Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 24th October 2006, 16:54   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default Raid problem....

I have a MSI K8M SLI Platinum MB..it has got onboard nvidia raid controller with which I have configured my two 120 gb sata hdd in RAID 0 config...yesterday my MB got damage so now If I get a new MB different model will the present HDD in the raid config work with the new MB or I require the older MB to make them split and make them different????

Computer experts plz help.............
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2006, 17:36   #2
Distinguished - BHPian
 
condor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Speed-brkr City
Posts: 10,320
Thanked: 3,664 Times
Default

is there any spanning across the drives?
condor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2006, 17:40   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
merve_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,360
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Why dont you get the same motherboard model.then there will be no issue at all.if not the same atleast get a similar one from MSI.one more thing is you can get a board with the same nvidia chipset(nforce whatever),but i am not sure it will work because the software implementition of all MB manufacturer's for raid is not same.

with raid0 spanning is sure to happen.

Last edited by merve_extreme : 24th October 2006 at 17:50.
merve_extreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2006, 17:49   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

the board is discontinued.....
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2006, 18:01   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
merve_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,360
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

ok wait i'll find out more.

is you board a K8N or K8M because N is nvidia and M is for via chipset.how can you have a nvidia controller on a via MB?

Last edited by adya33 : 24th October 2006 at 18:29.
merve_extreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2006, 19:51   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by merve_extreme
ok wait i'll find out more.

is you board a K8N or K8M because N is nvidia and M is for via chipset.how can you have a nvidia controller on a via MB?
http://www.msi.com.tw/program/produc...il.php?UID=641
yes you are right it is a nvidia sli chip set with 939 cpu.....

if this mb is discontinued and if I buy this mb will the sata drives will work on them....

http://www.msi.com.tw/program/produc...il.php?UID=731

Last edited by low_bass_makker : 24th October 2006 at 19:54.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2006, 21:03   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
merve_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,360
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

no that board won't work because firstly it is for AM2 socket,yours is 939.

secondly the raid controller is different.even some new msi boards like K8N Ne04-F(rev 3) or Neo4 Platinum(rev 3) wont work because all these new boards have silicon raid controller while you had a nvidia raid controller.you have to get a board similar to your previous one or a board with same chipset from a different manufacturer,although the latter might not work.
merve_extreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2006, 21:18   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
merve_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,360
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

one thing you can do is.if you have another hardisk install xp on that HDD and boot with the new MB.after that you can add your 2 existing hdd and see if the raid controller will recognize them.you can try at ur friends place

how old is your board.most mb have 3 years warranty.take the board back to your dealer and tell him to replace or repair it.

Last edited by merve_extreme : 24th October 2006 at 21:22.
merve_extreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2006, 00:00   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

I have sent the board for replacement i will see to that.....
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raid The Himalaya 07 sanket12 Indian Motorsport 15 20th January 2006 21:24
raid  the himalayas 06 sanket12 Indian Motorsport 10 20th January 2006 21:10
Raid-de-Himalaya '04 khaadu75 Indian Motorsport 4 21st October 2004 15:36
Raid de Himalaya '04 khaadu75 Indian Motorsport 5 15th October 2004 12:33
RAID-DE-HIMALAYA '04 khaadu75 Indian Motorsport 9 19th June 2004 14:38


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 20:54.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks