Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 15th May 2010, 01:28   #1306
BHPian
 
jocreative's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 179
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Hello Guys, New to this thread here.

Here is my self assembled monster Desktop PC -

Mother Board - ASUS M4a79 Delux
Processor - AMD Phenom II X4 955 Quad Core@3.7GHz/core
CPU Cooling Fan - Cooler Master V10
Chasis Fans = 2 Red LED 120MM Fans, 1 Blue LED 120MM fan, 2 x Black 120MM Fans.
Ram - 8GB DDR3
Video Card - Saphire Radeon 4850 HD series - 512 MB DDR3, Dual DVI output.
Power Supply Unit - Cooler Master 600W
Cabinet - CoolerMaster 690M
Hard Disks - Multiple internal SATA Seagates and Hitachi's. Total = 2.5TB.
External Hardisks - 500GB, 320GB, 160GB, 80GB, 80GB
DVD R/W Drive - LG, External Sony BluRay drive
Monitor - 24" Benq G2420HD
Keyboad/Mouse - Logitech MK250 Wireless
Touchpad - iBall 6.4"
Skype incall Phone setup.

jocreative is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2010, 01:36   #1307
BHPian
 
jocreative's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 179
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chipz View Post
I just called the computer dealer. they say they have asus m4a78lt-m le available. Is it a good choice. The chipset is

AMD 760G/SB710
(AMD 780L/SB710)

Thanks once again.
Hey there, Not sure if you have already bought this board, but I have one to spare. Hardly used. 1-2 weeks.
This board was suggested to me when I upgraded from AMD dual core to quad core. I ran my quad core on this board for 1-2 weeks and it kept giving me "CPU not supported error" and frequently crashed and hung up. So I had to buy another board - ASUS M4a79 Delux series and now everything is groovy.

Asus M4a78LT-m LE is a good board, but be aware - it supports only DDR3 Memory, and Check Asus CPU support list before committing. Dealers may not have much knowledge on CPU support when it comes to high end boards.

I buy from local dealers when I need something "yesterday", but other than that I always go ebaying. No problems so far.

So yeh, if you are interested in the board, let me know. It still has 1year warranty and all the other stuff that comes with a new board. Or I would just give it back to the dealer (COMSOL) and screw their happiness for giving me a non-complaint board.

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaggoswami View Post
All I can say is avoid Asus...Although the processor has reasonable headroom for overclock, dont Asus due to availability of overclocking features.
Hey Aagooswami, Nice to meet ya. Jumping in to your comment here-- I will take ASUS+AMD over Intel anyday I am an avid high end 3D modeller/animator/PS Designer with tons of load on the motherboard/processor and have been using Asus+AMD combination for over 6 years now. Its far more stable than any Intel according to my opinion. I even have a 3year ASUS 17" laptop that still kicks booty.

Last edited by Rehaan : 15th May 2010 at 16:30. Reason: Posts merged. Please use the MULTIQUOTE button instead of making multiple consecutive posts in the same thread. Thanks.
jocreative is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2010, 13:41   #1308
BHPian
 
Chipz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Trivandrum, Thrissur
Posts: 159
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jocreative View Post
Hey there, Not sure if you have already bought this board, but I have one to spare. Hardly used. 1-2 weeks.
Hi jocreative, I had already brought GA-MA785GM-US2H and am quite happy with it.

thanks,
Chipz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2010, 14:58   #1309
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,456
Thanked: 3,582 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jocreative View Post
I will take ASUS+AMD over Intel anyday
+1 to that. been with AMD+ASUS since 2005
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2010, 21:40   #1310
BHPian
 
anku94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 225
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Me since 2004. Not my decision though,as it was a Compaq...
anku94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2010, 22:06   #1311
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,573
Thanked: 364 Times
Default

Ordered a laptop yesterday, here are the config details

Dell(TM) Studio 15 Laptop

Intel® Core™ i5-540M Processor (2.53GHz, 4 Thread, turbo boost up to 3.06GHz, 3M cache)

4GB (2GBx2) 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM (Work at 1066MHz for Intel Arrandale CPU)

ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 5470 - 1GB

320GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive

Windows® 7 Home Premium 64bit

Internal 8X DVD+/-RW Combination Drive with dual layer write capabilities

1 Year Complete Cover Accidental Damage Protection

15.6 " Full HD(1080p) WLED (1920 x 1080)Display with TrueLife™

for a price of INR 56,700

How's this config for this price? I initially was inclined to i7 but later switch to i5.
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2010, 23:18   #1312
BHPian
 
jocreative's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 179
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clevermax View Post
Ordered a laptop yesterday, here are the config details

Dell(TM) Studio 15 Laptop

Intel® Core™ i5-540M Processor (2.53GHz, 4 Thread, turbo boost up to 3.06GHz, 3M cache)

4GB (2GBx2) 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM (Work at 1066MHz for Intel Arrandale CPU)

ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 5470 - 1GB

320GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive

Windows® 7 Home Premium 64bit

Internal 8X DVD+/-RW Combination Drive with dual layer write capabilities

1 Year Complete Cover Accidental Damage Protection

15.6 " Full HD(1080p) WLED (1920 x 1080)Display with TrueLife™

for a price of INR 56,700

How's this config for this price? I initially was inclined to i7 but later switch to i5.

Good config and price sounds about right but personal opinion... I was or probably never will be a fan of DELL Just does not spread the word "quality" to me.
jocreative is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2010, 12:16   #1313
Senior - BHPian
 
S_U_N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Pune
Posts: 1,781
Thanked: 380 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clevermax View Post

How's this config for this price? I initially was inclined to i7 but later switch to i5.
Good configuration. Did you check the latest R series as well?
If you use the laptop with care, it should serve you well for years to come.
S_U_N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2010, 13:38   #1314
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,573
Thanked: 364 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jocreative View Post
Good config and price sounds about right but personal opinion... I was or probably never will be a fan of DELL Just does not spread the word "quality" to me.
jo, I am using an Inspiron for the past two years - no issues with that, except the battery that went kaput days before the warranty ended. Anyway, I find their A.S.S. to be really good. Did you have any bad experiences with Dell?

Quote:
Originally Posted by S_U_N View Post
Good configuration. Did you check the latest R series as well? If you use the laptop with care, it should serve you well for years to come.
No S_U_N, I didn't check the R series.

The sales person called me and told that I am getting 5% corporate discount which I was unaware of !

So without thinking, upgraded the config to i7 Processor. (quad core) Took Rs. 900 worth Antivirus package only to get the BT stereo headset free - its sound quality is just awesome. Real good bass too. (I already have one)

I could have kept the i5 and opted for 3 years complete cover for the same price - you folks think that I should do that instead of going for i7? what if the two-core processors become fast obsolete with more and more resource hogging software & games coming up?

The overall price including delivery charges now hovers around 60K.

Last edited by clevermax : 17th May 2010 at 13:45.
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2010, 01:59   #1315
Senior - BHPian
 
blackasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Kolkata, WB
Posts: 2,768
Thanked: 950 Times
Default

My desktops:

Machine 1

Motherborad ASUS A7N8X VM400
CPU AMD Athlon XP 2000+
RAM 512 DDR 333MHz
HDD WD 80 GB PATA
video Card Nvidia Geforce 6200 128MB
DVD writer BENQ
FDD Floppy drive
Case + smps ATX + 450 watt smps
Sound onboard
LAN onboard

Machine 2

Motherborad MSI K9N SLI PLATINUM
CPU AMD Athlon 64 x2 3600+
RAM OCZ 4 GB DDR2 800 MHz
HDD SEAGATE 320 GB SATA
video Card Nvidia Geforce 9400GT 1GB
DVD writer LG
Case + smps INTEX ATX + 450 watt smps
Sound CREATIVE SB LIVE 5.1
LAN onboard

Machine 3

Motherborad ASUS M4A78TE
CPU AMD PHENOM II X4 810
RAM PATRIOT 8 GB DDR3 1333 MHz UNGANGED MODE
HDD SEAGATE 250 GB SATA
video Card ATI RADEON HD 4870 512MB
DVD writer LG
Case + smps COOLER MASTER CM690 + OCZ GAMEXTREAM 600 watt smps
Sound CREATIVE X-FI xtreme gamer
LAN onboard


I use 1 samsung 17" LCD monitor and another samsung 22" full HD lcd monitor.


My Laptops:

Dell Inspiron E1705 (bought in 2007) - my dad uses this now at home

CPU Intel core2duo T7200 2 Ghz
RAM 2 GB 667 Mhz DDR2
HDD 80 GB SATA 7200 RPM
VIDEO Geforce go 9400GT 256 MB
SCREEN 17"
SOUND Creative SB live


HP G62-149WM - this is what I use now (got it a month back)

Microprocessor Intel Core i5-430M processor 2.26GHz with Turbo Boost Technology up to 2.53 GHz
Memory 4GB DDR3 System Memory (2 DIMM)
Video Intel HD Graphics
Hard Drive 250GB (7200RPM)
DVD Drive LightScribe SuperMulti 8X DVD±R/RW with Double Layer Support
Display 15.6" Diagonal High-Definition LED HP BrightView Widescreen Display (1366x768)
Network Card Integrated 10/100 Ethernet LAN
Wireless Connectivity 802.11b/g/n WLAN
Sound Altec Lansing
blackasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2010, 10:26   #1316
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,456
Thanked: 3,582 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackasta View Post
My desktops:

-x- snip -x-

Sound Altec Lansing
nice machines you got there mate!

OT: when my colleague and i were in the US way back in 2001, we had a white Mazda 626 LX
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2010, 12:59   #1317
Senior - BHPian
 
S_U_N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Pune
Posts: 1,781
Thanked: 380 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clevermax View Post
j
I could have kept the i5 and opted for 3 years complete cover for the same price - you folks think that I should do that instead of going for i7? what if the two-core processors become fast obsolete with more and more resource hogging software & games coming up?

The overall price including delivery charges now hovers around 60K.
If you have the budget, then sure, go for it.
I have got an i7-920 based desktop. Except during an occasional video editing, the CPU rarely gets utilized to even 20% of its potential.
I believe that there aren't enough applications yet which take advantage of multicore CPUs. Office 2010 (launched last week) has *now* got some features to take advantage of multi-core CPUs. Hopefully we should see more and more applications going that way in the coming months.
S_U_N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2010, 22:26   #1318
BHPian
 
anku94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 225
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

i7 isn't required unless you've got some greenbucks you can't spend despite the best of your efforts. I'll have a hard time recommending anything higher than the i5 750.
anku94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2010, 00:27   #1319
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,668
Thanked: 1,416 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jocreative View Post
Hey Aagooswami, Nice to meet ya. Jumping in to your comment here-- I will take ASUS+AMD over Intel anyday I am an avid high end 3D modeller/animator/PS Designer with tons of load on the motherboard/processor and have been using Asus+AMD combination for over 6 years now. Its far more stable than any Intel according to my opinion. I even have a 3year ASUS 17" laptop that still kicks booty.
You are really enthusisastic it seems!
Yes, somehow, I find the stability of Intel less than AMD + Asus/MSI/Gigabyte. I myself have an Intel quad, but that quad is not used much. I am running AMD setup more.

For Asus, I have practically seen people facing RMA issues and earlier reliability was not very high. I think this has lot to do with vendors also. If Asus works well, its one of the best with many features. Its like European manufacturer car. If it works well, then the experience is very good, but one things go wrong, its not good.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IronH4WK View Post
+1 to that. been with AMD+ASUS since 2005
I will surely give Asus a shot for my next upgrade.


Quote:
Originally Posted by clevermax View Post
Ordered a laptop yesterday, here are the config details

Dell(TM) Studio 15 Laptop

Intel® Core™ i5-540M Processor (2.53GHz, 4 Thread, turbo boost up to 3.06GHz, 3M cache)

ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 5470 - 1GB

Good setup at a reasonable cost. However, I am against Intel.


This part is against Intel :

This is biggest problem I have with Intel Core i5 and Core i3 processors is the integrated graphics. They have integrated or just slapped their not so good graphics chip on the processor die. I agree that its not child's play, but still its meaningless. The AMD fusion processor will have the graphics computing integrated into processor and that will be called APU IIRC.

The real problem I have with Intel in this : You pay for something you dont need or something you are not going to use.

In clevermax's case, if I am not wrong, the processor has that graphics chip integrated onto processor die. But his laptop is having a graphic card, so why pay for that Intel graphic chip on processor that he is not going to use ( neither will he need it ) ? Its redundancy and waste IMO. The Intel graphics will not be used but he will still pay for it.

All this because AMD is not having giving stiff competition to Intel, so Intel has monopoly and is eating money.


EDIT :
@clevermax :
Go for Corei7. Core i5, you are paying for something you dont need IMHO.

Last edited by aaggoswami : 20th May 2010 at 00:29.
aaggoswami is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2010, 01:48   #1320
Senior - BHPian
 
blackasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Kolkata, WB
Posts: 2,768
Thanked: 950 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jocreative View Post
I will take ASUS+AMD over Intel anyday I am an avid high end 3D modeller/animator/PS Designer with tons of load on the motherboard/processor and have been using Asus+AMD combination for over 6 years now. Its far more stable than any Intel according to my opinion. I even have a 3year ASUS 17" laptop that still kicks booty.
Nice!
I also have been using AMD processors from the days of K6III processors. Had an AMD K6III 450Mhz processor on a tomato mobo as my first PC in 2000 (almost sure that is the correct year!)
So guess what - I have been using AMD CPUs for around 10 years now

Used K6III, Athlon 2000+ XP, Sempron 2200+, Athlon X2 64 3600, and Phenom X4 810 processors in my desktops till date. Paired them with tomato, gigabyte, asus and MSI motherboards.
blackasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding sub+amp to this configuration -> feasable? DCEite In-Car Entertainment 10 28th October 2010 01:12
Configuration For Multitasking PC MADMAX111 Gadgets, Computers & Software 19 27th March 2008 10:28
ICE For My Pajero... is this Configuration Ok ?? Tool In-Car Entertainment 52 30th January 2008 12:33
A Vehicle Configuration Information System Venkatesh.C Technical Stuff 11 20th September 2007 13:52
Configuration for Tata Safari lastmanstanding In-Car Entertainment 13 17th June 2006 10:29


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 11:07.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks