Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 27th June 2005, 04:54   #121
BHPian
 
Badcheetah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 123
Thanked: 2 Times
Thumbs up

Evo
What did u mean by if its provided by DELL , the machine i have is a Compaq , so does that mean i cant get it installed on my machine? please explain yaar ....
Also these days you see this add on tv , where u can catch up on tv programes when ever you want and even pause it and play it back at your own convience .. do u have any info on that , thats some thing i would not mind having and also please suggest some webcam for me , i dont get to go to nehru place much and thats the reason i still havent got one yet , so if you know any good one , tell em and ill order it over the phone ... (BIG HELP MAN )
That way i can stay in touch with my freinds even better ....

Thanks again and waiting for your reply ...

Cheetah Out .....
Badcheetah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2005, 05:09   #122
BHPian
 
EVO6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 488
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Badcheetah
Evo
What did u mean by if its provided by DELL , the machine i have is a Compaq , so does that mean i cant get it installed on my machine? please explain yaar ....
Well I was replying to someone who had a dell machine and needing a TV tuner card... The ads you seeing are for PC having Windows Media Centre Operating System installed on them ... No laptops sold in India have this new OS installed on them...

Logitech Webcams are good, reliable and pretty much affordable .. Or u can go to compaq online store and order the webcam from them so u neednt go shoping for it ... pay by credit card or send them cheque ...

I will still find out from the comp guys about good webcams and PM u ...
EVO6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2005, 05:16   #123
BHPian
 
Badcheetah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 123
Thanked: 2 Times
Question

Evo , You mentioned the new add is for PC having Windows Media Centre Operating System installed on them ... No laptops sold in India have this new OS installed on them... ,

well if its an operating system , cant i get it changed ...
I'm sorry my knowledge on this is really very bad , so please ignore this msg if it cant be done (you can laugh thow )
Thanks
Cheetah Out ....
Badcheetah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2005, 05:23   #124
BHPian
 
EVO6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 488
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Well the problem is that u need some specific motherboard and processor speed for windows media centre to work ... which might be a problem with the machine you have .. what i can do it ask the compu geeks and come back to u on this ... dont worry dude me not laughing at u .. me dumb as some stuff too .. u good at rally stuff and cars .. everyone is good at something or the other ... no one is good at everything ....
EVO
EVO6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2005, 08:42   #125
Senior - BHPian
 
adya33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 1,839
Thanked: 91 Times
Default

common EVO stop confusing poor guy
Windows Media center is only sold to OEM & it is not available in retail

@Camry: you can install & use Pinnacle USB tuner (don't worry - it is mentioned on website)
as it is USB it is plug & play
please go to link i havte provided earlier
you can even email them asking about compatiblity
adya33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2005, 12:17   #126
BHPian
 
freakrz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 176
Thanked: 50 Times
Default

i have a HP ZV 5000 series custom built laptop

its a
AMD 3400 + 64 Bit Processor with PowerNow ! Technology
1MB L2 Cache
1 GB DDR SDRAM ,800 Mhz FSB
128 MB DDR (DEDICATED) NVIDIA GFORCE 4 440 Go FX graphics
Card
60 GB 5400 RPM
DVD +R/RW BURNER
15.4 INCH WXGA HIGH DEFINITION WIDESCREEN 1280 X 800
DISPLAY
INTEGRATED v.90/V.92 56Kb MODEM
INTEGRATED 10/100BASE -T Ethernet LAN
54 G 802.11b/g WLAN & Bluetooth with 125 HSM SpeedBooster
support
16 bit Sound Blaster Pro compatible audio;internal
Harman/Kardon speakers
PC card Slot
5 type MMC card Slot
3 USB ports
IEEE 1394 Firewire port
S-Video Connectivity
freakrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2005, 13:22   #127
BHPian
 
EVO6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 488
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Adya,
Well the reason why they sell only to OEMs is because the requirement of certain hardware for the OS to run ...
Thats exactly what i told him... Even Dell india yet doesnt have a machine which can use WMC as its OS ...
EVO6
EVO6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2005, 16:04   #128
Senior - BHPian
 
adya33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 1,839
Thanked: 91 Times
Default

Quote:
Thats exactly what i told him... Even Dell india yet doesnt have a machine which can use WMC as its OS ...
EVO6
having Windows Xp Media center is not the only way to watch TV on your computer
thats what I was trying to say
adya33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2005, 22:46   #129
Senior - BHPian
 
binz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,299
Thanked: 410 Times
Default What computer do u use???

Hey guys,
im curious to know what computers you guys use and how much you paid for it.
Here are the specs of my comp:

AMD Athlon 64 3000+(socket 939)
rs480m2 mobo
my personal fav-2x512 mb ram
seagate 80gb hdd
lite:on dvd writer
running on windows xp sp2

total paid:rs 27,000!!!(excluding os)

Last edited by binz : 11th October 2005 at 22:48.
binz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2005, 11:42   #130
BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 726
Thanked: 9 Times
Default

I bought a new PC just last week-end..and finally I can play some games yeah !

AMD Athlon 64 2800+ (754 socket)
Asus K8v - MX Mobo (VIA chipset, onboard LAN, sound etc)
1 GB DDR RAM
80 GB SATA HDD
Samsung CD R/W
Samsung 17" CRT monitor
Microsoft keyboard and optical mouse
Artis speakers (totally useless!)
On Windows XP SP2

Everything in black colour,..
Cost = 30k (including VAT)
Abhay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2005, 11:52   #131
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,850
Thanked: 15,406 Times
Default

Socket 754??! Why did you go for that. the 930 is out since ages!
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2005, 12:04   #132
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: N.A
Posts: 6,818
Thanked: 1,439 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by freakrz
i have a HP ZV 5000 series custom built laptop

its a
Request to everyone who posts on this thread: If you're quoting figures for a LAPTOP, PLEASE INCLUDE THE TRAVEL WEIGHT (INCL CHARGER). This will be useful to people like me who try to get the most performance for the least weight...thanks to spinal injuries.
Steeroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2005, 12:10   #133
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,850
Thanked: 15,406 Times
Default

What are you looking for? I can help you with that in a jiffy(dont know any dealers, but i can tell which model will suit your needs, sourcing is up to you)
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2005, 12:33   #134
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 64
Thanked: 18 Times
Default

My current PC config:

Pentium 4 2.8GHz Hyper Threaded 800Mhz FSB
Intel 865 chipset, intel motherboard
512 MB DDR RAM Dual channel 400Mhz
200 GB (7200rpm) ATA HDD
NEC 16x DVD Writer
Samsung 6x DVD ROM
LG 17" monitor
LG speakers
On Windows XP SP2

I have upgraded it at various times over the last few years.
Moved from P3 - 800Mhz to P4 last year, retained my monitor and keyboard, etc. Added a DVD writer as well.

So cant tell you exact price for the complete setup, but I guess a similar config should cost about 40K now (with a faster processor i am sure).
manu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2005, 13:10   #135
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: N.A
Posts: 6,818
Thanked: 1,439 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979
What are you looking for? I can help you with that in a jiffy(dont know any dealers, but i can tell which model will suit your needs, sourcing is up to you)
Am currently using a Vaio S18GP and its time to upgrade. Current options include the Vaio S48GP (yes I'm very happy with Sony), Vaio T Series ultraportables, Fujitsu P Series ultraportables and Dell X40 (doesnt come with built in optical drives, though).

Any other recommendations are welcome. Travel weight INCLUDING the charger should be < 2kg. The Vaio S48GP is about 1.8 kg, T Series and Fujitsu P Series are both 1.2 kg.
Steeroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding sub+amp to this configuration -> feasable? DCEite In-Car Entertainment 10 28th October 2010 01:12
Configuration For Multitasking PC MADMAX111 Gadgets, Computers & Software 19 27th March 2008 10:28
ICE For My Pajero... is this Configuration Ok ?? Tool In-Car Entertainment 52 30th January 2008 12:33
A Vehicle Configuration Information System Venkatesh.C Technical Stuff 11 20th September 2007 13:52
Configuration for Tata Safari lastmanstanding In-Car Entertainment 13 17th June 2006 10:29


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 08:09.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks