Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 9th September 2006, 12:33   #16
Senior - BHPian
 
veyron1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,426
Thanked: 37 Times
Default

This has been of GREAT help. Thanks, gr8guzzler.

For the record, I've been wanting to upgrade the firmware of my N70 since quite some time, but I couldn't trust the Nokia Service centres. I was looking at professional "self-flashing...". But this has been REALLY helpful.

My earlier firmware : 2.0536.0.2 RM-84.
Latest one that I updated with: 5.0616.2.03 RM-84.

Improvements that I've noticed, over and above the site-mentioned advantages;

1) Camera opens quicker.
2) Gallery loads a lot faster.
3) Applications have become a lot quicker.
4) Better overall speed.

And some more.....
veyron1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2006, 23:51   #17
Senior - BHPian
 
jesal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 2,322
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

what i was thinking if putting the n72 version possible on the 6680. i mean can u flash it on 6680 since i think they share same hardware ? ? ? anyone done this yet. i used to do this on the sony ericssons never tried on nokia though ? positive replys waited for
jesal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2006, 00:39   #18
Senior - BHPian
 
abhibh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Back in the HOOD near you!
Posts: 2,767
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

r8 software updated my n70 and its working faster man.. really fast then before. Thnx dude.
abhibh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2006, 04:30   #19
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,229
Thanked: 21,890 Times
Default

AAaaargh,

I finally got my hands on a data cable, but then i tried flashing the firmware and the software would just hang at the part where it was to begin flashing (scary!) and then just time out in a few minutes.

So today i tried from another computer, (theres a newer version of the updater software out) and the software now tells me that theres no new firmware available for my phone!!!!

HELP! i HATE the slowness of the 6630.

My current firmware is
v3.45.113
04-01-05
RM-1

Any insights would be appreciated.
Thanks,
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2006, 18:01   #20
Senior - BHPian
 
veyron1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,426
Thanked: 37 Times
Default

Rehaan, the 6630 is already quick...but nevertheless, the latest firmware is 6.xx.xx...

This seems to be weird. Your CA-53 data cable supplied with the phone, should be able to carry out the flashing.

Nevertheless, try this out. Back up all data. Do a hard reset on your phone. And then try to flash. It should work.
veyron1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2006, 10:00   #21
BHPian
 
yogi1771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 631
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

i have this problem with the updater it doesnt detect my phone at all i have the latest pc suite even the connections r fine the usb icon is shown on the phone the phone i have is n80 any idea whats the prob
yogi1771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2006, 10:53   #22
Senior - BHPian
 
abhibh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Back in the HOOD near you!
Posts: 2,767
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

Hi,

I have a N70 and from the day i have updated my firmware the phone has become faster. Now after the update of firmware i have noticed that my phone battery drains out very quickly. I mean it used to last 3 days (nit much usage) before update but now it lasts only 1 - 2 days. Is this me or every one else is also facing the same problem.

Please N70 users give your comments.

Cheers.
A
abhibh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2006, 13:18   #23
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,229
Thanked: 21,890 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by veyron1
Rehaan, the 6630 is already quick...
I TOTALLY disagree with you there!!!!
It sometimes takes 3-4seconds just to open up the recent calls list etc!!!!

Quote:
This seems to be weird. Your CA-53 data cable supplied with the phone, should be able to carry out the flashing.
Well i'm actually using another cable (not sure which one) but from another friends nokia (66xx).

The cable works for PCsuite etc, so it should be ok.

I *might* try hard resetting, but my fear is that the software will still tell me that theres no firmware updates available for my phone. Does it have something to do with the "RM-1" ? (what does that mean?)

Thanks,
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2006, 18:58   #24
BHPian
 
yogi1771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 631
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by car crazy kid
make sure sure phone is on pc suite mode.
yeah car crazy kid the phone is on pc suite mode still the prob had tried it with data transfer but no luck,everything works fine with pc suite but the updater just doesnt work even had my antivirus and firewall closed
yogi1771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2006, 00:27   #25
BHPian
 
yogi1771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 631
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

okay guys the updater needs the latest usb port thats version 2 tried it on my cousins comp which has the latest usb port(i have the old version ) and the updater detected my phone within no time
yogi1771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2006, 14:08   #26
DRC
BHPian
 
DRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Cockpit
Posts: 906
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Cool man! It works and amazing.. My bluetooth sybcing problem is gone!
DRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2006, 14:35   #27
BHPian
 
yogi1771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 631
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by car crazy kid
even you probably have usb2 but theyre usually at the back.
no car crazy i dont have it on my system my system is quite old now,due for a new system waiting for the dx10 graphic cards to hit the market
yogi1771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2007, 21:09   #28
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BLR
Posts: 2,222
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Bumping an old thread I know.. but does anyone have the software upgrade saved or online somehwere? Cant seem to get it off the nokia website.

Thanks.
s0uljah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2007, 18:06   #29
BHPian
 
gr8guzzler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 648
Thanked: 38 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by s0uljah View Post
Cant seem to get it off the nokia website.
???

BTW, the lastest Nokia PC Suite has the software upgrade built-in.
gr8guzzler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ECU Firmware Update from Tata for Safari 2.2 & Aria jealousdiamond Technical Stuff 40 13th October 2013 16:31
Firmware update for Tata nano??? shineshine Technical Stuff 10 4th September 2011 14:47
Jvc Avx 800 Firmware Update dockap In-Car Entertainment 2 12th November 2008 19:45
The latest fashion from Nokia - new Nokia 8800 khanak Gadgets, Computers & Software 29 26th March 2008 00:56
nokia 7610 v/s nokia 6600 normally_crazy Shifting gears 2 21st August 2004 18:19


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 07:26.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks