Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 4th February 2008, 00:01   #16
Senior - BHPian
 
kpzen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 5,528
Thanked: 1,526 Times
Default BSNL Broadband problem

Hey Guys!

I have a BSNL broadband connection at home with UL900 256kbps unlimited download package.
Now for the last week or so its giving me a weird problem. It starts getting disconnected after 9PM at night, rest of the day the connection is perfect.
I have BSNL made in china modem with Wi-Fi and almost all the time i'm using Wi-Fi..The modem has LED's for power, ADSL and Wireless. After 9pm the ADSL LED starts vanishing and appearing frequently after 9pm

I had called BSNL ppl and they just cut the wire around the joint the created a new joint. After that for a couple of days the frequency of disconnection reduced but now its even worse getting disconnected every 5mins.There's only one joint in the whole setup.

Browsing and chatting has becoming really frustrating.

What could be the reason for this problem??
I even disconnected the cordless phone and also re-located the modem in my room. Earlier it was lying in between the computer monitor and Desktop monitor.

Any kind of help would be really appreciated

Regards

Last edited by kpzen : 4th February 2008 at 00:02.
kpzen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2008, 00:07   #17
JPL
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: XXXXX
Posts: 241
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Check this out : Internet services badly affected in India.

I have been experiencing the same problem..but downloads are okay !!
JPL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2008, 00:10   #18
BANNED
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Noida
Posts: 612
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

the undersea cables are damaged prajesh bhai.
our office network was on the FLAG, relax it will be fine, my airtel 128kbps connections is giving me speeds on 2-3kbps and some sites dont work during the night
saintsinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2008, 00:20   #19
Senior - BHPian
 
kpzen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 5,528
Thanked: 1,526 Times
Default

JPL

I have read about it in the newspaper but my problem started on 20th Jan..
Do u have BSNL broadband??
kpzen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2008, 00:22   #20
JPL
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: XXXXX
Posts: 241
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpzen View Post
JPL

I have read about it in the newspaper but my problem started on 20th Jan..
Do u have BSNL broadband??
yup I do, what are the download speeds you are getting? try clearing your comp using cc cleaner , reset modem etc..

Edit: the download speeds are normal but problems with accessing and refreshing sites though

Last edited by JPL : 4th February 2008 at 00:23.
JPL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2008, 00:48   #21
Senior - BHPian
 
kpzen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 5,528
Thanked: 1,526 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JPL View Post
yup I do, what are the download speeds you are getting? try clearing your comp using cc cleaner , reset modem etc..

Edit: the download speeds are normal but problems with accessing and refreshing sites though
My download speed and site access is fine if i'm not getting disconnected.

Now, while replying to your post my net got disconnected twice.
kpzen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2008, 02:59   #22
Distinguished - BHPian
 
phamilyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 5,584
Thanked: 3,248 Times
Default

actually, now that you mention, even my MTNL modem has some chotu sa issues. page load error comes up and goes. but its like a momentary issue. you're saying that your internet is disconnected for hours? that's surprising!
phamilyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2008, 09:50   #23
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,857
Thanked: 15,420 Times
Default

Its a noise issue. The SnR is dropping.
Do this for me.
Go to your router config page, and look for ADSL statistics or something like that. Somewhere there will be SNR statistics which look like this

If your SNR is falling(<15-20dB), then remove the splitter and connect the phone line directly to your router/modem.

If that increases snr, then you need to change splitter, if that does not, you need to bang your head against BSNL folks.
Due to headbanging I shifted to Airtel almost 2 years back
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2008, 10:06   #24
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,254
Thanked: 31 Times
Default

I own BSNL (office and home as well) and airtel (office) broadband, From last 1 week because of undersea cable damage internet is affected and hopefully it will be alright soon.

What I noticed is we are partially affected in office and in my home from last 3 days bsnl broadband is not working.

I noticed many times when bsnl broadband not working if you switch off and switch on the rotuer/modem it works perfect.

Call customer care and find out new settings for your router, In my office I had similar problem when called they walked me through few settings and after save and restart it started working but next day again it stopped working. Thats what bsnl is known for, If I say their service is not good their officers is telling they would give back the deposit money and i can cancel and try some other service, they says they are helpless to give best service like airtel.

Regards,

Ravi.
ravibhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2008, 11:32   #25
Senior - BHPian
 
shajufx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BLR & Muscat
Posts: 1,577
Thanked: 270 Times
Default

I agree with tsk on that matter. Hi buddy kpzen, you are not alone in this drama. There are many unhappy BSNL customers who do not know what they are going through until they change to another service provider.

On my return to India end of 2005, I wanted an Airtel broadband as recommended by friends and relatives, but due to their limited coverage in and around city, I had no choice but to go for BSNL broadband. I used BSNL for the whole of 2006 and 2007. Beginning it was 512 kbps plan which went without much trouble for few months. Later I moved my house 2 kms away from the old place. Problems started pouring in. My 512 kbps speed went down to 150 - 200 kbps on an average. After repeated calls and visits to customer centres, I got fed up and changed my plan to 256 kbps unlimited (900 plus plan), thinking atleast I pay less on this plan. Again it went few more months, speeds kept on dropping as months passed until....Airtel laid their broandband cables in my area (bangalore north). I shifted to Airtel Broadband 2 Mbps plan for lesser monthly bill and so far no complaints. I always get above 1.50 Mbps on an average. Service is very good, technicians are educated (unlike the useless and illiterate BSNL linemen and internet-in-charge people).

Summary and lessons learned:

1. BSNL serves the huge internet customers with their workforce of computer illiterate and high school pass oldies who finds it tough to disntiguish between a modem and a mouse.

2. BSNL will make you call atleast 15 charged service numbers (meaning not toll-free) just to hear your issue. Once they hear your issue, its your luck from that moment.

3. BSNL service is good, provided you get a trouble free cabled area and your stars are always good.

4. Airtel has a team of skilled service staff who understand your needs and issue just with 1 call. I had a small issue with the first bill. They called me 5 times to make sure no confusions exist and the issue was resolved in no time.

5. Airtel gives an average of 80% of the promised speed without any interruptions (except things like under sea cable cut issue of the previous week). I find their Mobile Office too very useful with decent speed.

Now comes the Bill comparision:

BSNL average bill throughout 2006 = Rs.2100/- per month (512 Kbps plan, no free calls)
BSNL average bill througout 2007 = Rs.1100/- per month (256 kbps, 900 plus plan, no free calls)
Aitel average bill from Jan 2008 = Rs. 900/- per month ( 2 Mbps plan, Rs.200/- worth calls free both local and STD)

Now you know what I am talking about. I am sure BSNL will come out with similar plans to retain their customers. 20 more BSNL regulars have moved to Airtel in my compound in 30 days !!! 140 more waiting !!

Last edited by shajufx : 4th February 2008 at 11:39.
shajufx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2008, 11:40   #26
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,664
Thanked: 6,106 Times
Default

guys using airtel. do you have to have an airtel landline to get the broadbad?
Akshay1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2008, 11:42   #27
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,857
Thanked: 15,420 Times
Default

undersea cable cut means your net speed will be slower as traffic is routed through the pacific(east).
It does not mean that your modem will not connect, as the OP has complained.

I had similar problem in my airtel connection, where I would have frequent disconnections.

I diagnose I opened up the SNR page and started refreshing it.
SNR was dropping to around 7dB and then connection would drop.
Then I removed the splitter, snr went upto 19dB.
This is also bad but I did not get disconnection.
Then I called airtel chaps, their engineer came and he was knowledgeble about snr and stuff.
He suggested I change the cable from the telephone point to my modem(its a 5 meter cable).
I did the same, and even with splitter the snr is around 30dB+ always.


And yes you have to have airtel landline connection. Its included. the 256kbps UL is 999 and the 512kbps ul is 1499
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2008, 11:43   #28
BHPian
 
nikunj_cal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 450
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

@shajufx - I agree that BSNL has some connectivity problems but for the mass consumer it is still the cheapest way of getting online . For premium user like you and I there are not many plans I have to admit so i have to restrict my downloading from 2 am to 8 am when it is free. recently the speed has been quite low , i guess because of the underground cable snag thingy, but things are still manageable here in Kolkata atleast.

I have a peculiar problem of my own from BSNL. the day i have taken broadband on my bsnl line , the distrubance during voice calls have increased. there is aloud kannnnnnnn sound at the back which happens not always but frequently making voice calls next to impossible at times . I have made sure that the phone line is connected to splitter at first and then from splitter to telephone instrument but the problem persists ! Any clues on this fellows ?
nikunj_cal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2008, 11:46   #29
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,664
Thanked: 6,106 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post

And yes you have to have airtel landline connection. Its included. the 256kbps UL is 999 and the 512kbps ul is 1499
i have tata indicom now and i have a 2mbps plan. still im only getting about 1mbps. they havent been able to solve the speed issue in a year. i heard airtel has an 8mbps plan. how much does that cost?
Akshay1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2008, 12:07   #30
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

The frequent disconnects is due to noise issue in the line. It can happen due to tube lights also if the telephone line passes close to them.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MTNL and BSNL's combo plan for broadband Minardi Shifting gears 35 20th June 2017 19:44
BSNL Broadband Wireless Configuration carboy Gadgets, Computers & Software 69 9th October 2012 23:19
Team-BHP is extremely slow with BSNL-Broadband! SumitB Shifting gears 23 1st August 2010 18:47
How To Improve BSNL/MTNL BroadBand Output finetuning Gadgets, Computers & Software 12 23rd December 2008 16:02
A question to all BSNL Broadband Unlimited Plan users adya33 Gadgets, Computers & Software 28 21st December 2008 20:25


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 14:46.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks