Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 25th September 2010, 21:18   #421
BHPian
 
anku94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 225
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

I'm facing a BSNL Landline wiring issue. I know this is not the right place, but there's no other topic related to this stuff. I've isolated the problem to the wiring in my house, but testing the entire wiring would be too much of a trouble, and I'd appreciate if somebody could point out the issue for me.

Following is the circuit diagram for the wiring.

Name:  Tphone.JPG
Views: 4175
Size:  13.8 KB

The problem is that the phone works alright when I connect it directly to the main line, but if I connect it to one of the red wires in each room, on receiving an incoming call, there is a 0.5 second ring and the call is automatically attended. I mean, if you're calling, the ringing will stop as if somebody has lifted the phone. If you're the receiver, you won't notice the ring, or if you do, you'll think that the called has hanged up.

What can be the possible cause ? Is it the two terminals of the red wire coming into contact with each other ? Since the red wire and its connections are through walls, I really don't wanna tear up the sockets unless I know what exactly the problem is. Any help would save me lots of trouble. Thanks.
anku94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2010, 22:58   #422
BHPian
 
ghpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ghaziabad
Posts: 869
Thanked: 192 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anku94 View Post
I'm facing a BSNL Landline wiring issue. I know this is not the right place, but there's no other topic related to this stuff. I've isolated the problem to the wiring in my house, but testing the entire wiring would be too much of a trouble, and I'd appreciate if somebody could point out the issue for me.

Following is the circuit diagram for the wiring.

Attachment 429760

The problem is that the phone works alright when I connect it directly to the main line, but if I connect it to one of the red wires in each room, on receiving an incoming call, there is a 0.5 second ring and the call is automatically attended. I mean, if you're calling, the ringing will stop as if somebody has lifted the phone. If you're the receiver, you won't notice the ring, or if you do, you'll think that the called has hanged up.

What can be the possible cause ? Is it the two terminals of the red wire coming into contact with each other ? Since the red wire and its connections are through walls, I really don't wanna tear up the sockets unless I know what exactly the problem is. Any help would save me lots of trouble. Thanks.
check if splitter is correctly connected
check if there's a loose connection at any of the rooms connected to branch wires.
try reversing the wires polarity on the branch where its connected to your splitter/main line.
if all fails, and you are sure thats its not an issue with your exchange, you can knot the new wire at one end and pull it through other end, this will run the new wire through the wall without opening joints in most cases.
ghpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2010, 23:13   #423
BHPian
 
kunaldhami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Surat
Posts: 144
Thanked: 62 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anku94 View Post
I'm facing a BSNL Landline wiring issue. I know this is not the right place, but there's no other topic related to this stuff. I've isolated the problem to the wiring in my house, but testing the entire wiring would be too much of a trouble, and I'd appreciate if somebody could point out the issue for me.

Following is the circuit diagram for the wiring.

Attachment 429760

The problem is that the phone works alright when I connect it directly to the main line, but if I connect it to one of the red wires in each room, on receiving an incoming call, there is a 0.5 second ring and the call is automatically attended. I mean, if you're calling, the ringing will stop as if somebody has lifted the phone. If you're the receiver, you won't notice the ring, or if you do, you'll think that the called has hanged up.

What can be the possible cause ? Is it the two terminals of the red wire coming into contact with each other ? Since the red wire and its connections are through walls, I really don't wanna tear up the sockets unless I know what exactly the problem is. Any help would save me lots of trouble. Thanks.
Had similar problem at home and have almost similar circuit as yours., I found one wire damaged and after replacing its working smoothly.

I would say, check all wires for damage and all contacts for loose connections first.
kunaldhami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2010, 23:23   #424
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anku94 View Post
I'm facing a BSNL Landline wiring issue. I know this is not the right place, but there's no other topic related to this stuff. I've isolated the problem to the wiring in my house, but testing the entire wiring would be too much of a trouble, and I'd appreciate if somebody could point out the issue for me.


The problem is that the phone works alright when I connect it directly to the main line, but if I connect it to one of the red wires in each room, on receiving an incoming call, there is a 0.5 second ring and the call is automatically attended. I mean, if you're calling, the ringing will stop as if somebody has lifted the phone. If you're the receiver, you won't notice the ring, or if you do, you'll think that the called has hanged up.

What can be the possible cause ? Is it the two terminals of the red wire coming into contact with each other ? Since the red wire and its connections are through walls, I really don't wanna tear up the sockets unless I know what exactly the problem is. Any help would save me lots of trouble. Thanks.
Name:  Tphone.JPG
Views: 1679
Size:  17.7 KB

i couldn't get you fully but here is what you should do. i will start with basics.

1. Connect the phone at green. loose the router, call the phone from mobile
If it rings and works your instrument and line is fine.

2. Now connect the phone at red (phone end of ADSL splitter). call the number and check. If it works your adsl splitter is doing its job. Do the same by connecting at Blue.

3. No to check if its your house's internal wiring is at fault. Interchange red and blue.

SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2010, 23:32   #425
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 24
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue_V View Post
Crappy connection. Phone is dead, broadband is dead. I cant register my complaints through their automated service.

Its conks every week or once in two weeks. Options........
Send a fax message to CMD, BSNL. You can get the number here :
Bharat Sanchar Nigam Ltd.-Senior Officers Directory

I assure you within 4 days, all so called senior officer of your exchange will come to your place and will fix the issue forever.

It is tried and tested method , been using BSNL for 8 years and am a happy customer though officers in my exchange may not like me.
a_mukherji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2010, 14:45   #426
BHPian
 
chethan.ram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 159
Thanked: 23 Times
Default

Now a days, lot of private firms approach you to get you the BSNL broadband connection. Recently my friend was approached by one of them and they sent their representative home. He collected Rs 1000.00 and gave the receipt as well. Its only after a week, that my friend realized that he has been cheated. So please be careful when you are approached by such people and also make sure all transactions are done through cheque and do not entertain cash payments.
chethan.ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2010, 15:37   #427
BHPian
 
car-dent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NOIDA
Posts: 130
Thanked: 21 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (5)
Default

last month we got a bill of rs 4850 for broadband usage. after complaining they said that if we apply for a unlimited plan , they will correct the bill. . i i applied for the plan and they changed the bill to 840rs. and but i dont know if they have changed my plan or not.

also i am unable to check usage on my connection. the site doesnot open. i cant even change my passord. I use a wifi modem. is it because of that?

BSNL BroadBand Issues-capture.jpg
car-dent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2010, 15:41   #428
Senior - BHPian
 
aargee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KATN
Posts: 4,647
Thanked: 1,957 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by car-dent View Post
also i am unable to check usage on my connection. the site doesnot open. i cant even change my passord. I use a wifi modem. is it because of that?
Absolutely no!!! as long as you're checking your usage from your telephone line it should work. I use a wireless router between the modem & PC. I'm able to check using both desktop as well as laptop no issues.

Edit - BTW, download DUF (Dataone Usage Finder) instead of checking through the browser. Its easy, quick as well as has some meaningful information to understand.

Last edited by aargee : 26th September 2010 at 15:42.
aargee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2010, 17:34   #429
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,867 Times
Default

Thanks, @argee, that's a cool tool! Just checked my account - since I am on an unlimited account, it accounts for everything as "Happy Hours usage"! :-)
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2010, 03:19   #430
BHPian
 
anku94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 225
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

For monitoring broadband usage, I prefer DataFox. It's a Firefox and Chrome Addon.

DataFox - A BSNL DataOne & MTNL TriBand bandwidth usage monitor | The Goan

Regarding the telephone problem, thanks a lot to all those who replied, but I'm just not getting enough time to diagnose the problem, with my exams and all...
anku94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2010, 17:31   #431
Senior - BHPian
 
wanderernomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chandigarh
Posts: 2,353
Thanked: 752 Times
Default

Problem with un limited connection is that they give you less speed and infrequent connection. Atleast its true of MTNL as told to me by the exchange guy who deals with broadband. I am facing erratic connection and low speeds ever since I shifted to unlimited plan.
wanderernomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2010, 19:52   #432
Joy
BHPian
 
Joy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 305
Thanked: 25 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by car-dent View Post
......
also i am unable to check usage on my connection. the site doesnot open. i cant even change my passord. I use a wifi modem. is it because of that?

Attachment 430043
You can use this link http://10.240.43.216/ to check your usage and change your password.
Joy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2010, 00:41   #433
Senior - BHPian
 
deepclutch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Muvattupuzha
Posts: 1,119
Thanked: 108 Times
Default

Experiencing Very Slow Speeds with BSNL Broadband(in Kerala) 10kbps or even less.But, I gets 1.77mbps download speeds when tried Speedtest with Mumbai Server.While, US ping is Very High and fails to complete the test.So, I think the problem is with Sites Hosted in US/EU .
Anyone Else facing this Problem?

Last edited by deepclutch : 3rd October 2010 at 00:45.
deepclutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2010, 07:30   #434
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 186
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Looks like a routing issue in Chennai VSNL to me, try tracert and see the 4-5 hops with lot of delay/packet loss in Chennai VSNL.

It is unusable with even mail not opening.
Shankyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2010, 08:56   #435
Senior - BHPian
 
aargee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KATN
Posts: 4,647
Thanked: 1,957 Times
Default

My land line is dead since yesterday. Called up 1500 & registered a complaint & they promptly provided me the ticket number, which I'm sure they'll close it today, without even bothering to check if my issues is resolved. Very good to hear such news!!! BSNL is in deep trouble & over & above they're providing as much problems as possible. I guess I'd enough fighting with BSNL. I'm seriously considering to switch over to some wireless internet provided by other giants.
aargee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MTNL and BSNL's combo plan for broadband Minardi Shifting gears 35 20th June 2017 19:44
BSNL Broadband Wireless Configuration carboy Gadgets, Computers & Software 69 9th October 2012 23:19
Team-BHP is extremely slow with BSNL-Broadband! SumitB Shifting gears 23 1st August 2010 18:47
How To Improve BSNL/MTNL BroadBand Output finetuning Gadgets, Computers & Software 12 23rd December 2008 16:02
A question to all BSNL Broadband Unlimited Plan users adya33 Gadgets, Computers & Software 28 21st December 2008 20:25


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 23:40.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks