006 10:29


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 13:56.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks