Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 14th September 2006, 19:01   #61
Senior - BHPian
 
black12rr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ridin earth now
Posts: 1,259
Thanked: 271 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin
1. I dont know how to post pics.
Arent moderators supposed to know this ? ,or was it a joke ?
black12rr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2006, 20:35   #62
BHPian
 
rsjaurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Batala
Posts: 775
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by netarchie
Hey Navin, can you confirm if your P990 has an in-built card scanner ?
acc. to specs,it has business card scanner.

from specs......

Use the P990i to scan business cards. Scan a business card, and the P990i will convert to text and save it in your contacts. Scan, save, synchronise
rsjaurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2006, 21:09   #63
BHPian
 
nikkibike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: QoAS
Posts: 523
Thanked: 2 Times
Default hi there

hydrashok, Hey thanks for that link!!! Too much of infos!! But hey as I said in person, I've almost finalised on iMATE JasJam!!!! What say?!!

cheers:
nikkibike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2006, 21:56   #64
Senior - BHPian
 
satish_appasani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 1,029
Thanked: 42 Times
Default

Nikki. check this site www.pocketpcdubai.com for details about Windows phones scenario in middle east.

www.msmobiles.com is another good site for Windows phone lovers.
satish_appasani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2006, 22:12   #65
BHPian
 
nikkibike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: QoAS
Posts: 523
Thanked: 2 Times
Default hi there

Satish, Thanks for that link!! Will revert after browsint the same!!

cheers!
nikkibike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2006, 12:25   #66
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,235
Thanked: 3,646 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by black12rr
Arent moderators supposed to know this ? ,or was it a joke ?
Posting pics is not a pre-requisite to being a Mod. I was "modded" becuase I got many grey hairs and too few grey cells (to refuse). :-)

My cameras manage to copy the pics from my cameras on to my PC automatically (dont ask me how my nephew did this for me). then I burn them on a CD and send them to a printer with instructions on the print size (4x6, 5x7, 6x8, 8x10 etc...).

Since I am a regular my printer knows what to do. Posting pics on the web requires storing 2 copies of the pics (full size for printing and reduced size for the web). confusing and a pain in the neck if you ask me.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2006, 12:28   #67
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,235
Thanked: 3,646 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by netarchie
Hey Navin, can you confirm if your P990 has an in-built card scanner ?
My P990 is back with SE. It was wierd it would come on on it's own go off while I was using it. just plain wierd. I had the dealer take it back and hopefully i will get a new piece today itself.

Funny guy, my dealer, refused to take the whole package back insisted on taking just the phone and warranty card.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2006, 17:35   #68
Senior - BHPian
 
black12rr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ridin earth now
Posts: 1,259
Thanked: 271 Times
Default

man if sum thing had happened to me after spending 30 K + on cell phone ,i would be pulling out whatever grey hairs that were left

Navin dont go easy with the dealer ,he might not even take to autorised serive center to get it repaired .
If he would replace you with a new piece ,but from where ?
black12rr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2006, 21:22   #69
BHPian
 
rsjaurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Batala
Posts: 775
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin
My P990 is back with SE. It was wierd it would come on on it's own go off while I was using it. just plain wierd. I had the dealer take it back and hopefully i will get a new piece today itself.

Funny guy, my dealer, refused to take the whole package back insisted on taking just the phone and warranty card.
you know why....may be coz this phone has not been released officially.So he sold u in gray but with duplicate bill etc.

Local dealer told me that it has not been releaded so far.
Today i went to buy nokia N73 [under 24k now with B/W]but just couldn't buy it coz i never liked Nokia.Also i want to buy SE990 but will wait till its prices drop to about 25k and SE guys release firmwares to stop problems it is facing.

Last edited by rsjaurr : 15th September 2006 at 21:26.
rsjaurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2006, 21:45   #70
BHPian
 
johy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Siliguri
Posts: 837
Thanked: 370 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin

Funny guy, my dealer, refused to take the whole package back insisted on taking just the phone and warranty card.
That is because, Navinji, the dealers and vendors make it a point to lose your packing, accessories, etc., when you hand over everything for replacement. I have had my share of bad luck -- I would send the complete package and get back the "replaced" product albeit threadbare..

@ Nikkibike,

I use an older Ipaq h6365 and find it pretty useful, handwriting recognition, the storage via SD cards, working with Word, and all. However, I really don't like the phone functionality - it is pretty cumbersome, the ringtone is really low (even though I have an "edited" wav file with the volume magnified a number of times). I feel having two devices is the best way to go.
johy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2006, 10:08   #71
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,235
Thanked: 3,646 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rsjaurr
you know why....may be coz this phone has not been released officially.So he sold u in gray but with duplicate bill etc..
I am not sure about this Doc. two dealers told me it has been officially released. the dealer's rep who picked up the phone told me that in the chaos that exists in the repair shop they are likely to loose the package.

Besides my package came with official address of India Distributor (Ingram Micro) and the IMEI number was registered at Sony Ericsom (warranty purposes).

BTW (OT) I had a chat with my dealer yesterday and she told that the barnd with the least problems and best A.S.S. is Samsung (is this true or is Samsung just offering better dealer margins).
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2006, 14:48   #72
BHPian
 
nikkibike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: QoAS
Posts: 523
Thanked: 2 Times
Default hi there

johy, Thanks for that link buddy!! But the spec isn't clear I guess!! What the processor speed of this one, Does it support edge and 3g??!! What bout its battery backup??!! Kindly lemme know...! Thanks in advance..!

cheers!
nikkibike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2006, 10:19   #73
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,235
Thanked: 3,646 Times
Default

Update on P990: Got new piece. SE apparantly tried like hell all of friday to fix my phone (updating frmware) and it took them a while to be convinved that it was not something a firmware upgrade could fix (my contention). New phone works fine out of the box. Same firmware as old phone (I am not such an idiot after all). Still I will move slowly from my Atom to the 990i. One feature at a time. Got me a second SIM card from Orange so I can use both phone ans slowly shift.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2006, 14:47   #74
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: N.A
Posts: 6,819
Thanked: 1,440 Times
Default

Update on P990i.

My next cabin neighbour at the office bought one of the first 990is in the market, but I had never seen him carrying one. Caught him with it recently and he said the unit was sent back to SE as soon as he bought it. Now he has the following problems:

1. Numeric keyboard 'hangs' occassionally. Stuck, does not respond.

2. Screen goes blank occassionally. The PDA is not hung, but its useless as you cant even see who's calling you.

3. A few dirty pixels on the screen. Thats a few too many.

4. Battery life - he just showed me the phone that was fully charged at 8 am today. Its showing less than half-full about 5 hours later.

Thats one really pissed off user. He has had one replacement and one software upgrade so far.
Steeroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2006, 12:39   #75
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,235
Thanked: 3,646 Times
Default

I upgraded my software today. I had to reload all my data after the software upgrade. Boy I hate that.

Before the software upgrade I was able to hang my P990 last night. seems like some apps do not uninstall themselves when you are done using them. so after a few apps are loaded the memory gets full and it hangs. I assume a firmware upgrade will fix that.

Seems like your neighbour has worse luck than me.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Planning to BUY RE Electra 5s in Pondicherry & Use in Bangalore Need Advice msvg Motorbikes 10 22nd September 2009 19:44
Planning to buy a New Tucson - Need advice abhishek dutta SUVs, MUVs & 4x4s 18 28th July 2009 13:40
Which PDA phone to buy for use with Hutch Mail? Bass&Trouble Gadgets, Computers & Software 16 9th November 2006 21:54
Any advice on PDA's? GTO Gadgets, Computers & Software 6 9th November 2004 17:21


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 06:10.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks