Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 15th May 2009, 23:58   #136
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,491
Thanked: 6,768 Times
Default

The damn wifi modem gets reset, as in all the settings goes to default with power surge or something. happened long time back, and now back again yday. Just did some step by step configuration and reboots, so far seem to be stable. Will know when i restart.

Second modem got reaplaced in the first month in the first month due to this isse, replacement was equally funny with the wifi needing to be activated manually everytome the modem was switched on.

Details of modem as below:
Board ID: 96338W-20P2
Software Version: 3.08.02.IB.02.01_1206_030308
Bootloader (CFE) Version: 1.0.37-10.1
Firmware Version: DNA-A211-I-0001.01
Hardware Version: DNA-A211-I 2.6
Model Name: DNA-A211-I
Wireless Driver Version: 3.131.35.6.cpe2.0a.s

Any firmware update available to fix this issue, and any idea why this is happening in the first place?
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2009, 15:35   #137
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

which modem? it provided my bsnl?

Actualy bsnl provides two types of modem 1. ztw and 2.huewei

this particular model does not have any firmware updates that i know of. these are not even listed on the manufacturer's website.

but things to note is these have smps based adaptor unlike dlink and linksys, which uses transformer based. Hence high rate of failure where there are frequent power surges. Use it through a good UPS to counter this.

As far as wifi goes. Configure it and save and reboot then use. Don't just enable and use.

Last edited by SirAlec : 16th May 2009 at 15:37.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2009, 18:42   #138
Senior - BHPian
 
trrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Alleppey, Kerala
Posts: 2,113
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Hi Jaggu,

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
Model Name: DNA-A211-I
Wireless Driver Version: 3.131.35.6.cpe2.0a.s
Any firmware update available to fix this issue, and any idea why this is happening in the first place?
If you have not seen these, please take a look at these sites:

Firmware of ITI DNA-A211-I (BSNL Type - II) - Broadband Forum India

Welcome to SEMINDIA, Semiconductors - Made in India

This could help you.
trrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2009, 18:46   #139
Senior - BHPian
 
beejay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Nilgiris
Posts: 1,916
Thanked: 108 Times
Default

12678. This is the BSNL Toll free number to be dialled from bsnl landlines.
Cheers,
beejay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2009, 19:26   #140
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,491
Thanked: 6,768 Times
Default

I know how to set the modem up, and tried all tricks and permutation combo's but the box throws all sorts of tantrums, the one with wifi issue. Other one seems to stable now.

Have seen the site trrk but never went through in detail, thanks for the link will be going through it.

Hey thanks trrk, upgraded the firmware from Welcome to SEMINDIA, Semiconductors - Made in India

Last edited by Jaggu : 16th May 2009 at 19:55.
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2009, 21:53   #141
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 137
Thanked: 54 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trrk View Post
Hi,



I could not even see my userid on doing all the above.

I did use Firefox.
If your router's settings page has multiple frame, then you can view(by This Frame->Show Only this Frame) that frame(where username and password is stored ) in separate tap/window particular frame and see the page source.
smnrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2009, 14:37   #142
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,491
Thanked: 6,768 Times
Default

Am not sure if its that the bsnl line is working as it should, or effect of firmware upgrade. speeds seems have jumped up lil (200kbps) and connection very stable. Heating seems to be same unlike someone else had posted in the broad band forum.

Speedtest confirms better speed, also the modem admin page also is snappy. Touches wood and is very happy
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2009, 11:49   #143
BHPian
 
tortoiseNhare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Guwahati
Posts: 524
Thanked: 39 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
which modem? it provided my bsnl?

Actualy bsnl provides two types of modem 1. ztw and 2.huewei
In the Kamrup Circle (Assam) BSNL is providing Siemens SL2_141 Wi-Fi model. I'm using it both at home and at office. No issues whatsoever in the past one year.
tortoiseNhare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2009, 12:15   #144
Senior - BHPian
 
trrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Alleppey, Kerala
Posts: 2,113
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Hi,

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
Hey thanks trrk, upgraded the firmware from Welcome to SEMINDIA, Semiconductors - Made in India
You made my day! I was negotiating totally unknown waters! As long as it has helped, I am happy that I took courage to post it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by smnrock View Post
If your router's settings page has multiple frame, then you can view(by This Frame->Show Only this Frame) that frame(where username and password is stored ) in separate tap/window particular frame and see the page source.
Even today, when I tried I could not manage to see the required page source. While replying, I tried again. I had forgotten the right click properties.

Thanks for the pointers!
trrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2009, 13:53   #145
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 186
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

facing a strange problem ever since my connection was migrated to NIB-II from NIB-I, it disconnects after every 15-16 MB (Only while downloading), while surfing the connection seems ok for hours. My plan is 500C

The link light remains on always, there is no noise in the phone line. I wonder why it disconnects while downloading only?

Anyone else faced such issue with BSNL?
Shankyz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2009, 00:34   #146
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

any DL software you are using.??

if yes it may have some auto disconnect feature of that software.
or
you are using adsl modem in bridge mode (connect) or PPPoE always on mode?
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2009, 07:38   #147
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 186
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

I'm using IDM, but its not configured for auto disconnect, using the connection in bridge mode. (Its a limited download plan, 500C and I don't want any surprises when the bill comes ...)

I've tried limiting download speed to 150 KBPS ... 100 KBPS but no use.
Shankyz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2009, 13:06   #148
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

even i am using bridge mode at night, i have the same plan.

BTW please check your machine for any spyware etc. Use hijackthis and post the log somewhere. will figure out what is the problem.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2009, 17:39   #149
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 186
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

I've a doubt if it oculd be something like maybe a policy on BSNL Server for 500c/c+ plans, do we have any users with these plans who could share if they are facing the frequent disconnection issue while downloading anything > 20 MB or not?

Where are the BB Gurus??
Shankyz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2009, 19:23   #150
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

now problems at all. i am using round the clock.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MTNL and BSNL's combo plan for broadband Minardi Shifting gears 35 20th June 2017 19:44
BSNL Broadband Wireless Configuration carboy Gadgets, Computers & Software 69 9th October 2012 23:19
Team-BHP is extremely slow with BSNL-Broadband! SumitB Shifting gears 23 1st August 2010 18:47
How To Improve BSNL/MTNL BroadBand Output finetuning Gadgets, Computers & Software 12 23rd December 2008 16:02
A question to all BSNL Broadband Unlimited Plan users adya33 Gadgets, Computers & Software 28 21st December 2008 20:25


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 04:12.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks